Sign in With Your Burrp Id!

Username

Password

Or Sign in using
Register With Burrp!

Username

Password

Confirm password

Email Address

Gender

Date of Birth

SHARE THIS PAGE

Or Send Details Via SMS

+91

Indian mobileS or fixed wireless
numbers only

> > > > Imli

Imli

IndiranagarEast Bangalore  

3.5

35 Reviews / 37 Ratings

Your rating

Menu

Gallery


Popular Event Searchs : New Year Party in Bangalore, Bangalore New Year Parties 2015, New Year Events in Bangalore, New Year Party 2015 Bangalore

Imli Reviews

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Most pathetic North Indian Food

Don't know why people have praised so much about Imli. You can get better food on the streets than at Imli. The taste and service seriously is pathetic. Whatever we tried was bad in taste. Please avoid this place.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Good Food, Pleasant Ambience, Friendly Service

This is my first visit and it surely won't be the last. Yummy, tasty and simple food and set in an awesome ambience. Tasted poor sabji and dal kichdi.

Share:

Manu Gupta - Burrp User

Manu Gupta

1 Reviews

February 23,2014

1.8

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Very Bad Eating Experience Repeatedly - Avoid This

If you want good service - IMLI is just not a place to go . The staff is extremely rude and just don't take care of you at all .
This was my third visit and in all three occasions it was the same - every time I have given feedback but nothing changes.
They make you wait even to serve water - they serve plates without spoons and for that also you have to request them - off course the list goes on. The coke which was for 35 Rs was billed for Rs 85 which is illegal as you cannot sell anything more than the MRP put in the bottle.
This time I went ahead and spoke to the owner - but to my dissatisfaction the lady had all excuses and told me - you can see how busy the restaurant is - we don't have people and we have an exhibition going on. The coke price is 85 as this is what we charge - Probably they should ensure they buy bottles which says to be sold at selected outlets.

The bottom line is its high time the management realizes how important the service standards are to sustain today's business.

Once again my word of caution to all - who want good service and a relaxing time - DON'T GO HERE - this is not just me but in a span of 1 hour I could see issues in 2 tables around me also.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

A chaat point…!!

We have usually visited this place as a chaat destination. This place has always been our high tea point.
Its chole bhature, pav bhaji and bhel puri are good especially when you compare them with other restaurants in Bangalore

Share:

minal_shah - Burrp User

minal_shah

3 Reviews

November 13,2013

2.5

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Would Think Twice Before I Go

Had been to Imli with family and friends. We were looking for a veg place which also serves Jain food. As some of our family members have Jain food it was good to know that they do serve Jain food which was limited but at least they took the effort to serve which we otherwise find difficult in Bangalore to find.
Good part was that they had an interesting menu regarding appetizers/juices starters and main course.
From everything that we had, the only think I truly enjoyed were their juices and starters, their main course was very average, nothing great.
Ambience was nice .
On the down fall the service was sad, as in every time our order came and if someone else took what the other had ordered the waiter would remind that person that it was ordered by some other family member and not him/her which I thought was rude.. Why would they interfere with who had what after it was ordered and mind you, it did not happen once but kept happening every time our order came.
Couple of glasses that were served to us were stinking to the core and we had to request them to change.
In my opinion I would think twice before I go.

Share:

Great Food But Bad Service

I took my family last Sunday for lunch at Imli. We had high expectations after reading all the good reviews. To tell the good things first, I feel they have an interesting menu, and the food quality and taste certainly matched our expectations. The sore point was the service. The staff was completely indifferent to all our requests. First, took them almost 30 minutes to serve a glass of jaljira which got served only after we reminded them thrice. Also they got the appetizers and the main course together (!!!). A request to give a spoon took them another 20 minutes and by then more than half my meal was over. I had ordered a phulka-rice combo and asked for an extra bowl of rice, which never got served. The staff was neither sensitive nor apologetic. Only the bill arrived in time. My family and I were totally disappointed despite having quite a tasty meal.

Share:

Ramadan Special @Imli

Hey guys I have forgot to post my last visit in the month of June. Ok, I am adding the review after having dinner tonight with my in-laws. As usual, my favorite Shikanji and we ordered Sweet Lime/Butter Milk. Main course Phulka, Paneer Mutter, Chole Bhatura. Except Chole, rest whichever we ordered were bit of a concern. Had a 20 min discussion with Mrs Mittalji(the Chief sous) on quality of food which we had between June to now. She has assured of taking actions. Rest, the ambience, convenience, courtesy, cleanliness, steward pleasing/charming personality are untouched. But, you need to rush on Fridays before 8 pm to get the best of tables to dine, else you need to wait. With the way the food is provided, it will take over Augmen on CMH road or the South Indies on 80ft road. To be more precise, you get the quality and quantity for the price paid. No stomach upset or disorders. Be assured, else I will not name my ID as "Imlifavourite":)

Though the cost of vegetables, rice and pulses have gone up but Mittalji to rethink on prices of beverages/drinks/starters.

A family of four, the ticket value of Rs 1000.00 should be stomach full from starters, salads, main course and desserts. But, with pricing on above, family directly gets into main course to spend not more than Rs 1000.00. This review is for an average salaried person with household monthly income up to a lakh, having food on Saturday night after a movie or Sun lunch. Basically, 3-4% allocates for Hotel every month.

Share:

Okay food

I guess I went there with very high expectation... I badly wanted Dilli food. Ordered parathas and dal. Was okay.. Not too impressed!

Share:

July 13, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear G3_gk,

Thank you for visiting imli. We have launched a new menu with manu more dishes. Do visit us again soon, and try them out, and please do post again about your experience...

Regards,

Somil Mittal

4.0

Tasty food, friendly staff

Though we had passed by Imli several times, didnt step in until recently after reading a review in Food lover's magazine. Delicious food and portions are reasonably big. The staff were friendly and served promptly. My toddler was kicking up a tantrum much to our embarrassment but they helped with chocolates to calm him down. So definitely a child friendly place

Share:

July 13, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Shyam,

Thank you for visiting imli, and for the kind words about the food. We have also launched a "fun kit" for children. Do ask for it the next time you visit us.

Regards,

Somil Mittal

3.0

Good food but lacks finesse..

Before going there on a weekend book and be specific to ask for a table upstairs as the ground floor tables and ambience make you feel like you are in a punjabi mess (would not mind except that I don't want to pay Rs.185 for a gravy in such ambience. Simple two page menu but they have some interesting dishes like the sanbzi with Karela which was interesting except it felt that the imli has overtaken the karela a little much. Ordered for paratha but got something like folder chapati. Overall good taste but they gave the upstairs table to someone who came after us though we has asked for one maybe because they looked more North Indian than us. May go there again but not until other options are exhausted or If I am so hungry that I won't look left or right away from my plate.

Share:

May 20, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Swameee,

Thank you for visiting imli, and for posting your honest feedback. The foodies in Bangalore have been kind to us, and we typically run a full house on weekends. Please do not hold this against us, and do visit again.

Please call me, and I shall set aside a nice table on the rooftop for your future visit.

Regards,

Somil

5.0

Awesome wholesome experience!

Finding a Pure Vegetarian place in Bangalore is not too difficult but in most cases you end up with the same names. Yesterday was different. Its been 3 years in Bangalore and I never knew this kind of place even existed. It was the reviews which made us choose Imli for my birthday dinner and it did turn out to be a goody good one!!

Tucked away in a quiet corner, just a lane away from the buzz of CMH road, the first floor dining area, with cool summer breeze and soulful 70s music immediately catches on you. The menu contains all that you probably eat at home but with a difference that you would like to try out. The presentation is good and the food quality almost home like. The chat options are good. The Juices and shakes on offer are different from what you normally see - so do try them.The sweet options were limited yesterday but I have seen very few places where you get "Aatey ka Halwa" and "Lauki ka Halwa" as an option!!


The service is wonderful, the staff always smiling which makes it a wonderful experience. I would definitely be going there again and would like to taste all of their entries!!

The place is kid friendly too - the kids also got a small goodie bag filled with activity sheet and crayons! There are some board games as well which you can play while waiting for the delicious food.

All in all a very good and different experience. The only grouse my little one had - she was missing yellow colour in the crayon pack that she got...:)

Share:

May 13, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear VJ,

Wish you a very happy birthday, and thanks for celebrating it with us. We are very happy that you liked our food.

We are getting a new consignment of the Imli Fun Kit for the children, and I shall make sure that the yellow crayon is included. Please do let your daughter know...

Thanks again, and hope to see you regularly at imli...

Regards,

Somil Mittal

4.0

Imli: a favorite weekend haunt

Imli is one of the few restaurants in Bangalore we keep returning to every few weeks. The food is mouthwatering and finely savory, the drinks delicious, and the staff always smiling and helpful.

Imli was a hidden gem when we first started going there, but is now extremely popular. Almost all tables are occupied on weekend nights. I am rating it a 4 only because their serve time is a little long, something that's hard to put up with when you are waiting for such delicious food! :)

Share:

April 27, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Gowrink,

Thanks for being a regular guest at imli, and the kind words. Our food is freshly prepared so it does take about 15 to 20 minutes to be served. Please do keep visiting, and keep posting feedback.

Regards,

Somil Mittal

5.0

Really nice North Indian food

Heard very nice things about this restaurant from a lot of friends but since vegetarian is not really my usual preference had avoided visiting. Not visiting it earlier clearly proved to be a mistake when I finally made it to this restaurant last week for treating a vegetarian couple friend. Imli has a very nice & comely ambiance and some exciting options on the menu. We ordered for Imli panna and buttermilk. My imli drink was tangy and refreshing. For main course we ordered baigan bagare, paneer achari, alu paratha, phulkas and makai pulao. I loved the baigan dish and paneer achari, they had the right amount of spice and tanginess making it an ideal accompaniment to rotis and rice . The makai pulao was also different and tasted nice. Good job guys. I can safely say this has been my best vegetarian outing so far.

Share:

March 25, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Foodie Jojo,

I am so happy that you finally made it to imli, and happier that you liked the food. Do visit again soon, and let me know of your feedback.

Thanks & Regards,

Somil Mittal

sri00 - Burrp User

sri00

5 Reviews

March 25,2013

4.0

Pretty good!

We all enjoyed the food, well cooked & not drowned in spice & oil! Predominantly North Indian food, so none of this nonsense about "we have all cuisines". Blueberry Lassi was good, everyone liked the ginger tea too. Ambiance is very laid back and in a quieter lane, good place for us to have a leisurely Sunday lunch. Child friendly & price is fine for the quality & service.

Share:

March 25, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Sri,

Thanks for visiting imli, and spending your Sunday afternoon with us. I hope you enjoyed yourself with the various games we have, and am also glad that you liked the food.

Next week, we are introducing some new activities for children. Do visit soon again, and let me know of your experience at imli.

Regards,

Somil Mittal

Tripti  - Burrp User

Tripti

2 Reviews

February 09,2013

4.0

Good Vegetarian Food!

Imli is tucked away into a corner a few buildings away from Kund/Dominoes (near Toit). You can't miss it in the evenings as it's bathed in a warm glow. The seating in this restaurant is primarily upstairs-open air.

Today, we decided to go all vegetarian. I've been hearing about Imli on and off for the last few months. We reached the restairamt at around 8 p.m. Except for a few tables, it was empty. We sat at a roomy, square table and were caught in a wonderful cross breeze. The choice of music for the evening was disco music from the 70s.. And it wasn't too loud! :)


We ordered the following:

Starters

Bhindi kurkuri: Bhindi sprinkled with lime and dipped in a batter of besan and deep fried. When we ordered this, we thought it was stuffed bhindi. At first I was disappointed that it was dipped in besan and fried because I was looking forward to stuffed bhindi. However, I loved the taste of this starter specially the dash of line.

Paneer tawa pyaaz: This comprised of paneer marinated in spices and roasted served with various colored capsicum pieces and onions. The paneer was soft and the spices were not overpowering. The vegetables were cooked to perfection.

Masala chaas: Though I didn't order this, I did taste it. It was plain old masala chaas that tasted like it was made at home!

Plain chaas: Again- homemade! :)

Main Course

Missi Roti (plain): Ordering this was a mistake. Not because it didn't taste good-it did. However, since we decided to become health-conscious and order butter-less missi roti, it was too dry! :-(

Aloo paratha: The stuffing was delicious however it needed a little more salt.

Dhingri Matar: This was a dish that surprised me. I wasn't too keen on the mushroom-green peas combination. However, everyone at the table wanted to order it. I loved this dish. The spice-level in the gravy was just right. The mushroom wasn't all shriveled; it was sliced into even pieces, soft, succulent and cooked thoroughly. The peas were soft, not too soft to be mushy. And they were green! They hadn't lost color at all. They added color to what was otherwise a drab dish- colorwise only.

Pindi Cholay: I love cholay. Period. :)

Sofiyana Biryani: I hate veg biryani. But this was yum! We ordered this because before going I read all the reviews on this site. :D. And I saw the words 'Sofiyana Biryani' so many times that I just had to try it! The only thing that I didn't like about this dish was that The beans pieces were too big and it was more like they were roughly broken by hand. :(. But the biryani was delicious otherwise. It was served with raita.

The other things that came with our meal was pickled onions, pickle (didn't taste this) and green chutney with the paneer tawa pyaaz.

Things I liked: Ambience, food, service, courteous staff, music, the roomy tables

Things I didn't like: The confusing menus (the menu is divided into 2 and printed separately for some reason- very confusing :(. ), limited options on the menu- very few options for gravies and rotis.

This is the first time I've enjoyed an all-vegetarian meal and I will definitely visit this restaurant again. :)

Share:

February 9, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Tripti,

Thank you for visiting imli, and thanks also for posting such a detailed review. Your review is the longest, and most descriptive by far, and I hope that burrp makes it a featured review.

We are glad you enjoyed most of the dishes. We are changing the recipe of Missi Roti, to reduce its dryness. The menus evolved to what it is now, as we kept adding more dishes. No excuse, we are having our menu re-designed, and reprinted.

Currently, we have 17 dry dishes, and 16 gravy dishes. We are planning to add a few

Jiggubhai - Burrp User

Jiggubhai

3 Reviews

January 31,2013

4.0

Good North Indian in South India

Have travelled to sevral destinations in the south but this restaurant from my hometown rules the roost when it comes to perfect north indian food though i miss gujarati delicacies not being served. Daal bati was a delight yesterday and paner peshwari was amazing. Biryani has the resolute taste from Hyd. Makes for a superb fest for veg senses.

Share:

February 5, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Jiggubhai,
Thanks for the review, but, I feel you are talking about the restaurant NH-8. We do not serve dal-baati but, have many other vegetarian dishes for you. We also serve chaats throughout the day.

Please do visit imli soon, with your family and friends, and do let me know about your experience.

Regards,

Somil Mittal

2.0

Poor Service

This is a delayed review, however wanted to voice my thoughts. On 16 September 2012, we went there to celebrate my husband's b'day with a large family of children and elder parents. @ 12.30 pm, we went to book a table and were told to come in by 2.15, the table would be ready. We reached at 1.45 pm, to be ready for the lunch. While we waited, children got hungry and we ordered chaat and some pakoda. Good to taste and freshly made. Post which we kept waiting till 3.30 and no sign of table coming by. Others walked in later and did get in seats! While we had booked for 12-seats, we were willing to split n sit as we got hungry by 3 pm. We were told, this is not the POLICY, by the attendant - Suhail. So continued to wait and finally left without having any lunch...the attendant and lady present were not really apologetic in any manner! Unfortunately a really bad service experience to a nice looking restaurant.

Share:

February 5, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Ksudha,

Thanks for your review. Even though it has been more than 5 months but, I still remember the day you had visited imli. It was just our bad luck that we were unable to seat you. We had prior reservations for that day, and surprisingly all the table were occupied at 12:30pm itself. We hope we would be able to accommodate you by 2:15pm, and the same was conveyed to you. But, as you rightly mentioned, we were unable to seat you even until 2:45pm. The customers at the larger tables did not leave, and hence the delay in seating

February 7, 2013response from management at Imli:

Thank you Somil for recollecting the event. I'll surely come by once more to try the food...however what beats my logic is letting go of customers rather than requesting them to split and have lunch! Also, when we offered to split the group and have lunch, we were told that we the restaurant's policy does not permit this...how would you react to such a situation? BTW we did make the reservation for 2.15 pm!

February 8, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Ksudha,

Looking forward to seeing you very soon at imli.

Yes, we do not believe in splitting a dinner group because frankly, it is awkward for us. I would suggest that you inform me at least a day in advance for a large group.

I promise that you will have a fun evening, this time around @ imli.

Regards,

Somil Mittal

Good Food ... Too much time required though

Started my new year with some HEAVY Vegetarian food at Imli. We went there ordered from the menu at 2 PM and our food was served at around 3.00 PM. Ok it was 1st of January but hell that was so much time ...

The food is good in taste and authentic. The quantity is good. For e.g. if you get a curry with roti its good for 3 people (with sharing mentality). We had to pack the food because of the quantity. We ordered baigan Bharta - excellent. And nice roti too.

Its the time delay that gets into your nerves, specially since we had other things planned for the day. The whole ambiance is all great with the big tables and enough gap between each table. Also its open from all sides which brings in lot of light.

Its moderately priced for the quantity that they give.

Share:

January 12, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Pradeep,

Thank you for visiting Imli. I am truly sorry for the delay. We are constantly trying to reduce the serving cycle time. Please do visit us again, and more importantly, keep providing your feedback. That's the only way we can keep improving.

Thanks,

Somil

February 5, 2013response from management at Imli:

Sure will do that. Will visit again for sure.

subbu.das - Burrp User

subbu.das

5 Reviews

January 02,2013

2.0

Not happy .. Would give it a miss next time !

Visited the place for new year's eve dinner with my wife and a friend and his wife and his kid.
While the ambiance is great and the seating nice, the main part the food of which I am very particular was not very great, I have to say.

We ordered one 'moong dal cheela stuffed' as a light short-eat.. By stuffed, I was expecting 'stuffed' and not 'sprinkled on top'.

Next in the main course, we ordered kadhai paneer dilliwala and subjiyon ka kofta along with some phulkas, plain parathas and stuffed parathas ..

The kofta was highly disappointing and that is what turned me off.
The dumplings were made of flour with bits of vegetables thrown in.
They were rock solid from the inside so hard, we just had to leave the whole of them .. When I am charged 195/- + taxes for a dish, I expect the koftas to be soft koftas and not balls of cornflour ..

The waiters just keep the dishes on your table and leave.
Midway through the meal, with one hand messy, we had to struggle to serve the biryani, that we ordered next. The least the waiters could do is offer to serve the rice on to our plates. Please note that you pay 10% 'service tax'.

The sofrani biryani was however the only thing that we actually liked.

The total bill turned out 1150/+ including taxes for
1 short-eat
2 curries
roti/parathas
1 biryani
1 drink

Overall, although an earnest effort is being made to keep the diners happy, some things were not right and I would not pick this place as a first choice anytime soon ..

Share:

January 12, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Subbu,

Thanks for visiting imli, and for your review. I have made sure that enough stuffing is provided for the cheelas. The koftas were truly hard, as you rightly point out. I have spoken with the chef, and changed the procedure to make the koftas. Next time, you visit, please do try the koftas on the house, and let us know if it has improved.

I have also told the waitstaff to be watchful about the needs of the guests, and provide assistance as required.

We take the needs of our guests very seriously, and we tha

4.0

Can't fault it - Ambience & Food

Lovely little restaurant in Indiranagar that serves great north indian food without the oil and grease that are fixtures in most other restaurants. The terrace area seating is wonderfully sunny and open. The menu is an interesting mix of snacky items like sabudana vada( yummm!), chat, vada pav etc and regular meals that consist of roti, sabzi, rice. The thalis are great value for money, especially since the quantity is so much that two people can share it! Highly recommend for food that tastes authentic and light.

Share:

January 12, 2013response from management at Imli:

Dear Sandy,

Thank you for visiting imli, and do keep coming. Do let us know about any feedback that you might have, during your visits.

Thanks,

Somil

srinivast - Burrp User

srinivast

145 Reviews

November 06,2012

3.0

Excellent Food; Service needs Improvement

We have visited Imli by design to whet our appetite for an evening snack.. Definitely we enjoyed the assorted pakoras, chaas, jal jeera, poori and vada pav. Superb taste. We felt that the shikanji tasted more of signature dish of Imli the Imli panna...but then its refreshing..so enjoyed.

But the disappointing part was the service. Its attended to but not being proactive, prompt, thoughtful. In specific:
- Water should have placed on the table without being asked for or followed up
- Plates should have been cleared up without being prompted
- Water should be filled in regularly without having to ask for
- Chairs n Tables on the extreme edge, naturally, has fine layer of dust: should have been regularly cleaned up; so do the case with the bathroom: should have been maintained better and well.
- we are not sure if the restaurant follows no-smoke policy. But we found two youngsters in the dining area, smoking. But none of the staff around have even attempted to stop them. Wish dining area is completely smoke free zone; whether policy exists or not. For its an affront to the fellow customers.
- Wish the staff proactively elicits the immediate feedback on the food or just simple enquiry on the overall experience from the customer. Wish they continued with their practice of eliciting the feedback alongwith the billing process.
- Wish service staff has provided a mouth freshner at the end of the course; or their signature imli popups...

Just demonstrates that the service has pitiably worsened. Needs distinct improvement if it were to be counted as the destination for the overall experience.

Now the service quality definitely needs improvement: as there are only two other guests on another table; but the serving staff seems to have been immersed themselves in tinkering around the new gadget...:-)

Equally unimpressive was the front office person at the cashier section fully immersed himself in a talk on his mobile than acknowledging the incoming guests or enquiring about how they can be of assistance.

Wish Imli in addition to maintaining its consistency in the overall ambiance and quality of good, also does enhance the service quality.

We loved the food...specially that crunchy, little panneer cubes lightly battered and fried ...just yum.

Share:

November 25, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Srinivast,

Thanks for taking the time out to write a detailed feedback. This is your second review on our site, and we would like to thank you for being a regular, and for your concern for imli. It is regular customers such as yourselves which make doing this worthwhile!

I totally agree sir. Our service needs improvement. I am happy to report that we have finally managed to acquire more wait staff and my wife & owner, Archana is personally overseeing the performance of the service staff. I have told Mr. Swaran Singh (our

Even my ID have kept in burrp site Imlifavourite

Food is just so good! Again & again & again. The way the food was packed & served hot shows the service and importance of an customer. Quantity is very sufficient for 2 if a gravy ordered. Each& every item in the menu is so filling! Last time, they have said many more new dishes will be added, which is yet to be done I think so. If so, request IMLI management to update in their website ASAP.

Thanks & Regards,
Madhusuden.Venkatasubbiah

Share:

November 1, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Madhusuden,

Thanks again for your kind words. Nothing like good vegetarian food, good for the tummy, and good for the soul. And, I have those new dishes coming very soon. We are introducing a special dish to remind you of your childhood. “Shakkar Ka Paratha Aur Malai”. But, you have to come to imli and eat this hot. Looking forward to serving you again @ imli.

Regards,

Somil Mittal

Paneer Kadhai Dilliwala, Phulkas & Sofiyani Briyan

Guys...this is the 2nd time I have tasted food here. This time have ordered food for home delivery due to heavy rains(KOT#856).....its just home cooked food with less oil, taste & from hands of granny! Just mouth watering & relishing briyani. Pricing is just so competitive for the 7 star food service. Have met the owner(Madam) last time & requested either not to increase price or lower the quality. So far in Indira Nagar, there is only one PURE VEGETARIAN restaurant of similar quality, but this has taken over all hearts of Indira Nagar vegetarian families here.

Great going!

Madhusuden.Venkatasubbiah

Share:

November 1, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Madhusuden,

It is well-wishers such as you, which motivate us on a daily basis. Thank you Sir! Good quality, and good taste is our motto, and my wife, Archana take this very seriously. Please do keep coming back, and keep giving your honest feedback.

Regards,

Somil Mittal

5.0

Impressive

I had been to this place yesterday with my family.
- nice localilty
- parking on the roads
- good food, tasted well (sabudhana vada,
- karere aloo chat can be improved
- yellow dal and jeera rice tasted superb!
- butter phulkas, karela, and makhai methi mutter were good too.
- i loced the black ea - tulsi :)
- meal for 3 - Rs 1200
- satisfied with the service of Mr. Srinivas.

Share:

November 1, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Raghav,

Thanks for visiting imli, and your positive feedback. Do email me at somil@imli.co.in, and give me your feedback on the aloo chat, I will convey the same to my Chat Chef. Do visit us again, and looking forward to serving you @ imli...

Regards,

Somil Mittal

1.0

first experience: as sour as imli

We were a group of 4 and I insisted on having a good Indian homely cuisine for the evening, after seeing reviews here.
ambiance was good. we ordered one salted lassi, two thandai and one khus ka sharbat for starter drink. everything was good except salted lassi... actually it was a sweet lassi... exchanged it.. but this time had too salted lassi and unable to gulp a single sip. God knows what was going on.
meanwhile, we ordered our main course... just 2 portions of phulka and 2 portions of missi roti and one dhingri matar and paneer kadhai dilliwala each. thats it.
We waited for close to 1 hour but our order was not served. Interestingly people who came after us were already enjoying their dinner and few were about to finish. We decided to leave and at the billing counter we met with Mr. Somil Mittal, who din't seem to have any regret about poor service and our suffering.
Thanks but we are never going to visit again. Sorry.

Share:

October 28, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Rahul,

Welcome to a restaurateur’s nightmare, a dissatisfied guest. We take our quality & service very seriously but, the ball does get dropped once in a while. The delay for service on your table was a goof-up from our end, and I hold myself responsible for the same. While you were leaving, our manager was serving your food on your table, and did request you to complete you meal before leaving. I too, offered to waive off the charges for the drinks, but you were nice to actually pay for that, after receiving such bad service.

5.0

Shafiyani Briyani & Peas puloa

Guys, worth a ton for these 2 items to hog in Imli. Sufficient quantity, quick service & courteous staff. Paratha combos & particularly DAL CHAWAL is awesome. This is soon a favourite spot for the fantastic ambience in roof top. Want to relax? head to Imli. No need to carry ENO, less oil & great taste.
Madhusuden.V
Indira Nagar

Share:

October 20, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Madhusuden,

Thanks a lot for being a regular, and we love the fact that you love our food. We will be adding about 15 new dishes within a week. Do keep coming back. Looking forward to serving you again @ imli.

4.0

Excellent Veg Restaurant

Environment: exudes freshness subdued elegance with nice tiles that reminisces fine dining ambiance. Yellow palette of walls and the quirky insignia truly touches the chord signifying the brand proposition of this joint, all things : Imli :-) that fresh, tangy quirky feeling...truly.

This joint is in the midst / surrounded by trees that are sprouting fresh shoots of greens: lovely scene to relish...

Service: exceptionally proactive, genuinely warm, prompt and efficient in all aspects across the touchpoints from the go a call to reserve a table/direction till the final billing by all the personnel: from the owner/manager ...staff...

Best part of the service is their attentiveness(Mr.Srinivasan), thoughtfulness( Mr.Suhail), exemplary efficiency (Mr.Stephen and team) all through the dining moments.

Oh yeah the food: just delectable to sum up. Sumptuous. We have ordered for Imli panna, Aam panna, Kareli dish, Methi Matter Makai, Phulkas, parathas, Gulab jamun and teas: Masala/Pudina/Tulsi.

Imli panna gives zest of fresh imli touch yet sorrounded by full body delicately flavored panna...

Quantity of food: absolutely sufficient and perhaps more than enough for three persons( 2dishes).

However we would have preferred the size of the phulkas and parathas a bit more larger than the currently presented ones. We sort of felt that the current portion of these wonderful warm offerings are meant for babies :-)

Similarly we felt that the stated flavors of the teas could have been more pronounced: am not sure if it is due to our preference for milk based teas for Pudina and Tulsi? But masala chai is a sure fire winner : exceptional and would recommend.

Well..um...what can be better:

- Bathrooms need to be maintained well. Tissue dispenser is not stockedup. Room is messy, should have been cleared up.
- Service at the fag end of the dining turned out to be bit slower a tad bit though...
- Fresh greenery/planters can dot along the preiphery of the upper floor or even better if the foliage on the adjoining property is cleared up and stacked up with beautiful greens
- Hajmola can be presented in yellow colored store toned container
- Dresses for the staff could have been resonating with the spirit of Imli: than current set of white attire
- Walls could have been painted with contemporarized Rajasthani or some ethnic portrait

Overall experience: definitely a fresh veg restaurant that is inviting and worth another try whenever one can...keep it up

Share:

July 11, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Srinivast,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such an eloquent review of Imli. We took care in designing the place, and take greater care in ensuring quality of ingredients & food always stays top-notch, and are very glad to see you were happy with them.

The size of the phulkas, and parathas are typical to what you would get in a north indian home. If the size were to be increased, the consistency of the softness, and the warmness (due to puffing) would suffer. The size has been derived from generations of exper

Great food getting overshadowed by BAD service!

I wanted to give more stars as the food is real good, but the service totally washes the good food experience!

Went there on a Sunday evening at around 7:45 pm, place was sparsely full. By 8, this place was almost packed. It has 2 levels though only the terrace section which is bigger is more frequented as its offers a better ambiance. When I went the weather was awesome and had a good time ambiance wise.

What we ordered -

Stuffed Chill
Shikanji
Jeera Rice
Pindi Chole
Dal Tadka

Total Tab - 662, so this place is moderately expensive.

After seating order was promptly taken. Initially we didnt order Dal Tadka as we thought Pindi Chole was gravy, which it was not. The person taking the order should have informed this. One star less for this.

Then when we again ordered Dal Tadka, it was good 20 mins before it was served, by the time the rice and chole was cold. One star less for this.

Then when we wanted to order desserts, asked for menu...menu didnt come for good 10-15 mins. We decide to skip desserts as then again it would take 30 mins to come and then the bill further 15 mins! One star less for this.

Food is real good, but due to their service this place can be in serious trouble!

Share:

July 5, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Anirudh,
We consider a visit by an avid and popular foodie such as yourself, an accomplishment in itself.

Thank you for visiting Imli, and liking the food. Yes, our service is something that needs to speed up, we are a little short on staff, and apparently it seems like the most difficult thing to find in this industry. Yes, not informing you that Pindi Choley is dry our bad, 20mins for a Dal Tadka, not acceptable, Yes.

But having said that, I would also like to add, that we unlike most North Indian restaurants do no

5.0

No Place like it

Wow! I am speechless.. i don;t feel like deconstructing the food.. the food is that tasty and that honest....
The food here is exactly like how your mother would have cooked it, if she was always in a good mood, full of love and patience.

I was despairing of finding a place in Indiranagar (or in the city) that would serve me healthy tasty food,. Not over spiced artery clogging stuff. But genuinely tasty food, where real ingredients are tasted.

This place has it all. If I could afford it , i would stop eating at home and just eat here, every day.

Loved the amritsari daal, the paneer bhurji, the softness of the parathas, the carrot salad and on a rainy evening i returned , the pakodey and chai..

Destined for greatness, and i hope you please keep up the quality and the good work!

jungmd likes very much..

Share:

June 10, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Jungmd,

If the food reminded you of your mother, then mission accomplished!!
That is the idea behind Imli.
Thank you very much, you've got us beaming.
Looking forward to seeing you @imli again...

5.0

delightful!!

ambiance 10/10
service 10/10
food 10/10:):)

would be returning regularly

Share:

June 9, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Miss Foodie,

Thank you for the full marks! We hope to maintain our quality, and do hope to see you regularly @ Imli!

Definitely will become a hit ...in a little bit!

Date of Visit - 25th May 2012

Summary - A new restaurant with decent food and great staff that needs to streamline a few things.

Pros
? Like the decor. A feeling of space and the tables are not cramped together.
? Some of the dishes like the Karere Aloo Ki Chaat & Stuffed Parathas are great!
? The attitude of the staff is very warm and friendly. When the person staffing our table realized that I did not order a drink because of a bad throat, he made arrangements for a glass of hot water for me. And a refill later (without asking).
? One of the owners came up to the table and apologised for the slow service and explained that since they do not have a tandoor, some of the dishes like the parathas is taking some time. We totally appreciated that.

Areas of improvement
? Some of the dishes on the menu are not available - some are marked (struck off) and some aren't.
? Service is extremely slow. 20 mins to get the cheque and 15 mins to get a bowl of curd are not excusable.
? The Jhaal Moori was pathetic. Just because the restaurant’s name is imli doesn't mean they make the dish so sour :P
? The Shikanji was weak and lacked flavour

Value for money
A meal for two came up to around Rs.500 which is VFM considering it included a service charge and the area which it is located.

We will probably visit it after 6 months as they may have streamlined their service by then.

A few more details at - www.saikrishna.com/imli

Share:

May 27, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Saikrishna,

Thanks for visiting our restaurant. We are glad you liked our food, and will most definitely make improvements in the areas as suggested by you. Please do visit us again.

K J - Burrp User

K J

2 Reviews

May 21,2012

2.0

Much ado about waiting!

My husband & i planned to get there to have a quiet dinner for two. Was really excited about this place after reading a good review on this place in the newspaper.
Loved the ambience with the terrace location of the place.
But the experience turned out bitter indeed, we waited for 15 mins to tell the waiter to get the Menu and another 15 mins to try to get the waiter's attention to jolt down our order. We finally decided to call it quits & left the place as we were really hungry & really not used to such rude behavior.

Share:

May 21, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear KshipraJ,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant. As we have just opened, staffing is and will remain a challenge, especially in a saturated industry such as ours. However, this does not excuse the bad experience you had on our account @ imli. We sincerely apologize for this, and hope you would consider visiting us again. We assure you that we are working hard to resolve the staffing issue.

A Vegetarian's paradise

My new year resolution was to turn veg, which I did and have been contemplating the sanity of my decision till I walked into Imli. I can not stop singing praises of this place. For me personally this is fine dining with all the Indian flavors in complete harmony. Most places usually tone it down so much that you hardly realize that you are having an Indian dish, but not so with Imli. The distinctive flavors that hit your palette have to be experienced.
My order, the Paratha Platter - 3 parathas with baingan ka bartha, Veg kadai, Dal Makhani, Raitha, Homemade mango pickle and my favorite pickled onions :)
The portions are huge and it was more fit for two people rather than one. The dal makhani was one of the best I have tasted so far, the veg kadai was cooked to perfection and not overdone like in many places. The highlight for me were the homemade pickles, I had the fortune of trying two - the mango and the stuffed chillies, was literally licking my fingers.
Had Aam panna to wash it all down and again was really good, cost me 500 Rs for a dinner for two as I stuck to the platters. Felt it was worth every penny and even more. Would advise everyone to try it out at least once and see how tasty veggies can turn out to be.

Share:

May 21, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Vinay

Thanks a lot for your good words. Please do visit again. Try the samosa the next time you are here. It rocks.

4.0

Great food...good price!

I went here after reading a few reviews and listening to friends...must say was not disappointed at all. The aloo tikki was yummy and so was the paneer tikki...Good place to try out for Indian food lovers. Keep up the good work guys!

Share:

May 20, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear Vijay,

Thanks for visiting our restaurant, and for your good words. We hope to see you again very soon @ imli.

5.0

Highly Recommended!!

Today I was here with my family this is the best place for veggies.

Food: Top Quality ,Homely & mouthwatering
Ambiance: Tranquil
Service: Amazing

Highly Highly Recommended!
Good Job :)

Share:

May 14, 2012response from management at Imli:

Dear vyasvimal,

Thanks a lot for your good words. All our recipes have been perfected over generations within our family, and we hope to maintain its quality, and our service.

We hope to see you again very soon @ imli.