Sign in With Your Burrp Id!

Username

Password

Or Sign in using
Register With Burrp!

Username

Password

Confirm password

Email Address

Gender

Date of Birth

SHARE THIS PAGE

Or Send Details Via SMS

+91

Indian mobileS or fixed wireless
numbers only

Home/bangalore/Chakum Chukum

Chakum Chukum

IndiranagarEast Bangalore  

  • 08042115536
  • 901/2, 7th Main Road, 4th Cross, HAL 2nd Stage, Indiranagar, Bangalore
  • Snacks
  • Meal for 2 - 200
3.3

47 Reviews / 48 Ratings

Your rating

Menu

Gallery



Chakum Chukum Reviews

Food

Music

Service

Ambience

Price

Nothing to say !!!

A few months old review.

Just like how a hypothetical victory for Congress in the recently held elections would've flabbergasted everyone, I experienced similar confounding emotions when I had these "famed" rolls that have been garnering "rave" reviews.

There isn't much to describe my experience actually. The Chicken Roll & the Chicken Shami Roll was what I ordered and suffice to say that these were the worst rolls I've had in my life.

Extremely dry fillings that made it really hard to swallow & they lacked proper flavour & spice - both literally & figuratively. The Shami Roll in particular was as disappointing as Mohd Shami's bowling in the death overs in Cricket. Really really pedestrian fare. And the prices don't justify the quality in any way.

Verdict : Big time avoid. There are better, smaller, inconspicuous joints across the city that have been serving tasty Kolkata rolls for years together, especially near MSR College.

Share:

Definitely Not Kolkata Maybe Kannada

Well if you are a Bong, having lived in Kolkata, and having had rolls in the street shops, then you may as well drop the idea of trying Chakum rolls because they really wouldn't be worth it! If you haven't had the above mentioned experience, then go ahead, you may find it just OK!

I could only say, whatever those rolls are, they aren't KOLKATA or to be a little more polite, not KOLKATA enough!! They could belong to any place else. Your pick.

The people owning this business have surely found the easy way out by branding this place 'Kolkata' and letting the ignorant, wannabe Bangalore chic crowd imagine a mouthful of Kolkata and get fooled by it - they should have worked slightly harder to bring the authentic taste down..it's really really no big deal..every damn tiny shop back there can make it..then why not the sophisticated, service aided lot out here!! The roll shops in Kolkata would smell rolls from over a mile away and make your mouth water...I was shocked that Chakum rolls don't even come minutely close even while you are standing right at the counter!! Disappointed!!

Share:

5.0

Good rolls

Normally go there with colleagues and friends for a quick bite at lunch. Have not experimented much. Have had variations of Egg + Paneer + Aloo rolls and they are always yummy. Can ask them to make it less spicy. Prices have gone up now.

Have always found others having the non-veg variety also enjoying the rolls.

On my most recent visit last week, saw that they have put up a board to let potential customers know that they will not serve them if they park in front of their immediate neighbour's home. Tells me that the owners of Chakum Chukam know the right thing to do, hope their customers have it too.

Share:

Rolls Paradise

One of the best Roll House in Bangalore. Service is quick and you have to pay first but the rolls are just awesome. Nice place to have a quick bite. Its most of the time crowded for the same reason. Price is a bit high but common its bangalore and that too Indiranagar.

Share:

rastachef - Burrp User

rastachef

46 Reviews

November 12,2012

3.0

For a quickie

People often rave about this place, but I've eaten much better rolls from several places in town. That is not to say that the rolls here are bad though. The rolls are nice and heavily packed with meat, which is good. People have often spoken about the lady who runs the place and that they have found her to be a little hostile and intimidating. I've never thought so. She's always been helpful and sweet. This is a no-frills place with decent food and quick service.

Share:

Simply amazing

Rolls are really good and gives you the option of different level of spice - i tried all levels and there is a difference to feel. I like all varieties of chicken singles as double gets too filled and you may feel eating only meat.

Share:

4.0

Place for a satisfying bite

A lot of people seem to be hankering over the fact that they are not authentic Kolkata rolls. Maybe, I won't claim to be an expert on Kolkata or its rolls... although the place was recommended by a friend from Kolkata, who eats there regularly. But are they good rolls? Yes, they are!

Chakum Chukum is a rather small place. No frills here. There's a small kitchen/order counter space, and you can sit outside on a bench-table set-up and flip through the newspaper while you wait for your order. Or you can lounge on the few chairs that are placed outside the restaurant.

Ordered two mutton rolls - one shammi and one with egg. Both double. The rolls were yummy, I kept repeating that through the chomp session. The paratha was done well and was just the right amount of greasy. The meat was generous and the bite of the sprinkled bits of chillies only added to deliciousness of the rolls. Most importantly, they tamed the rumble in our stomachs.

The service was courteous, no complaints. And I will definitely go back! A great pit stop during a ravenous lunch-break.

Share:

On a roll.

Nice roll... Nicer people. Combo for success right there!

Share:

3.0

good could improve

good rolls especially the shammi ones...courteous staff...yeah i don;t expect a 24/7 smile on weekends....didn't interact with the lady much. my questions were answered promptly so till now no complaints. yes need more to go beside the real kolkata esplanade rolls. can you please make the other variety (read chicken and mutton) more juicy. they are very dry and no amount of onion and other stuffing helps. the main ingredients could be more juicy so that the aroma remains.

Share:

2.0

No Longer Kolkata Rolls

Went to Chakum Chukum again after many months. They seem to have many clients and are doing brisk business. The lady at the roll shop is as before quite severe and not all part of being in anything called the hospitality industry. I can understand her attittude as she is working with her male staff and and men driving up in cars to order rolls and perhaps she does not want to appear too friendly or something. Honestly it was the rolls that one went for all this time. However, sadly the rolls are now nothing like what one gets in Kolkata. They are Bangalore style rolls and while thats nice those of us going back to eat a Kolkata style roll must quickly find another place to fill our hunger pangs.

Share:

Not Kolkata..may be Kannada

Well if you are a Bong, having lived in Kolkata, and had rolls in those corner shops, then you may as well drop the idea of trying Chakum rolls because they wouldn't be worth it! If you haven't had the above mentioned experience, then go ahead, you may find it just OK!

I could only say, whatever those rolls are, they aren't KOLKATA...or to be more polite, not KOLKATA enough!! They could belong any place else...your pick.

Share:

Kanth  - Burrp User

Kanth

1 Reviews

April 20,2012

1.0

Lousy

Order more than one roll and they will take more than 1hr to deliver. If you cancel coz you are hungry, they will get into a fight.

Share:

5.0

Veg, paneer, egg rolls rock!

I think all their stuff is super tasty, because the two-three times that I have gone with the team, every member has enjoyed each and every roll that was delivered.

Some were fast deliveries, others took time Price was reasonable

Happy to have not met the "lady" :-)

Share:

Chakum Chakum rocks

Hands down, the best rolls in town. their double chicken double egg is to die for. The people there are very friendly and the best part is you can just sit in your car and just hog away to glory and then drive away too. Its a place to hang out with friends, because there is no place in to hang out. Something about this place just gets me goin..i love the place!

Share:

5.0

Best Non-Frills Rolls in Bangalore

Have been here n number of times. I have ate at sevral rolls joints in Bnagalore but nobody makes the rolls like these guys. No added fancy stuffs like cabbage ,tomato, other "leafy" stuffs .just meat with raw onions & lemon . If u want spicy tell them while ordering , & the owner always warns " we dont have fancy chilli sauce its just green chillies"

Price is damn good considerd to the amount they stuff inside the rolls.
Just 1 table to sit but u have enough free space in front of the shop to St-roll and eat the roll.

About the lady- She has been always good, never saw her fighting with customers as mentioned in some reviews . And even if its true dont worry people will still goto eat there just because of the food.

Share:

Rock 'n' Roll

Let me tell you something first, if you are crazy for rolls this is the place to visit. Coming to the point:

Food: 5/5: The rolls are just awesome and perfect. The lip smacking taste stays with you for some. I personally like to experiment with my rolls and to my surprise I found out that these guys share the same idea. Every possible combination (double veg, egg, chicken, spinach etc.) are present on the menu. You just have to choose and order. The only thing is that you might need to aak them to make your rolls spicy cuz they add very less spice on their own.

Service: 5/5 The cooking time depends on the crowd present but its pretty decent.

Price: 3/5 The only turn off was the price of the rolls. Still its worth giving a try and you won't regret a single penny spent here.

Share:

Is the lady the star attraction now?

I have not had a chance to interact with this "lady" but, her husband is pretty decent. The rolls are pretty bland, not really authentic bong stuff.

Looks like, people will start coming here to see the lady. Something like a Chinese restaurant out of Seinfeld where the Chinese owner keeps throwing abuses at his customers and they keep coming back for more.

Share:

sherwyn - Burrp User

sherwyn

5 Reviews

November 11,2011

2.0

OMG!!!!

This Lady is now easily the most hated in Bangalore......... lol

Share:

3.0

Good but Expensive also

Yesterday I visit that place, ordered Mutton Egg Roll, taste are similar as it is like Kolkata's but disappoint me a lot about the price, charged one roll for 65 bucks its really too costly... depend on the actual production cost of the Roll.

Share:

Good food. Get the devil out though!

There are very few places in the city where I like the rolls, and Chakum Chukum is one of them. It's tucked away in a tiny corner, and it's quite possible that you might miss it and walk into the Daily Bread right opposite the place.

The rolls here are pretty good, and there are quite a few options for everyone - I like the Chicken Egg and the Mutton Roll. The Double Mutton Double Egg roll is quite wholesome and is a meal by itself altogether. I also love the fact that they can load up my rolls with as many as diced chillies, which gives it a really nice touch.

Don't expect a plush seating area, it is literally a hole in the wall. Be prepared to sit in your car and eat, or around the trees al fresco style. Don't even think of a bathroom break. Since the food is good, I'm not complaining.

My biggest problem here, however, is the lady who runs this place. The first few times I visited this place, there was quite a chirpy and pleasant gentleman (the husband) who took our order and treated us well.

The wife's attitude,however, is deplorable and she gives a despicable look to EVERY single person who places an order here. Some strange malady of ennui, disdain and absolute contempt is expressed by this woman when you say anything to her. I would give this place a minus ten on customer service.

Much as though I like this place, I skip out on visiting here only because of her. My friends often end up getting parcelled rolls for me, which I'm okay with. For a tiny place like this that serves good food, decent customer service is indispensable, or the business is doomed. Really.

Keep those good rolls coming, and get the lady another job. Please.

Share:

asperstick - Burrp User

asperstick

1 Reviews

September 28,2011

3.0

Bad service! crappy attitude

i must say the rolls are ok..but that lady needs to take therapy! Try ordering from there and you will know what i meant.. Just because of her attitude i have stopped ordering from there..

Share:

4.0

whats all the fuss about

been here, love the place.........love the rolls........the lady who runs the place is gorgeous. what more do you want.
Stop hating pll start eating!!!!!!!!
Peace.
PS- i dont know what chakum chukum means but its damn funny and i say it all the time.

Share:

no more roll jokes in review titles please!!

So we rolled up to this joint...no. no no. But seriously. Great rolls. Theres a couple of places near my house that are greasy and perhaps 10 rupees cheaper. But since discovering chakum chukum, if dinner is going to be a roll, its going to be a walk to this place. Service does take a while, but since theres a kitchen with six people all seemingly working non stop, quite efficiently, and a roll coming out every minute or so for pick up or delivery its no surprise when it takes a while for your food. However anything under twenty minutes for a meal this good and you won't hear me complaining. The rolls are fantastic, the raw chilies and onions chopped into it are ideal and the lack of sauce is surprising at first but pleasantly so when you realize that the rolls taste brilliant on their own. Get a drink to go with your roll is my recommendation, but the chicken is juicy enough on its own for the roll. the paneer is fresh, and the spices are distinct and perfectly set off the flavor of the roll. The prices are extremely reasonable and it is totally worth a visit to pick up a meal. I think the payment and ordering system needs to be streamlined quite a bit, because the food is fantastic but possibly needs a semblance of chronological order so things can go through quicker for the size of the place. Maybe find a bigger place? Move to CMH road!!

Share:

1.0

WORST SERVICE, AVOID!!!

The rolls are decent. Period.
But the lady who runs the place is downright ARROGANT and RUDE. Spoils your appetite.
In fact i refrained from ordering a second helping only to avoid interacting with her.
I visited the place twice thinking the first time she must be having a bad day at work. But looks like everyday she has the look of contempt towards customers.
Good food alone does not sustain a business. Especially a hole in the wall kind of outlet. This place seems to be destined for failure with her at the front running(ruining?) the show .
Many other reviews complaining about bad experience have all ended up with her being defensive and in denial of every flaw that was pointed out.
"Reviews/Feedback are constructive" is something she hasn't heard of.
Either all of us are wrong for her or its just her attitude.

Share:

3.0

Authentic and Good rolls

Came to know about this place via one of my friend, and decided to give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of rolls. rolls were amazing. Since then, I have also ordered from home another 2 times.. Seates are really limited and should be lucky to get it, suggesting to visit off hours. Service was decent, over all good experience and you can give try either from home delivery or in person at this point.

Share:

Authentic Rolls, Near-Standing Joint

The rolls here are fabulous (yes! with wheat bread options). Often, you'll catch some blues, jazz or classic rock along with it. Make sure you let the owner know you don't mind (actually like) the music else he may be tempted to lower the volume lest its not your type.

That said, its a near-standing joint. One table, a few scattered stools, a tiny place which is the outlet and the kitchen. Service takes long (which has deterred us from visiting many a time and oft) as they're generally also serving lists of takeaway orders. But when it comes to the food, the wait always seem worth it (atleast while you're 'on a roll')!

Share:

Rolls Rolls Rolls!

Loved Chakum Chukum. Like the location, concept, food, owners, etc. Wish they had a proper cafe with a nice area to sit though. Literally they have 1 table outside of their shop. So while you are waiting for take away it's not all that enjoyable but within 10 minutes or so my rolls were finished and I wouldn't wait to get home and try them. The menu is pretty extensive so I'll need to go back and try some more options but I had the double chicken and egg type roll and it was delicious. I could have and would have eaten a second one had I known how good it would be!

Share:

Delicious rolls

I found this place (on the net) just about 4 days ago, and decided to give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of rolls. The home delivery was quick (they charge 30 rs btw for it), and the rolls were amazing. Since then, I've ordered from there another 2 times, and am currently waiting for another home delivery.

Some side notes: (a) I suggest take away or home delivery from the joint, since there is very little seating arrangement. (b) The service was decent. Nothing spectacularly good or bad.

Share:

Very good rolls

The egg good, chicken goood, the roll gooooooood :D

went with a friend to try out this place...amazing places with varieties of rolls. Loved the chicken shaami roll with egg. The place gets very crowded so one has to wait a bit to get their order, the the wait it worth it. No complaints just a heads up for pure vegetarians, they use a common tawa to make egg and the non-egg rolls.

Share:

skandy - Burrp User

skandy

1 Reviews

March 05,2011

3.0

Watch your temper!

To Mr Sujoy Roy and Mrs Arpita Sinha,

I think you need to get a bigger place. Also, your wife needs to chill out a bit. On the 5th of March, I ordered a chicken and double paneer roll, paid for it, and waited for it to be delivered to me. Once your boys gave me the food packet, I was walking away when Mrs Sinha came after me, yelling that I hadn't paid my bill. I flashed the bill, and she meekly said,"Oh you have". Not happy with what happened. This smacks of incompetence, as you don't know what goes where. I am going to finish the way I started. I think you need to get a bigger place.

Your Rolls rock..but not your service

The Skandanavian Skoundrel

Share:

5.0

Very Good and Careful about waistline

Have been going for for every 2 weeks for 6 months. Tried most of the chicken rolls. Quite Good.

No complaints.

Share:

5.0

Awesom is not D Only Word

Miss Kolkata Rolls & bong Special Mughlai - "CC" is the one stop place where u get varieties of them :-) I lov the rolls & my hubby relishes the Mughlai Parathas.If u havnt been dere,u definitely hav missed a kewl joint in Indiranagar.In terms of quality & quantity, Chakum Chukum is one my favourites.Arpi di's lovely smile lightens up the place & a thumbs-up to the chefs.

Share:

aditisom - Burrp User

aditisom

18 Reviews

January 28,2011

2.0

Overrated

Being a bong, i totally adore the egg roles i would eat on Gariahat streets...wow!! Being to this place on total recommendation, as always ordered an egg roll, enjoyed it. But the double chicken roll, there was something missing, above all the chicken roll had the fried chicken in it (like the tandoor ones), that was disappointing..no much sauces, nothing succulent, was dry....
Maybe have to try the other rolls on the menu, to really know whether this place really gives you the feel of eating a roll on Kolkata streets.

Share:

5.0

Roll me one too...

Awesome rolls. Just had the double mutton double egg roll and it was just right. Haven't a rol so good in a long time. Paratha, egg, meat, onions, green chillies and and lemon juice. Nothing more nothing less.

Totally recommended!!!

Share:

Job well 'Rolled'

A friend of mine had got me to this place, its this tiny little thing hidden in Indiranagar serving one of the best rolls I have had in this city. Its a lil far away from whre I stay or else I am pretty sure, I would be getting the good of their sexy chicken rolls everyday

Share:

second time around was excellent

I ate here the first time the very same weekend this joint opened. i was a tad disappointed that day but i am sure that was opening day teething troubles. my second visit 2 weeks back was very satisfying.
the rolls are huge, very reasonable and stuffed with meat. i had the chicken mince egg roll - approx 70rs. plan to visit again very soon.
kudos: keep up the good work.

Share:

theGuru - Burrp User

theGuru

5 Reviews

November 06,2010

3.0

Balancing the good with the bad..

I have been to this place numerous times and tried out most of the stuff on the menu. I'm no bengali and I've never been 1000 miles near calcutta and as a result I'm in no postion to comment regarding the authenticity of the food. All I can say is that their rolls taste pretty good by any standards.

But their home delivery service can test the limits of your patience. And that they charge extra for deliveries can leave you surprised in these days of free home delivery. Fair enough considering their wafer thin margins, but can be mentioned at the time of ordering. Also, be prepared to wait for your order as they have their hands full nearly all the time.

My rating goes as below

Taste - 3/5
Ambiance - 1/5 (More of a pick up place)
Home Delivery - 1/5
Take away - 2/5

My advice is to order on phone in advance and pick up the rolls yourself. Works best for me.

Share:

no1foodie - Burrp User

no1foodie

20 Reviews

September 04,2010

5.0

The Best

As a young boy I visited Cal a number of times as my mum is from there. I remember during all my visits I use to live on the rolls there.

Recently my mums older brother visited us from Europe and was very excited when we told him you get the genuine Cal rolls just down the road. He was so excited the we had a feast of rolls that night. Double egg double chicken, double mutton double egg, double paneer, double aalu double egg.

People must remember the best way to enjoy a roll is to make sure the onions & chillies are raw in the rolls. Chakum Chukum will oblige to your request and serve with great heart.

If you know your rolls, you will know where to find this little place.

Share:

4.0

My Two Bits

I am a regular reader of burrp and have been following this thread for a while. And I thought it would be right to put in my two bits. I have been to this place couple of times and I think the rolls they serve are outstanding. The meat is well marinated and skewering is perfect. I love the little burnt edges. The thickness of the paratha is apt for one to enjoy the chunks of meat wrapped inside. One must try the mutton liver roll with egg. They also give you the option of making it spicy incase you want it. I found the management to be very courteous and prompt. I would definitely go back.

Share:

Agree with the other reviewers

There are not too many options to have good Kolkatta STyle Rolls in Indiranagar. So we have been there twice but was left dissatisfied on both the occasions. The complete lax attitude of the staff was the most annoying. As fast food place cant keep people waiting in the road for 20 mins. Also on the first occassion I had a stomach upset post my visit. I wonder the quality of the ingredients they serve.

Share:

5.0

Dear Little Place!

I decided to go here to buy myself a roll for dinner. I walked into the place (the best way to describe it is as "small and cute") and peered at the menu carefully, before settling on a Double Chicken roll and a Mutton Liver roll. The very charming guy (who I later realized was one of the owners) at the cash counter took my order and promptly gave it to the service staff in the kitchen beyond. 15 Minutes later, rolls and a green chutney in hand, and clutching a Plum Jam which had looked really nice, I paid my bill and set off home. My impression of the place is that it is really nice. The menu has quite a good variety and this is one of the very few places I know which serves a liver dish. The prices are reasonable. The service is good, prompt and efficient and the owner is a very pleasant person, knowledgeable about the stuff he sells. Well worth a visit and one of the places which I will definitely return to and recommend. Don't forget to check out their Jams and Honey. They have quite a good selection of unusual jam - Plum and Apricot.

Share:

April 18, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

Hi Ragpicker1! We are glad that you liked our place and thanks for all the good words. Hope to see you soon.

1.0

Response

Arpita - yes I received two chicken rolls before the right order, I am just giving feedback and I really hope you take it in that stride and not get defensive about this. Secondly I sent the roll back the next day too, and moreover there was no apology note - some guy landing up saying "Yeh free hai, take it". And you presume that I will eat anything that you send across - this is not the way to handle this in my opinion, a phone call with an apology would have just about worked right. This is a platform for giving feedback and please take it in that stride if you want to improve your services.

Share:

April 16, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

Rexibits - feedback is good. But not wrong feedback. I am not getting defensive but putting facts in place. The rolls which landed at your place were not chicken but paneer. Secondly, I have personally written an apology note along with the complementary rolls. Yes i admit we don't have delivery boys who speak fluent english and am really sorry if he had said -"yeh free hai". I wish you had taken a look at the note. And there is no two ways about the fact that we should take feedback in our stride...but only the right ones.

April 16, 2010response from management at rexybits:

No point in mindless banter - if you don't want to personally talk to your customer after messing up, there is no point in sending a free roll.

Note to all people - please go through this thread before you decide to go this place, clearly finger pointing percolates in this organization top down.

April 16, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

Sorry if you think it was just a free roll. The note did the talking. You missed it completely. And most importantly you were not upfront about the fact that you received the note along with the complementory roll the next evening. It is all about the intent...right? And that's what is upsetting. And if you think asking people to check the thread before dropping in would harm our reputation...there ain't much we could do about it.

While this is a free platform to share feedback, you have crossed the line.

April 16, 2010response from management at rexybits:

I'm sharing feedback so that other users don't have to through the unfortunate experience that I had to.

April 17, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

Like I mentioned earlier. Share your feedback...there's nothing wrong in it...but please be truthful.

April 17, 2010response from management at rexybits:

All i have mentioned is my experience and first hand at it, by going on refuting it there is no point and is nothing is achieved for the business, probably just adding bad to the bad brand image as reflected also by other revieweres who seem to be unhappy. By pointing fingers at the consumer understand that you don't gain anything. Clearly arrogance is a part of your business and is shown by all in our company - good luck for everything ahead and hope you learn how to do home delivery. Clearly i'm not the only one complaining, there seems to b

April 17, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

It is not arrogance, but frustration when people like you blow things out of proportion and mince words. Yes we are learning everyday and hopefully we will able to increase our home deliveries. Like you have the right to trash a restaurant, as the management we have the right to safeguard our interests. and that is why this this converstaion is going on. Like I said earlier while sharing feedback be truthful...that's the least we could expect from you.

April 17, 2010response from management at rexybits:

When small business cannot even call up and apologize and then point fingers saying that people did not give the right address, this is just ridiculous and over and above that accusing the customer and claim to send apology notes, I think I will rest my case and let others learn from their own experiences and for the love of god I hope they don't have to go through what I did and even if they do , I hope the so called management is less arrogant with them and treat them with respect.

April 17, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

We do treat our customers with enough respect and that's why they love coming back. And most importantly, they deserve they way they are being treated. Hope you get the message.

April 17, 2010response from management at rexybits:

I'm sure!

1.0

Harrowing experience and arrogant staff

I had a very bad experience with these guys couple of days back (Apr 11th , night) to be particular. I made the order at 830PM - and I live around 1 km away from the place. I waited till 930 PM and there was no roll which reached my place. I then called them back at around 1015 PM only to be told that I had just ordered and the delivery will take more time. I told them to cancel my order as I had lost all appetite by this time. Interestingly I got the delivery after 10 minutes, but alas it was a wrong order - I had ordered veg rolls but ended up getting chicken rolls. With no hope of getting dinner I went to bed. At around 11 PM I was woken up by another delivery from them, and apparently it turns out that 2.5 hours later they had finally and magically made my rolls and managed to make a delivery which is around 1 km away in Indiranagar and pleasantly surprise me. I was pissed and didn't accept the delivery. This is extremely unprofessional and in no ways acceptable and I hope no other customer gets treated this way by any restaurant. On top of all that - I didn't even get an apology on the 2-3 calls I had made in the 2.5 hours of waiting. Leave alone good service, this is just basic human courtesy and I'm sorry but if you can't handle this, however small you are - don't claim to do home delivery, if your food is good enough I'm sure people will land up there and get them. Until of course you can scale up and can handle deliveries efficiently (within 30-45 minutes of order) please don't offer to do home delivery.

Share:

April 15, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

We sincerely apologize for the delay and the mix up. But few corrections to be made at your end. To begin with, we never sent any Chicken roll. Secondly, the delivery would have happened much faster had you mentioned “10th A Main, 6th Cross” instead of “Come into SSB School and 6th Cross”. And most importantly, we did send you an apology note along with an Aloo Channa roll the very next evening which was promptly accepted. How come you forgot mentioning that?
And for your information we are in the process of scaling up our capacity for

5.0

Different people, different attitudes.

This is what I felt when I read the reviews below which trashed this place.

I have been going to this place from quite some time and my experience is very different. This is a place where you can get great rolls at a good price!! Their double egg chicken roll is absolutely brilliant. So is the shammi roll. A bottle of chilled beer and one of these rolls....wow.

None of their rolls are priced more than 75, if I am not mistaken. Therefore, if they are charging a small service charge for home delivery, so be it. After all if you are fine paying stupid service charges sitting in a hotel, where no additional efforts are made by the management in serving you food, what is so wrong if someone charges something extra to deliver the food at your place???

A clarification here. I have no business interest, directly or indirectly or in any round about manner that you may think of!!! After all in the age & times of Twitteroor, one has to be careful while recommending a place, right???!!!!

Keep the rolls rolling, owners!!

Share:

April 15, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

Hi Thindipota!

Thanks for all the good words. Guests like you give us the energy to keep the rolls rolling every day. Would love to have you back. Thanks once again for all the support.

Xaero - Burrp User

Xaero

3 Reviews

April 15,2010

1.0

Reply to the Management

"No where does the menu card say "FREE HOME DELIVERY"" Thats right you are the first 1 to revolutionize this concept and use the expectation of a normal person to charge on home delivery. Who else does that? Never do you mention it on the phone for home delivery, nor do you mention the total price. Expect the caller to find this out by a specific question? 1hour+ for 2km distance for 3 rolls is not acceptable if you do not mention it specifically in the order making call. As for hidden cost I still have the bill which has 4 items charged and 3 items delivered. Again do you expect the payer to scrutinize the bill and do the math for you? Yes, I repeat that this is my personal opinion and there will be a lot of people who are fine with this service. This review is just for the few who expect some basic threshold from an home delivery service; like ME.
Hopefully things will improve with time, and I will change my "personal opinion" about you. Till then keep working on it :)

Share:

April 16, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

Good to see you back. If you think we have revolutionized the concept of Home Delivery, so be it. Please do drop in with the bill so that we could sort out the 'hidden cost' issue. The Pet Bottle was delivered separately. And of course we are working at bettering things every day. But not too sure if it has got anything to do with your "Personal Opinion".

April 16, 2010response from management at Xaero:

No i dont want to waste even more time on this. My reviews are only for people who consider such points before making an home delivery.

April 16, 2010response from management at Xaero:

@Thandipota: I dont think it is a matter of extra price. I very well appreciate food which costs 0.5 to 10 times the cost of Chakum Chukum menu. I would have most certainly accepted the fact that they charge an amount for home delivery if they had announced this clearly while i placed the order. Why the "lets exploit the customer at the last minute when he can do nothing about it, esp after waiting 1 hour". I just call this pure bad service for Home delivery.
@arpita: Good to hear that you are scaling up your capacity. Please leave a commen

April 16, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

Neither do we want to waste time. I don't have to leave a comment back when I am done with the process. You are most welcome to try it out the day you are convinced. I would rather be busy leaving a comment for guests who share right feedback.

April 16, 2010response from management at Xaero:

You mean who share "positive feedback". I doubt if that it is right in the absolute sense.

April 16, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

No. I mean who share 'right" feedback.

Xaero - Burrp User

Xaero

3 Reviews

April 15,2010

1.0

Bad service

I totally disagree with the other review here. The food is not bad, but completely not worth the pathetic service by chakum chakum. It takes more than 1 hour for a home delivery within 2 KM radius for just 3 rolls. They do not provide free Home delivery (hidden clauses). The 1st and probably the last experience had mistakes in the menu (not delivering a drink and still charging for it). I am a foody and have tried almost all the small and big joints in and around Indiranagar, and I am firm on my personal opinion that this is by far the worst service provided by a food joint.

Share:

April 15, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

Hey Xaero! I don't think the point you are harping on is valid. No where does the menu card say "FREE HOME DELIVERY". And there is no way we could charge you for undelivered item. As far as the delay is concerned, we did apologize on the phone when you had called up to enquire. And we are apologizing once again. We do lots of home delivery and you are the first one to raise the issue of "hidden cost". But again like you said it is your "personal opinion" so there is nothing much we could do about it.

Anyways, it would be great if you

Worth the wait

Being strongly recommended by few of my friends I finally landed up at Chakum Chukum last weekend. It is a ‘hole-in –the- wall’ joint tucked away in one of the by-lanes of Indiranagar. The place was packed and I had to nudge my way to the counter to get hold of the menu card. I ordered for the ‘mutton liver egg roll’. Though I had to wait for almost 15 minutes to get my roll, I must admit it tasted out of this world. The liver was fried just the way I had expected and the roll was nicely spiced up. I will certainly go back another day to try the rest of the stuff.

Share:

April 15, 2010response from management at chackumchukum:

Hi Banaerjeeraja65! Thanks for your review. We would love to have you back. Yes it does get little crazy on weekends. But we are trying to our best to reduce the waiting period. Thanks for all the support.

Close X