Sign in With Your Burrp Id!

Username

Password

Or Sign in using
Register With Burrp!

Username

Password

Confirm password

Email Address

Gender

Date of Birth

SHARE THIS PAGE

Or Send Details Via SMS

+91

Indian mobileS or fixed wireless
numbers only

> > > > Zaffran

Zaffran

St. Marks RoadCentral Bangalore  

  • +919900036971, 08065471757, 08040953144, 08041716378
  • No. 8, Excellency Building, Pappanna Street, St. Marks Road, Bangalore
  • Indian, Mughlai
  • Meal for 2 - 1200
3.8

18 Reviews / 18 Ratings

Your rating

Menu

Gallery


Popular Event Searchs : New Year Party in Bangalore, Bangalore New Year Parties 2015, New Year Events in Bangalore, New Year Party 2015 Bangalore

Zaffran Reviews

m_uk  - Burrp User

m_uk

11 Reviews

February 04,2013

2.0

ZAFFRAN DIDN'T MAKE MY PALATE HAPPY BUT MY ST

Went to Zaffran yesterday for an early dinner.
IT IS DISAPPOINTING THAT THE AVERAGE FOOD CAUSED SEVERE DISCOMFORT.

ALL OF US FELL HORRIBLY ILL AFTER EATING THE FOOD OR DRINKING THE WATER THEY SERVED US. This will be the first time I am openly criticising the food or hygiene of a restaurant. THE STOMACH PAINS AND FOOD POISIONING ALL OF US AT THE TABLE FELT AFTER EATING AT ZAFFRAN IS UNLIKE ANYTHING IVE EVER HAD BEFORE. YOU WONT REALLY MISS OUT ON ANYTHING (APART FROM AN UPSET STOMACH) IF YOU DONT EAT HERE.
Review of dishes:
tamatar shorba: sweet, disappointing, reminded me of rasam mixed with canned cream of tomato soup (was there a hint of ketchup?)
veg galauti kebab: well executed.
mutton galauto average
CHUTNEY: YUMMY. It would be a pity if this is what is causing the sickness but this was probably the only item that was perfect as it was.
paneer tikka masala: nice gravy but it didnt seep into the paneer
Kashmiri Dum Aloo ok. Can be avoided
Murgh Mussalam: above avearage.
TAFTAN: not upto the mark.
Phirnee: ok. Should have been slightly sweeter.
THE PORTIONS WERE QUITE LARGE AND WE PACKED A LOT OF THE FOOD.

ALL OF US AT OUT TABLE FELL HORRIBLY ILL WITHIN TWO HOURS AFTER EATING THE FOOD. MY BROTHER GOT SHARP PAINS IN HIS STOMACH DURING THE MAIN COURSE. ALL OF US HAVE AN ONGOING UPSET STOMACH AND DISCOMFORT AND HAVE PUT THE ENTIRE DAY ON HOLD.
NEITHER OF US HAVE HAD SUCH PAINFUL FOOD POISIONING BEFORE. MY BROTHER WAS SENT HOME FROM SCHOOL BECAUSE OF THE PAIN.

BAD HYGIENE IN THE KITCHEN/STORAGE AREA/UTENSILS/WATER COULD BE THE ONLY CAUSE OF THIS.

Share:

February 6, 2013response from management at Zaffran:

Hi MB
Firstly to clarify your suggestion of food poisoning due to Zaffran food. The very fact that you have mentioned that your brother felt sharp pain during the main course itself clarifies the fact that it has been caused due to food consumed much before (food poisoning needs a minimum of 8 hrs to react in the body and a max of 48 hrs). You have mentioned that all of you fell ill within two hours which is too short a time for food to react in the body. Thirdly on 3rd Feb we had about 150 guests who ate the same food and drank the same wa

February 9, 2013response from management at Zaffran:

Chef, if you say that the food itseld was unlikely to cause the discomfort and reaction, I am willing to believe you. And just a small question: did all the other covers order the zaffran bottled water or mineral water? We had water from the carafes, which we presume is potable. This could be the cricial difference.

February 14, 2013response from management at Zaffran:

Lot of tables ordered for the carafe water. The staff including the kitchen staff and myself drink that water. We have a RO and UV filter installed for that very purpose, unlike a lot of outlets where only UV is installed.

February 14, 2013response from management at Zaffran:

Thanks for your patience Chef.

Good Zafrani Food

This place is different form Zafran at Park Plaza. Th prices over here are much lesser compared to Park Plaza. The palak n prawns kebabs/rolls were crispy from out and tender from inside. They served the Chicken Dum Biryani/Kabsaa & Mutton Curry right from the handi and you can actually get that taste. Must try the mutton with the Kaboos. They have very interesting cocktails & mocktails. Totally worth it. And its gonna be light on your pocket.

Share:

February 6, 2013response from management at Zaffran:

Thank you for your genuine review. Hope we can continue to serve you.
Regards
Zaffran Team

4.0

Raan Biryani it is....

Raan Biryani is sure to entice your taste buds... Caution! This can be really addictive.

Having visited Zaffran twice, I was able to sample a variety of items from their menu. For starters, Murg Zaffrani Tikka served with mint chutney had a nice flavor of saffron, was tender, well cooked and in a word 'Delicious'. The vegetarian pick was veg. Galauti Kabab. I didn't try it but the vegetarians loved it. The main course comprised of Rogan Josh which tasted good but was disappointing at first for it did not taste authentic as it contained a lot of saffron which is a Zaffran touch. The vegetarian counterpart was butter paneer - paneer was soft, the gravy was rich and creamy. A fine dish to order for the vegetarians. These gravies were accompanied by assorted Indian breads which were well cooked too.

Raan biryani is Zaffran’s signature dish. The portion is enormous and can feed 5- 6 people. This preparation packs the flavors of the meat, rice, spices and saffron so well that it can entice the weakest of the taste buds.

The service first time around was average. The staff seemed a bit hesitant and puzzled when asked for recommending the food to pick. The service during my second visit was very good. I really appreciate the manager for being very receptive to the feedback given and acting upon improving it.

Read more about various restaurant reviews @ http://reviewofrestaurants.blogspot.com

Share:

February 6, 2013response from management at Zaffran:

Thank you for your genuine review. Rogan Josh at Zaffran does not have saffron in the recipe and we are surprised to hear that you could get that flavour. We will definitely look into your comment. It infact contains Rattan Jog which is a Kashmiri spice. As for autheticity, we do have to inform you that Zaffran being a franchise, we have to stick to recipes generated by the master franchiser and this is how it would be even if you had it in Mumbai. Thank you once again for highlighting the Raan Biryani, it is one of our bestsellers.
Regards

February 6, 2013response from management at Zaffran:

Hi Vibhuti,

Appreciate having received your response. I have loved the food at Zaffran in my multiple visits to this restaurant.

I'd like to share a bit more detail here.. I was introduced to the chef during my first visit when I expressed concerns about the rogan Josh tasting different. To this, I was informed by the chef that, " the recipe involves use of Saffron which makes it taste different and saffron is used because Zaffran being a franchise, we have to stick to recipes generated by the master franchiser."

I

3.0

Good restaurant for starters

Visited Zaffran this sunday noon after pre-booking, surprised that its almost vacant , may be it would be crowded by night. The ambiance is good, we preferred to seat indoor since it was raining in the open. Ordered Murg shorba soup, the veg galouti kabab(not sure of the exact spelliing ;) ) and the murg zaffrani kabab for starters along with the roomali masala papad. Needless to say, the papad is very cripsy and tasty and is different. Also are both the kababs..especially the veg galouti kabab..true to its name, it just melts in your mouth. Coming to the main course, we ordered murg biryani ...and here is the let down...the biryani i feel is not that flavored.. can be more spicy ...the quantity of ghee can be reduced...Service is good and prompt. Overall a must try for its variety of dishes...The bill may amount to about Rs1500 for three persons excluding alcohol and desserts.

Share:

October 16, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi Sathya
Thank you for your review. Our recipes are conforming to Zaffran as a brand from Mumbai. We however would be pleased to tweak it to your pleasure next time you visit us. Please inform your server of your preference of spice/pungency.
Thank you
The Zaffran team

foodie85 - Burrp User

foodie85

36 Reviews

October 03,2012

4.0

Yummy starters !!

Had been here with my husband a bunch of family friends yesterday afty for lunch .....Must admit was a yummy fulfilling meal ...Murgh zaffrani shorba was a perfect accompaniment with Murgh Zaffrani Kebabs , Veg Galouti Kebabs and Achari Paneer tikka..The paneer was extremely soft just as I like it and tasted real yum !!!
We ordered Gosht Biriyani ,Paneer Kulcha and Butter Chicken... I didn taste the Biriyani but kulcha was definitely nice...I must make a mention here that I hve had better Butter Chicken at Punjabi by Nature(Koramangala) !! The gravy was a tad mash-mix and did not exude the exact flavours of Butter Chicken ! :(
However , the food was very very filling and we will visit again..... Also , you will not be disappointed with the decor and service !! :) :)

Share:

October 16, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi
Thank you for your review. The butter chicken we serve conforms to Zaffran recipes as a brand from Mumbai and has won awards for 3 consecutive years as the best butter chicken. Our recipes are influenced from Mughal and Awadhi cooks, while Punjabi by Nature is of course from that region. There will be a difference in flavour. However you can ask your server to tweak it to your preference in terms of spice or pungency levels.
Regards
The Zaffran team

4.0

Zaffran all the way

I am in love with this place! Good food at the end of the day is just whats needed and Zaffran has it all ! With a lovely ambiance and prompt service this place has a long way to go ! Reserving a table through Poshvine got me a complimentary chef's special dish to add to the wonderful experience :)

Share:

October 16, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi Malini
Thank you for such a wonderful review and we are glad you enjoyed the experinece. Do keep visiting us.
Regards
The Zaffran team

Not Bad

The Veg Gouloti Kebabs are to die for.. brilliant!!
The food is very rich and oily..
Great food.. but not if you gut is too weak for oily food..

Share:

August 6, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi NBCL
Thank you for the good comments, however we would like to clarify that we use butter and ghee to enrich the food and not oil.
Regards
Zaffran Team

August 9, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

No Doubt the food is excellent..
If i were to be given the option to have less butter and ghee in the order..
Zaffran will be my meal everyday..

Thanks

August 9, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi NBCL
You can request your server at Zaffran for it. The chef would be happy to comply. We do get requests for spicing the food up sometimes, which we gladly do. Being a franchise we have to stick to standard recipes. Hence the taste too.
Regards
Vibhuti

Good food, friendly staff

Good food (albeit a bit on the non-spicy side), nice ambiance and very friendly staff. This was a nice dinner experience.

For starters, we ordered Murg Zaffrani Tikka, which was good (the chicken was a bit chewy, could have been a bit softer) and Macchi Tikka, which was excellent. The fish was very tender and a delight to eat.
For the main course, we ordered Murg Afghani and Murg Zaffrani Malai, both of which were prepared very nicely. These gravies might be a bit too mild (less spicy) for some, but for me they were fine (since I wanted to specially try this kind of cuisine).
We ordered Zaffrani Taftan from their breads selection and were very satisfied with this choice.

The staff was very helpful and courteous and the ambiance was also nice.

The price is a bit on the higher side, with a meal for two costing around Rs. 1200 without drinks. But, the food was definitely worth the price.

I enjoyed eating at Zaffran and would love to go again!

Share:

October 16, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi Pushkar
Thank you such a lovely review. Please do keep visiting us.
Regards
The Zaffran team

Impressed

We went to this place for a la carte lunch and were impressed with food and service.
We ordered lot of items at each course of meal and those were perfectly cooked and nicely presented. In starters - murgh kalimirch, main course - murgh anarkali and in dessert - zaffrani phirni were the best. If you like rich mughlai food - this is the place to try. Though very expensive but you get value for money.

Share:

October 16, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi Ashish
Thank you for such a lovely review. Do visit us at Orion Brigade mall, Yeshwantpur too.
Regards
The Zaffran team

4.0

Good Food

I have been to this place twice so far. First time around we tried the Kashmiri Dum Aloo, a Praneer curry, Roomali roti and Ghost Biryani, all of them were just perfect. The second visit I had the Chicken Lunch Thali Rs345 excluding tax, this was good too. Thali is unlimited and included, Tomato soup, chicken starter, chicken curry, veg curry, dal makhani, nan, roti, parantha, jeera rice and a sweet as dessert. The sweet of the day was Jamoon and was disappointing. Otherwise everything else was fresh and hot. The Thali's are available only through Mon-Thu.

Share:

October 16, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi
Thank you for the review. We will look into the Gulab Jamun as it is one of our in house specialities.
Regards
The Zaffran team

5.0

Delicious and Value for money.

We heard of Zaffran as a restaurant in Bangalore which won a Times' Debut Restaurant award. Today we went there for a family (four of us) weekend dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the place. Above average ambiance compared to the best in Bangalore, delicious food and excellent service.
We ordered for Vegetable Galouti Kebab (Rs 250) and Murg Zaffrani Tikka (Rs. 295) for starters which were served with a smooth Pudhina Chutney. Each bite of it was delicate and relishable. For the main course we ordered Zaffrani Malai Kofta (Rs. 250) and Zaffran Signature Butter Chicken (Rs. 375), Naans/Kulchas. Each dish and the Indian Breads were perfect in texture and taste. They were served with diligence by the staff. Service was in time and it was very filling. We had a very enjoyable family meal which we wish to repeat in a month or two. We recommend this place to family and friends. With 17 % tax and 10 % service charges, it was real value for money compared to any other good place in Bangalore. Impressed by the service we paid additional tips. Keep it up.

Share:

October 16, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi
Thank you for the review. Please do visit us at Orion brigade mall, yeshwantpur too.
Regards
The Zaffran team

5.0

GOOD FOOD and GREAT SERVICE!!!

The service here is good with great ambience and top it all great food!!! loved it...!!!
do try it!!!

Share:

October 16, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi Aishu
Thank you for the review. Do visit us at Orion Brigade mall, Yeshwantpur too.
Regards
The Zaffran team

foodie0909 - Burrp User

foodie0909

1 Reviews

February 15,2012

2.0

Zaffran = Not worth the Hype!!!

It was Valentines day and i was really excited to take my lady love to this place i had heard a lot about. After having booked a table for 2 the previous day, we landed @ Zaffran at around 7:30 pm. The ambiance was warm but the place looked deserted with hardly any soul at the restaurant. We were asked if we would like to sit at the mezzanine level to which we agreed. We were escorted to our table and made ourselves comfortable. The waiter appeared after a few minutes and informed us that there was only a Valentine day special set menu available if we were to be seated at the mezzanine floor (which cost 2500Rs/-). We didnt find this deal worth it as we were vegetarians and wanted to order directly from the menu (This was where my experience started becoming a forgetful one).

To be able to order from the menu, the waiter asked us to move back down to the ground floor. This was highly irritating and embarrassing b'coz by then there were people around us and we were at the center of the chaos. I Immediately hinted my partner that we should leave the place, but she being the tolerant person she is asked me to 'kindly adjust'. We then moved back to the ground floor where we were made to sit on a table that was almost on the middle of the walk way which had these really uncomfortable chairs (Totally not where you would want to sit on a romantic dinner). By his time my mood was totally off and i knew my valentine night was doomed.

We ordered a starter (warm aloo tuk chaat) which was nothing to write home about. The Zafrani Lassi was terrible (sour to the core)!! The Dum Subz Handi Zarfani and butter naan were pretty good, whereas the Subz Biriyani Zafrani was another disappointment. To top it all there was around 16% service charges+Service taxes that i had to sell out (for the thoroughly forgetful experience) at the end of the meal.

Overall im going with just 2 stars for Zaffran and a thumbs down to their hospitality and quality of food.
To the readers: Treat Zaffran as your last but one option.

Share:

February 15, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi
We duly apologize that an evening for you to remember became one to forget. Our intention was for every guest to have a good time. We will definitely look into the mix-up about the seating. Your comments about the food have also been received in the right sense and been passed on to the chef. We fervently hope that you would give us a chance to make up for the unfortunate incident.
Apologies from the Zaffran team once again.
The Zaffran team


Nice ambiance and great food!

This place serves amazing food with a nicely done ambiance.

Kala Khata margarita is very good and served in smart glasses! Entire Kabab selection is very different from regular ones.. Must try is Ghost Seekh kabab which are stuffed with cheese & Murg chello kabab. The aloo tuk chaat for vegetarians is a great option.

Main course non veg options are awesome. Try Murg Anarkali which comes with a nice topping of egg.. For veggies..Baby corn dhingri hara pyaz & dal is good.

Don't forget to order roomali masala papad which is very unique. Their service stand apart. One of the best option for north indian indulgence in Bangalore!

Share:

January 17, 2012response from management at Zaffran:

Hi Salil
Thank you for the accurate review and we will keep up the same standards always.
Regards
Zaffran Team.

4.0

Tickled my fancy, but could have done better!

"Where is the restaurant located?", I chimed over the phone to the very Indian sounding hostess on the other end. She directed me to a small lane behind the Oh! Calcutta outlet on St Mark's Road. The bright orange lit signage made it easy once I had turned in.

There are two markedly different entrances to Zaffran. Of course the al fresco one is less frequented to enter the dining hall. The main one we used got us first in an empty expanse of about a 150 sq ft without much happening before turning right on to a long rectangular seating divided by 4 ft false brick walls. One thing I noticed as soon as I entered was a lingering faint odour of Lizol, probably used for wiping the grime off the floors. Was not a good start to the culinary experience.

The lighting and decor was simple yet elegant but not very fine dine as the finish was tacky. They could have done a better job in making it a bit more upscale given a) the location and b) the price point that they are charging! There is an option of a sofa seating with chairs or a chair only seating as well.

The staff is trying hard to please but is not very well trained. Coming from a traditional upbringing, I felt that the woman in the group should get served first, which did not happen till I pointed out to the waiter. I always prefer to call them by their names and hence name tags help me in identifying. Since they were missing here, I had to ask Raghu his name. They are fairly knowledgeable in what they can recommend you from their menu.

The drinks (being a non alcoholic) I prefer to experiment with the desi margaritas. They were very well made with a nice kick of chilies and interesting flavors such as Kala Khatta, Orange and Khus. I could have downed a couple more easily. The general consensus on the table was in favor of the coolers!

We ordered their Aloo Tuk Chaat, the Galouti Kebab, the Chelo Kabab, the Seekh Lucknowi and Chicken Hariyali Kebab. The only one I actually liked was the Chicken Hariyali. The chicken was moist, cut well so that it was not too thick, hence the spice marinade had penetrated well enough, juicy with right amount of kick. The Aloo tuk was soggy with too much tamarind chutney which made it lose the cripsiness that comes with Aloo Tuk, Galouti was not melting in anyone's mouth. It was more like a lamb mince and the flavors were not very well balanced. Chelo Kebab was bland. The chicken was surprisingly dry, without any flavour and the rice was more like a salty kheer but with no spice and not salt. The creamy rice enveloped the chicken so much so that the chicken never got any marinade. The Seekh Lucknowi is their take on Seekh Kebab with a egg batter on top and deep fried and a subtle hint of cheese inside as a stuffing. Sounded exciting but too much fizz with very little sizzle. A seekh must have loads of favor, garlic, ginger, chilies etc. This one actually had a good amount of meat, egg and little cheese and that's all I could taste. So the starter experience was left wanting!

We also ordered a roomali masala papad. The roomali roti, baked crisp like a gujarati "khakhra" with the masala papad ingredients. One cannot go wrong with this!

The main course order was jeera rice, some daal fry, black daal, chicken afghani, palak paneer and of course the breads. The rice and breads need no mention for an Indian restaurant. Dals were good. The black one was a bit too creamy but then my expectation is set as high as Bukhara!. Chicken afghani was an experiment and we were pleasantly surprised for the taste it brough to our palette. There was a fried egg on top of a light brown gravy with boneless chicken. The flavor was subtle of cream and onions with some pepper and other north indian spices. Everyone agreed that it went well with the breads. Palak in any restaurant must be fresh looking, hence very green in color (without adding artificial color of course!) and with soft paneer. The flavors here were perfect. Nearly as good as the one you get in Treat Indiranagar.

So all in all, the main course resurrected the place but I would still give it a 3 star. The damage was 5500 total for all the above that we ordered. I felt it could have been a little cheaper, but then everyone wants to dream!

Share:

Bedlum - Burrp User

Bedlum

5 Reviews

December 27,2011

1.0

La Patisserie or Zaffran?

Cross-posting this because it seemed like the same restaurant and the food was so horrible.

Ordered a caesar salad - my friend got a pizza. Some of the worst food I've had in Bangalore. The menu said the caesar had romaine lettuce - I got wilted iceberg. The "croutons" (as if they could be called that) were untoasted pieces of white bread. The dressing tasted like pure mayo. I've never had a worse Caesar.

The pizza taste like a microwave pizza except microwave pizza tastes fresher than this did. I could have sworn the crust was cardboard and I think the sauce was actually ketchup. They put barely any cheese on the top.

The decor looked nice but I was there for food.

Complete waste of money. Avoid at all costs.

Share:

5.0

Wonderful in every way

My Mom, brother and I decided to try out this restaurant for my Mom's birthday dinner. Being a Friday evening, I called the restaurant in advance and made a reservation for around 7:45 to 8 pm. Though we left home with plenty of time to spare, we were a little late in arriving as I am not familiar with the exact location of Pappanna Street. However, thanks to the very courteous and helpful reception person at the restaurant, who I called while driving down St Marks Road we found the place. The valet hurried forward to park my car as soon as we drew up and after taking a Parking ticket we walked into the large foyer of the building and were greeted at the entrance to the restaurant by the smiling hostess. She enquired what kind of seating we would like and after stating our preference, we were politely ushered towards a table flanked by chairs on one side and a sofa on the other. The Maitre D' politely seated us and provided us with the bar menu and food menu. I skimmed through the bar menu and was quite impressed with the variety of liquor on offer. However, I don't usually drink alcohol in an Indian restaurant, preferring instead a soup or an Indian drink and so I turned my attention to the food menu which was also quite extensive. After much deliberation, we settled on a Chicken soup with Saffron which we split as 2 by 3, a Gosht Biriyani with Pineapple Raitha (when we ordered the Raitha, we had forgotten that biriyani comes accompanied with a free Raitha), a Murg Zaffrani Malai and a Butter Nan. The soup came fairly quickly and we enjoyed every mouthful. I could probably say that this is one of the best soups I have tasted in ages. After the soup was over, the waiter brought over the nan and the Murg Zaffrani Malai and politely served us. This was followed by the Gosht Biryani and the Raithas. The food proved to be too heavy and too much for us as we are small eaters and so we took away most of the Biriyani and the Raitha as a parcel to eat for our next day's lunch. As we are very fond of dessert, despite feeling full, we ordered a plate of Gulab Jamuns and the three of us shared this. We then asked for the bill, paid it and left after responding politely to the pleasant good byes from the wait staff. The valet was waiting outside and brought our car almost immediately. My overall impression of the restaurant was that the decor was absolutely fabulous. I spent most of the time while we waited for our dinner, looking around the restaurant admiringly. The food was splendid, cooked to perfection and well presented . The furniture was nice and the sofa I was sitting on, extremely comfotable. The wait staff - right from the valet to the hostess to the indoor staff had impeccable manners and offered courteous and discreet service. The crowd wasn't very much but while we were there, two other tables filled up and both sets of people looked extremely pleasant. The place is a little expensive as there are both service taxes and value added taxes in addition to the food prices but I consider that the price we paid was well worth it for the wonderful food, the great decor and the amazing service. Definitely a place to return to and one which I shall recommend to anyone who is looking for a great Indian dinning experience and won't mind paying for it.

Share:

4.0

Great food!

Went to Zafran with a few friends the other weekend. The decor was great, refreshing for an Indian restaurant. The food is really good. The kababs are delicious. The lucknowi seekh kabab was outstanding. We all had the raan biryani for the main. It was enough for the 5 of us. It was flavorful and not too heavy which was a nice change.

Highly recommed.

Share: