22 Reviews / 22 Ratings
Flambe - The Phoenix story..
Hey Guys ... Well being a foodie I do dare to go out on these Bangalore roads drive 14 Kms for a good lunch or dinner.. I used to Vaguely remember the terrace restaurant that served me a Vodka - pasta one day.. and then day before I visited this place with my beloved. drove all the way from Vijayanagar to Kormangla .. firstly you notice the place has changed.. the ambiance is far better than most of the places .. I say that because i am a designer and its a Huge task to maintain White tables.. I see the effort and Dare there.. We settle down and take a good look at the Menu.. its like 40 Pages!! wow.. most of it.. I didnt even read thru.. I just called the guy and told him.." I need something Tangy , spicy and veggie and whatever Madam wants.." that was for a starter .. he nodded and he upsold me a mocktail till the time my starter arrived :) . anxiously now i wanted to go thru the menu... so i did and 15 minutes passed.. then arrived 2 starters along with the chef . and he says "Hi Sir, I am Girish " and here's the starter please taste it and let me know if you like it.. i can change it if you dont.." I was speechless.. first time some one asked me that in a resturant.. .. now.. the presentation was good.. and The starter was Yummy and awesome!.. now i loved it so much that i went on a starter trip ordering 2 more of different ones.. Flambe'd and sizzlers ..the main course and the Good Old Flambe dessert .. the best part is.. My wife wanted to see how the chef cooked.. unlike other restaurants You CAN ask the cook to tell you the recipe.. while he prepares it for you.. I call this a Raise of a Phoenix !!.. They could have served us faster .. slightly cheeper.. but what the hell.. if i pay peanuts i get monkeys.. (have you ever tried Nandhini?) its not like I would love to pay Rs150 for Meal that 4 of us can eat for 2 days.. :) its an experience and time i spend with my wife on a good dinner.. While posting this review i just realized what a nice line from a movie called "Ratatouille" .. Mr Ego says " In many ways the job of a critic is easy ..." I suggest guys .. Please go there with an open mind ... all these reviews are written by pissed off customers who are getting back.. but i am sure Flambe has had more satisfied customers like me who are touched who rarely write a review on a satisfied dinner..
avoid it like a plague....
Bought some coupons through online deal site for flambe/sizzler.
We were the first to visit the place (evening) ordered within 5 minutes of reaching there... then the wait started. In the meanwhile we asked if they served filtered water to which they replied in affirmative. Had a first sip of water and yuk... ordered bottled water next.
The wait was getting extended with each passing minute. Finally to our relief the ordered Sizzler arrived.. then second.. then Third .. oops but we had ordered third one to be Flambe, pointed this out to the steward and he kind of unwillingly took it away.
They did some jugglery and bought the same dish in a plate calling it to be flambe. Then the wait for final dish started which was suppose to be a Sizzler, but that again they got in a plane plate, when pointed out they took it back and got it on sizzler plate.
In all we wasted 1.5 hr + waiting to be served then next 15 minutes for the bill.
Finally the Bill arrived.. Gosh it was exorbitant.. A mocktail and bottle of water was billed for Rs.446.00, Mocktail Rs. 140.00, packaged bottle of water Rs. 50.00 (All other items were prepaid). So, already overpriced 190.00 was further inflated to 446.00 (ridiculous!!!) bought it to the attention of purser, paid Rs. 200.00 and left the place with the vow not to look at it again.
Food quality was just OK nothing great, quantity too was very less. The anand sweet in opposite building turned out to be savior and we had our dinner there (everything we had in Flambe was nothing more then starters owing to quantity)
Overall a crappy place to be in, on accounts of pathetic service and then unethical billing practices.
loved the mocktails and starters
Went there on a Thursday night, a friend suggested the place... and the only reason I chose the place was because I was curious to enjoy a real lounge in Bangalore... We were 14 of us, tasty Mocktails and amazing starters
Good crowd, A group can sit, relax enjoy drinks (they do not serve alcoholic drinks) and have a nice time without being disturbed.
The staff is extremely friendly and good! Considering how there are hardly any nice places to hangout in Bangalore, flambé is one of the few places I would recommend to my friends when they visit Bangalore.. They have a smoking area too, which is good. You don't have to stand at the door like a tramp to take a few puffs
I complained about my main course not being spicy enough, they took it back and prepared again to my specific taste and that was nice indeed! Best, they did not charge me for that!
The main thing about their flambe dish is that the food is finished off in front of u with the matching liquor. Watching the flames was excellent for the terrace they have.
I would go! Oh yeah, they have many discounts and offers too.. for lunch on week days especially on Monday to Thursday where they run good offers. We were happy we got a good deal!
cheers flambe meet u soon again!
Avoid - "It was a burn the food day"!
I was there in Jan,2012 for a buffet. Got there around 1:45pm & we(my hubby,toddler & I) were they only ones until 3.30pm. It wasn't a laid out buffet & therefore we were served at our table. We were offered "clear sea food soup" which
was like boiled water with tiny chewy pieces of sea monsters more or less like drinking sea water. Then came the starters - small boney burnt pieces of chicken kebab, another small boney pieces of chicken something & burnt hard dry gobi machurian. Was hoping for the main course to get better-but it wasn't worth it. Lots of items but all tasteless..the dal(burnt) & 4 other curries were on the tabble & we
ate only the mutton & chicken gravy with nan. The Chicken biryani had
no aroma! The rice grains of the veg pulao were hard lilttle pests!
Our meal eneded with 1 tiny scoup of vanilla ice cream.
I had to order for noodles for my child & they were nice enough to
make creamy chicken kebabs for my child(which were edible)
Am glad I filled out the suggesstion form which they brought along
with the bill.
The ONLY thing the asked they should change-I said food! The wait
staff were good & efficient-that's probably co's we were they only
ones to be waited on!
Visting Flambe again - NO! Will you tell your friends about us - NO!
That's what I marked...Good Luck Flambe!
With so many negative reviews..FLAMBE- don't you think it's high time you find yourself a good cook to save your business????? Concetrate more on your cook & less on the internet.
February 24, 2012response from management at Flambe:
Dear IandMe, firstly thank you for your candid feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. Our laid out lunch buffet is very popular but we have noticed few complaints when we serve the buffet on the table. We are planning a major revamp of our restaurant including the kitchen, staff & interiors, backend etc. very soon. And trust me, this will not be 'old wine in new bottle!' It is your feedback that guides us towards a better future and we have taken it in the best spirit. We will keep you posted of changes. Till then. Happy din
Flambe should go up in Flames
This was one of the worst dining experiences i have ever had. To start with it is a night mare for veggies. There were only 2 starters and both were really bad.
The main course didn't have any paneer item and only one rice preperation was there. To satisfy my hunger i searched for daal but found only a pale yellow one which tasted worse than my cook's ( please be informed he is the worst cook in my area).
Well as for desserts there was only vanilla ice cream along with a pot of kheer which i couldn't dare to taste because of the shock i was in ( instilled by the main course and starters.)
I would suggest others to avoid this place even though the buffet is cheap (approx 200).
January 17, 2012response from management at Flambe:
Dear Veggi, thank you for visiting us and apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. Our lunch buffet is extremely popular and we have made a constant and conscious effort to upgrade the items and quality over time. Having started with a 12 item buffet we today serve a 20 item buffet (excluding accompaniments & miscellaneous items). This spread includes 14 veggies and 6 non-veggies. For the veggies we have 1 soup, 3 salads, 2 starters, 7 main course & 2 desserts. For non-veggies, we have in addition to the above, 1 nv soup, 2 nv starters
This place is a joke
We made the mistake of going to this place for weekend lunch buffet despite reading all the reviews below. We thought, how bad could it be... Trust me, its worse than what has been mentioned below. If there was a regulatory body for restaurants, this place would have been demolished a long time back.
We had been to the rooftop restaurant. The ambience seemed to be decent. Looking at this, we felt that the place might have improved after so much feedback. However, the buffet spread seemed to be limited to very few dishes and the buffet hardly ever had any food. The lunch buffet includes some tasteless salad, couple of chicken starters, based on Chinese cuisine, which seem to have more bone than meat. The vegetarian starters were a little okay but, you'll have to count yoursef lucky if you ever get to see any of it. There is one vegetarian and one non vegetarian gravy. The chicken that was in the gravy was so badly cooked that I am at a loss of words to describe it. The dessert section just has some scoops of normal ice cream and another dish which I never got to see.
The noodles and sauce are the only dishes that I would reccommend. But, I would seriously doubt your decision making skills if you ended up at this place even after reading this review. Whatever food that was available, was not even warm. Its very difficult to believe that the food served here once had life in it. We almost ended up double checking with the manager to make sure that the food had been prepared on the same day. We thought of asking the staff to keep burners under the buffet utensils to keep the food warm, but then realized that the utensils rarely have any food in them.
I am not sure on what basis they expect people to pay for whatever food is served here.
Oh, by the way, we never got that bottle of mineral water we ordered as we came in.
December 4, 2011response from management at Flambe:
Dear Sumeeth, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. We ran into some unforeseen technical problems in the kitchen yesterday and hence there was a delay in re-filling of the food on the buffet setup. We were also running full on the terrace and that was clearly a wrong time for such a technical failure. We are extremely sorry for the same, and trust us these dont happen often. As for your other feedback I would like to talk to you personally and understand the elements better so we can act on those. We
Bad food and bad ambience
We had booked a table for 14 today and we arrived at that place (terrace) by 1:00 PM. Ambiance is very average. For hand wash we had to go to 2nd floor. Food quality is pathetic. Some food salt less and other tasteless. Poor menu options for buffet. They starting filling the food utensils or buffet boxes quite late. Sweet corn soup served was really bad and had to wait 10 mins for veg starters to come. Pulav had no salt or taste in it. Rotis were not served to our table and we had to help ourselves. Both veg curries were horrible. Overall, if you are out of fever and doctor had advised you to have bland food, then this is the place for you. Above all, deserts did not have ice cream and they had a pathetic sweet which i didn't even bother to taste. Overall worst place i've dined for. 200INR + tax is not worth for this buffet.
December 4, 2011response from management at Flambe:
Hello, we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your friends. We will have wash rooms on the terrace floor very soon and this is a feedback we have taken very seriously. As for the food, we do not serve any spicy food and we do so only on request on our alacarte menu options. We tend to keep the spices and salt on the lower side for the buffet so that all the gravies will blend with rice as well as roti. We will still work on improving this for sure. We set up the buffet on small portions to ensure the food is freshly refilled from
We had a great party!
My boss had arranged for a buffet dinner party last weekend and I was pretty concerned after reading some bad reviews for this place on burrp. I went there to give it a try and I must say I am very much pleased with our experience as a group! We were 16 of us and what I liked best was the customized buffet menu that they setup for us! They offered us a choice of all 18 items on the 5 course menu which we decided the previous day by email. We got to choose from their options in Continental, Indian & Chinese cuisine, for no extra charge! Wow! The food was pretty good though the mutton could have been softer. The flavors were pleasant and balanced, not too spicy, which the entire group liked. The complimentary welcome drink and choice of ice cream was a good surprise indeed. The chicken starters were a real hit with the group. Service could have been faster (this was a table service dinner buffet) but was personalized enough which made up for it. At the end of it couple of us tried out their cheese poppers flambe and one chicken strips sizzler. I must say they were just fantastic, with the right balance of continental spices. The flambe dish prepared in front of us was a real treat! The mocktails tasted good but the presentation can be improved. The lighting was a bit sober I thought but didn't spoil the fun. The terrace with lovely breeze made it a great evening for us. In all we had a real blast! Thanks boss for taking us to Flambe! No wonder they say boss is always right!
Worst place to visit
Pathetic and Stale food
The quantity of food served is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo less in comparison to the money charged. When they get the food it looks like there is no food inside. Not 1% worth the money you pay
Very slow service
Staff are rude, slow without any life
Worst experience of my life and an insult for the people who came with me. I was really embarrassed after the visit for having taken people along
Worst place to visit. Worst Manager
On Saturday we planned for a dinner at Flambe. When i called to book a table for 6, the person who received the call pretended as if the restaurant was full and he could block a table for us if we are sure of going there. When we reached there, we found all the tables to be empty except 2 where there were only a couple.
When we ordered for a common drink which is available in all the Bars, the waiter said its not available. After we ordered the starters, it comes after almost half an hour n the quantity was so damn pathetic.we were 6 people n every starters we ordered came in 6pieces in a plate n the size was approximately 1.5" of every piece.The fish fingers came without white sauce(Mayo) which is commonly served with fish fingers. When we asked for it, the waiter got it but it had oil floating on top of it. They charge so high for all the items and the quantity is not even worth quarter the actual price. Before the starters came we ordered for main course and after we finished the starters it took more than half an hour again to get the main course. One of us ordered for Mutton Biryani n the rice n meat was raw. not even half cooked. The menu card explains what each dish includes, but when the dish actually comes to u, it has all different things added by them with their convenience. We even wanted to have dessert but then, we opted to go to some other place n enjoyed our dessert there. Our bill was Rs.3340 n it was not even worth Rs.340.
Very Slow service!!!
I had been to this place a couple of times and my recent experience had not been so good. I wanted to have a pleasant dining experience in a rooftop lounge and chose this one as it was close to my place. We had ordered 3 flambe sizzlers for which we had to wait for an hr to actually get it served despite the fact that there where only 2 other tables that was occupied then. By the time the sizzlers were served the hunger had gone. The food is ok however will appreciate if they could improve on the wait time..
September 21, 2011response from management at Flambe:
Dear Patron, we appreciate your sincere inputs. We were facing some operations challenges on that day and we own up for this shortfall in service. But we are glad you enjoyed the food though. We assure you a great experience next time you dine with us. We are also coming up with some major changes in the interiors and menu over the coming month or so. Do stay in touch. Thanks again for dining with us.
Good Ambiance, food,service we had our office get togeather yesterday in flambe we all are happy for all the things hope they will continoue it in future
September 21, 2011response from management at Flambe:
Dear Patron, we are glad you enjoyed dining with us. We are also coming up with some major changes in the interiors and menu over the coming month or so. Do stay in touch. Thanks again for dining with us.
GOOD AMBIENCE, HIGHLY OVERPRICED
With the terrace lounge you will feel pretty relaxed. Good service as well. But a Pint of beer will cost you 130 and a bottle will cost you 180. That's why I call it OVERPRICED. I feel there are better places at better prices in Koramangala. So do not waste your money at this place unless and until you are so specific about the Ambiance. And if you look at the food menu, you will not find a single Item priced below 180. Unless you order for a veg SALAD which may cost you around 140 Bucks :-) . Hope this review helps.
WORST SIZZLERS I EVER HAD
They have mentioned sizzlers as there speciality so i decided to have one when i visited Flambe 2 wks back with a friend. We ordered one veg and a non veg sizzler and to my horror they were the worst sizzler we ever had with stale big chunks of non veg, we left most of it and apart from that they took a very long time to get them,though the restaurant was completely empty.A BIG no,bad ambience poor service high rates,worst experience one can ever have.
do they know what flambe means...??!!
we went there with kids, expecting them to expose them to the flambe concept.... But not to be.. Guess the waiters/captain doesnt have a clue of the menu and am sure the chef (cook??) would have tried some crash course to attempt a flambe dish... Anyway, what we got for chicken pepperonata flambe was some big chunks with equal portion of rice. Looked and tasted similar to goan rice and chicken curry!!
Enchiladas - i have had better ones at shanti sagar (believe it or not!!)
A big NO NO NO!!
Went to this place couple of days back.And would never like to try it again.Had buffet here.It was aweful!.
I think they have some local cooks instead of chefs.The food at the buffet was so bad that I left most of it and went to Anand Sweets which is opposite to it to have something.Most of the people read read reviews before checking out a new place.So no restaurants can fool people these days.I would request my fellow burrpers not to go to this place to waste your money.You might think of trying if its free.That too at your own risk !I read all 4 reviews that were already present on burrp.3 out of 4 are bad .So it's high time management improves upon quality of food.
And I read a review by burp_burp.And I read the reply by management.The management has replied that they have stopped serving buffet on table because of customer demand.But I think they forgot to waive of the service charge !!
Overall from food to management everything is bad..Kindly avoid..
Pathetic is the word
We went to this place today.Food was really bad.Chilly chicken had bones.Ice cream was like Rs 2 icecream on roadside.Rotis were cold.Soup was the most pathetic soup I have ever had and not hot at all.Chicken tandoori was without salt!! Over all everything was too bad to go there again..! dont ever try this one.And this was the buffet and it was not served on the table like its done in some of the good restaurants.But then for what did they take the service charge?Compared to other restaurants of the same class in Koramangla this one is aweful!
April 4, 2010response from management at Flambe:
Dear burp_burp, thanks for your valuable observations. They are well taken. When we launched a couple of months ago we began with a TDH (buffet served on the table) and it was discouraged by most guests who seem to prefer an arranged buffet for lunch. However we also serve the buffet on the table for senior citizens and any guest on request. While I thank you for your candid feedback on todays buffet, I invite you to try us out for ala-carte which is our true identity/ speciality. Will be on the house if you dont think it is worth it! Chee
April 5, 2010response from management at Flambe:
What I mean to say is service tax is ONLY charged if buffet is served on the table.Thats what is followed in all restaurants.And the most important thing is the quality of food.If ala-carte menu is your indentity.speciality then do you really think its correct to makea fool out of people by keeeping such a low quality buffet ?Either scrap the buffet or improve the quality.A person having bad expeirince at a restaurant whether buffet or ala-carte will not like to return again to waste money and try again.Personally I would not like to experim
Uncomfortable place, undesirable food
Went there on a weekday. The place was deserted and it worked for us since we wanted a quite evening. We wanted beer and they only had Foster that too warm. I rate Foster down in the list so wasn't very happy. We tried Cocktail prawns and it was not upto the mark. The salad dressing was very sweet (Atleast i found it sweet). We actually didn't anything else after that.
April 2, 2010response from management at Flambe:
Dear Ivy.div, firstly we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Being a new place, we are sorting our some typical startup issues. However, thank you for dining with us. I also assure you that when you visit us again you will see a significant ramp up in our standards. The Flambe team hopes to have you dining with us again soon! May I suggest you try our signature Flambe dishes and sizzlers next time please. Cheers and thanks for your candid feedback.
April 5, 2010response from management at Flambe:
Great to hear that. Will try it some time
All that was expected!
I visited Flambé on Friday 19th in the evening
I walked in with no preconceived notions as to how we will enjoy the evening, after struggling to get a parking (no valet available) we found ourselves going up to the 4th floor. We were welcomed and greeted by the lady who asked us our preference of roof top or indoor seating. We decided to try the rooftop.
The ambiance was pleasant, although very dimly lit so much so that we could not even read the menu!! However a clever adaptation with small torches took care of that! We ordered the chicken Diane and pasta. They were very helpful when we wanted to change the ingredients to a particular pasta type and add mushrooms and other ingredients. Nice touch! Although they have a bar, it was not very well stocked as whatever we ordered was not available.
The food was done well and we had a good time. I would just recommend some ear plugs as Himesh Reshamia was blaring at an unbelievable volume! Besides the music I thoroughly enjoyed the place.
A Must try
April 2, 2010response from management at Flambe:
Dear Yoexa, thank you for dining with us. I am glad you enjoyed dining at the terrace lounge. The music was an aberration and I am sorry for the loud volume. Actually we play soft rock, hip hop and club varying by the time of the day and at medium volume. We are launching our first-change menu later this month and I welcome you to check us out soon! Again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we are eager to see you again at Flambe! Cheers!
Beware of waiters
My husband took to this new restaurant in Koramangala called Flambe. He planned the surprise for my birthday and I was too excited about it. The look was perfect. I was happy about the choice. But thanks to painful waiter our experience turned out to be pathetic. We literally wanted to run out of that place.
The waiter started with the small conversation and never stopped. He insisted that we should order for two main courses though we kept telling him that we want to have more starters. We finally ordered a Chicken item from their flambé section. Till the time we were eating starters he kept annoying us by asking how do we like it and if we need more after every 10 min, but never bothered to clear the table. The worst was when they started making the main dish. He insisted that we see how its been done. To be polite we looked at it and there he was again, Madam now! Now is the time you should see. Oh!
Finally here comes the main course and he was like how is it. I politely replied OK. But unsatisfied he kept standing here and asked again, Good na. Oh God! Yeah good, I replied. This didnt end here, he kept pestering us till the end. Even when we left he followed us till the stairs and was like, Come again, and get you colleagues too, I will get you some discount. Our special evening was so special that we couldnt speak to each other for even 10 min. I went with my husband and baby, but it turned out that we were 3+1.
So overall its a nice place, decent food. But please stay away from waiters and dont try it on a special day.
April 2, 2010response from management at Flambe:
Dear Pooja, this response is a tad too late, but worthwhile. I truly appreciate your straight feedback and I am glad to inform you that we have seriously worked on it. My apologies for the 'over-anxious waiter'. Do give us a chance and I am sure you will truly enjoy dining with us. Thanks for your positive feedback on the food. We hope to have your family dining with us again soon. Cheers!
This business has been shut.
However, you can browse through other restaurants on our site using the following link: