Sign in With Your Burrp Id!

Username

Password

Or Sign in using
Register With Burrp!

Username

Password

Confirm password

Email Address

Gender

Date of Birth

SHARE THIS PAGE

Or Send Details Via SMS

+91

Indian mobileS or fixed wireless
numbers only

Home/chennai/Al Arab

Al Arab

MylaporeChennai  

3.1

56 Reviews / 59 Ratings

Your rating

Gallery



Al Arab Reviews

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Buffet Was not Good ..Bad Service

Buffet is cheap ,but not that good .Starters were good .Main course was tasteless ..Service was bad .Overall bad experience .

Share:

4.0

Best Hotel in Chennai

Al Arab is one of the best hotels in Chennai. Today I had my dinner here and I am very satisfied with your service, staff response, fast service. Foods tasted good. Interior atmosphere is very nice. I am very satisfied with today's dinner. Nice keep it up.

Share:

4.0

Awesome food at amazing price!

Hi, I'm a regular guest at Al Arab,I have been there a couple of times with my friends.,we are very much fond of bbq food and we always prefer going to Al Arab as it is the only restaurant where both food and ambiance are great at a very reasonable pricing.
In our recent visit there we are surprised by their new buffet price which is just Rs 495 for the same unlimited bbqs,main course and desserts.,wow! that's too much for just Rs 495..the food quality and taste were excellent as usual,service was also up to the mark.
Pls do visit this restaurant to have a awesome food at amazing price.

Share:

5.0

FANTASTIC BBQ RESTAURANT IN TOWN

I have been visited for many times there..this time my birthday. Wow my favourite bbq restaurant's anniversary offer. Can't believe lunch 395 and dinner 495 and this whole month in all days the same price. The food was really good and friends also enjoyed more with unlimited bbq starters. We planned to visit again before their offer ends.

Share:

Not up to the mark

For a place with a live grill on your table, you need more dishes to put on it. Sadly Al Arab only had 3 non veg and 3 veg on the grill. And the place is very expensive when compared to BBQ Nation. The service is sometimes poor and the buffet is just about average and there are no items that would stand out. The desserts are pathetic with nothing but ice cream and a couple of sweets borrowed.

Share:

REAL COMPARISION - AL ARAB VS BBQ NATION!

Dear Burrpers,

We are a team working at Sirco! We have been regular patrons at Al Arab since it's presene in namma Chennai. There have been few ups and downs however, we were always satisfied with their food and service. Many people here compare it with barbeque nation. Well, for me I would say barbeque nation provides completely a different atmosphere for different clients. I would say BN is a a complete entertainment place when compared to al arab they loose on food quality & taste which I believe is the prime focus of al arabs staffs.

For us as as colleagues / team mates - We always have preferred al arab due to its consistent taste, good service and fair pricing - value for money where their pricing is at least Rs.250 or more less compared with bbq nation.

Having read so many different reviews about al arab, I always wondered why there are so many negatives which we never faced. I spoke to Mr. Karthik the manager there and checked what was really going on. He said Sir you know how we are but there are few competitors who write bad about us so as to distract our customers to them. I was very surprised if this was true and thought to share my experience if i get a chance to review both.

Well, on my recent visits the below are my comparison points.

Both bbq nation & al arab thought the cooking process remains same but the offerings are totally in comparable as both target different clients. Al Arab serves complete halal food focusing more on arabian & north Indian or mughal food.

They serve 6 Non veg and 7 Veg starters including grilled chicken, shawarma, prawns , fish, mutton, and one Indian chicken kebab. BN serves only 5veg + 5 non veg. Main course is more similar in both restaurants but in AA you get 5 NV - Chicken, Mutton, Fish, Prawns and 1 Arabian Mutton / Chicken & 10 VEG whereas in BN you get 4 Non Veg - Mutton, Chicken, Egg, Crab + only 8 Veg. Desserts AA serves 10 and BN serves 8. Soups, salad and beverage remains more or less similar. Comparing number of dishes served and taste of the dishes - I personally prefer AA for variety, taste, and quality food. Some of my team mates prefer BN for live music & alcohol and also say food comes last to them. On overall vote among our team mates - They prefer AA for Food and BN for entertainment with alcohol.

Price of Non Veg Buffet

AA - 395
BN - 867

Share:

Please DO NOT Visit this restaurant EVER!

The food is terrible: no variety for veggies. Even meat eaters, you will get an upset stomach if you take a second helping. One guy got food poisoning!
Service is very very bad, the waiter kept saying, 'sir what (I am a woman!)' 'Sir, you want water?' when someone asked for a second helping. Apart from this, the waiter also poured water all over the table and didnt even bother to say sorry or clean up the mess!

The ambience is shady, so please dont take your family. It is highly recommended for low lifes and men who are so drunk they cant taste the food anyway.

Oh, yes, the AC doesnt work. And please dont ask the waiters to refill the buffet containers. They will turn and vanish inside the kitchen.

So, if you have loads of cash to burn, please go to Al Arab.

Share:

2.0

Needs Loads of Improvement

The other day we were near to Citicentre, thought y not try this AlArab and heard its similar to Barbecue Nation. Getting a place was not so easy, we all made up our mind that food must be good. But once we got a place and tried their food, it had to be changed immediately, not so great, needs loads of improvement. Service was not really up to the task. And top it up with water dripping from the AC vent above, and there was not place to move since it was packed. Their briyani was such a disappointment, looks like the chef thinks leaving some rice white would make normal chikcen briyani Hyderabadi Dum briyani. And this place is not cheap either!

Share:

1.0

Warning! Don’t ever go without a booking

We had the worst experience. We went to this place with our friends, including kids. Of course we didn't book a table because the number they mentioned on the site was not reachable. Once we reached, the guy who was standing in the reception said they can accommodate us, so we waited for few mins. After sometime, I’m really not sure what happened. The same guy said we don’t have enough room for us. They way he said that was very unprofessional and pathetic. They were not ready give us the table though we said we can split up and sit. After read all the reviews I realized that I am not the first customer to suffer in this place like this.
If you wanna risk your time you can go here.

Share:

iyers162 - Burrp User

iyers162

1 Reviews

February 22,2013

5.0

Best price!

We went there for lunch, last Sunday. The place was fully crowded. But we were seated very soon.The atmosphere is very nice. Good for family. Service was very fast and the waiters were very attentive. The starters were really delicious. Main course was also good. They had lots of varieties. Dessert was exquisite. To my surprise, they have slashed down the prices to 395. We really had a lot of fun having food at this price. Will definitely come again.

Share:

5.0

VERY GOOD BBQ BUFFET AT REASONABLE PRICE

we were there at last sunday very much surprised to see the offer they are offering now. the same unlimited bbq buffet with all starters in veg and non veg. they said it Anniversary Offer, lunch buffet at Rs.395 nett and dinner buffet at Rs.495 nett. its 100 times worth, friends pls do try

Share:

1.0

Ranked 1st among the worst

With God's grace they are still in business, lucky guys. If any one of you are fed up of eating good food and really dying and starving for the worst then this is the best place to go. The best here is Ice cream, simply because they doesn't prepare it :)

Share:

5.0

Busy atmosphere, great food

We went along to this restaurant as a group of eight for a get-together. It was a typical Saturday night and the restaurant was very busy and lively. The service was of average speed and the food was of excellent quality.They served us with chicken, prawns,fish and mutton for starters which was really delicious especially the sea food. They had different varieties of main course. Dessert was good. The price was as we expected - not the expensive restaurant , when compared to barbeque nation. There is ample car parking. Ambience was also good. One of the best BBQ restaurant. Overall we were pleased and would return again.

Share:

kvteen - Burrp User

kvteen

3 Reviews

January 11,2013

2.0

Poor mans Barbeque Nation, but same price !

We went to Al Arab on Saturday afternoon at 2'o clock, which i believe is perfectly "Lunch TIme". Like many others we were expecting Barbeque Nation style recipe, ambiance and hospitality but left deeply disappointing. The waiters seems not be interested in taking order and most of the starters came late aftre we felt tired. Some of the starters were missing and when we asked they said "the lunch time is over" !?!?! Saturday at 2 o clock ?!?

Waiters seems to be very non-interested as if they were working for free. And also the price is high and taste was not bad. They are trying the present B&N style and they cant even do that good ??? Still not sure why the price is so high and treatment is so poor ??? Is it because they are in the center of the city side ??

Share:

5.0

Excellet place for starters and desserts

I have been there for new year lunch buffet with my family and had a tummy fight with the food .......The food was great and the service was also good ....They had prawns , fish and chicken for barbecue starters which was great ...Prawns were excellent ....Then they served shawarma , tandoori chicken , and some veg thing (which was not good) . Then they had some 8 non veg main course which was also great ....I had spaghetti which was good .....I dint really get into main course has prawns starters were too good i couldnt resist eating ....Then coming to Main ending desserts ..WOW!!! had pineapple cake and strawberry cake which was WOW that too Mango pudding mmm mmmmmmm .....yummy ....then watermelon and papaya for fruit lovers ....Sorry for ice cream lovers no other option other than vanilla with three types of sauses .....We went out happily with a great new year start....Happy new year guys .....Must visit for heavy food champions ....like me

Price:710rs / person

Share:

5.0

5 stars to al arab!!!

This is our go to place for its always 5 star there. The food is consistently fresh and so delicious!!!! The service is over the top. The whole staff is so accommodating. We have had several birthday parties there.
The pricing is quite reasonable,so we love going there. Best place that i would prefer for bbq lovers.

Share:

sahara20120 - Burrp User

sahara20120

4 Reviews

December 14,2012

4.0

“brilliant service and food”

awesome ambiance, , awesome food.what else do you need on a day off from work! best place to dine. I have been there a couple of times, the best dish there are the kebabs and shwarmas. Simply delicious! Totally worth a try.

Share:

wowamazing - Burrp User

wowamazing

1 Reviews

December 14,2012

5.0

Had a good experience!!!

I happened to dine in al arab last week.To my surprise that was the best grill I have eaten.This is so tasty and the new look and feel inside made it a real good experience. They give absolute privacy for family I assure you that its worth trying.Give it a try to enjoy the best grill in town.

Share:

Nice food nice service

For the first time I bbqued at al arab..served 5 starters I found each one to be very good..and Prawn was addictive..excellent service by the waiter Rakesh who explained me everything abt the menu right from the beginning and good service too being a weekday...
and main course dishes are good as I dont have empty stomach to try d main course i had a little and finally finished with desserts which is palatable ...

Only thing need to be improved is ambience eventhough it is ok...
dont go on weekends u wont be serviced as per ur wish as the crowd will be very high..City's best BBQ and economical too just 595 including taxes and service charge for lunch and 699 for dinner compared to bbq nation which is 620 for lunch and 820++ for dinner...

Share:

ahum1234 - Burrp User

ahum1234

1 Reviews

November 29,2012

4.0

A place to be cherished!

The food was really good! We had a good time there. The staff that attended to us were very friendly and really helpful.

Share:

Apollo1234 - Burrp User

Apollo1234

1 Reviews

November 29,2012

4.0

Birthday Treat

This was a birthday lunch and it was a treat from start to finish. the staff were friendly but so efficient, the food was delightful and there were little extra treats throughout the meal. I cannot believe there is a restaurant to top it in Chennai and we would recommend it highly. The attention to detail is second to none and we felt so special as everyone who has the pleasure of dining there must feel. Cannot wait to go back, try it you will enjoy it Soooo much.

Share:

sahara20120 - Burrp User

sahara20120

4 Reviews

November 28,2012

5.0

Worth paying!!!!

To start off with we had a pleasant evening at al arab.... We were seated immediately on a crowded sunday evening... The dishes were inventive...... The starters were delicious and could not stop eating it..... each of us enjoyed our food from the starters to dessert. We were also given a refreshment drink..... chickens were tender and prawns was extraordinary.... Ambience was perfect and suited me alot...... dishes were elaborate and the taste was exquisite... Service was fantastic and overall i would say WORTH PAYING IT!!!Good and a halal restaurant that would suit all!!!

Share:

shilpa296 - Burrp User

shilpa296

5 Reviews

November 28,2012

2.0

Could have been far better.

Obviously my expectations towards this place was in comparison to Barbeque Nation. But I suppose they didn't really manage to level with it.
The barbeque itself was not that great. The Mushrooms were shriveled, the chicken was too tough, and the prawns were not well marinated. The sides that they served (roast chicken, chicken shawarma, etc.) were also just about okay. The buffet itself was not that great either. Although it had variety, it was not tasty enough to appreciate. And neither was is it value for money.
The ambiance is not impressive and something that could be redone. And the air conditioning was way too much.
Overall, I think it's just another place that's trying to offer the live BBQ idea, but not delivering money's worth.
I don't think I'd go there more than once.

Share:

2.0

mixed feelings

Well, it's difficult to review this hotel without comparing it to Barbeque nation.
First the food is okay and so is the ambience. Also, accessibility is not really an issue.
But the service is quite bad and the quality of food could be better. The air-conditioning and comfort levels are just about average.
I feel the really need to improve on their food.
I found their biriyani not upto the mark and as stated in a review below: buffet of 650 is a bit too much compared to BBQ Nation lunch 520 with taxes n great service great taste n value for money.

Share:

skprakashms - Burrp User

skprakashms

2 Reviews

September 17,2012

5.0

Worth time / money spent

Hi I Just went with my team and had a great time today with all my team, I'ld take the pleasure in explaining the treatment at Al Arab, I came to this site to view the review and was faced with mixed review, but after the dinner today I would there is nothing I found negative the team felt an exceptional reception from the begining till the end and the food was upto the top standards... will have another visit soon and share with my coleagues, thanks al arab for providing me an wonderful experience.

Share:

nikchn - Burrp User

nikchn

1 Reviews

September 12,2012

1.0

Have a Well Guided Tour!

Yes! Blame me for selecting this restaurant for my team event even after reading all these reviews. So if you are like me, you are also going there after reading my review. So here are the things you can expect when you enter there.

The moment you walk in to that place, an array of dirty and torn chairs and a disoriented set of staffs will greet you and lead you to your table. While paraded to your table please try to hide the surprise you sure will have by seeing the dirty walls!! By now you know that actually there is no one who is really waiting your table but all the staff including the manager will be at your disposal when you are there!.
Okey, you at your table! You will be served an array of veg dishes initially (or till you ask them to stop!) even though you are there with a non veg price tag and booking.

Then, only then the non-veg skewers arrives. (We get a total of 6 skewers with 3 pieces each on them for 8 people!). If you are really lucky, they get something properly cooked!! Take your time to munch what is in front of you because you are not going to get the next set any time soon. I think they have a reversal for everything. That is, you get cold ones where you expect hot and all the supposed to be cold items are either warm or even lukewarm!!! So cold kababs, cold biriyani are great to go with warm ice creams, aren't they?

So here you are... Don't feel disappointed. You are having a once in a life time experience! So enjoy while you are at it!!!

Share:

5.0

Worst Service

Hi i am regular customer to Al Arab. But last week I came to Al Arab, the service was worst. I didn't expect this service in Al Arab and the old staff like bagadhur, karthi, will treat us like their own family members but now every thing is awaste of money.

Share:

myfavplaces - Burrp User

myfavplaces

2 Reviews

February 28,2012

2.0

Good but not great

I landed her for Sat lunch, the barbeque was good not great though(veg n non veg), but others, whatever served on the plate were not at all good.
The complimentary drink served was like that which will be available roadside. The presentation of that , the taste n the quantity (it s volume is in between 1/2 to 3/4 of the glass) is horrible for a buffay of 650( this too too much compared to BBQ Nation lunch 520 with taxes n great service great taste n value for money)
Next comes the biryani which was like curry mixed with rice... its said dum but it is not having a 10% taste of Dum Biryani...
Water is charged extra.. u cannot expect great service..
Deserts were dry(cakes)
Only good are fish n prawn tikka, paneer was really soft.. but just for these i will not pay 650.. right..
u can just go eat.. but u r a Barbeque lover... the food is just good..
Not at all Value for money...

Share:

Habib - Burrp User

Habib

1 Reviews

January 03,2012

4.0

Value for Money !

When we decided for a team lunch, lots of restaurants were been discussed but atlast we landed at Al- Arab on Dec 16 2011 Friday Lunch. Though it took some time for them to serve - Can understand the delay as it was the peak time and restaurant was full -, Had good experience with the starters. Everyone enjoyed the varieties and never get time to think of main course, our stomach started filling with delicious non stop starters, to be very specific I should name Mr. Lian - the steward who served us swiftly and thanks to the exeutive Karthick who made our experience wonderful.

Especially with the space and the arrangements I think still needs some improvement otherwise a worthy place to enjoy the food

Share:

skprakashms - Burrp User

skprakashms

2 Reviews

December 29,2011

5.0

Serve with a smile :)

I had a wonderful experience with Al-arab restaurant. We had a dinner for 4 teammates and the reception of the staffs are really good. had a good time and the serve was with a friendly smile. If i remember the name of the staff, Karthi I believe was exceptional and was overwhelming. Kudos to the service, will be visiting the place very often :)

Share:

4.0

Barbeque delight

Al Arab is one of the two restaurants that is concept based and which have been executed well.. the other being Wild Amazon..

Al Arab focuses more on the kebabs ( Starters) and the culinary experience takes off from there. The restaurant is located somewhat diagonally opposite Chennai Citi center and there are chances of missing out on identifying the place. The valet parking is a big relief considering the location of the restaurant.

It is highly advisable to book a table/make an appointment before you get there.. First feelers about the restaurant is positive with well lit interiors, very comfortable leather couches and informative sidelines which talks about the menu and other details.

Al Arab is located in the third floor... with the first and second taken by wild amazon. This is not a very big place, hence the insistence to book prior. The concept at Al Arab is unlimited starters that offers a variety of kebabs in typical barbecue style.

The ambiance to the place is appreciative. Lights in the right places, the spread laid out well and presented well.. comfortable chairs, an overhead exhaust and the live grill placed at the right spot.

From the word go, all you need to do is chomp chomp... Varieties of kebabs keep coming in one after another.. and after a while it does get a little overboard... The kebabs are about 90 percent cooked, with the remainder being cooked on the live grill placed in front of you. Depending on your choice of Non veg or veg, there is an assortment of Prawn, Shrimp, chicken, fish and veg kebabs laid out for pure culinary delight. Apart from that, there are waiters who walk around with absolutely delightful pieces of Grilled chicken, pieces of Shawarma that adds to the pleasure of dining.

One thing that could add a spot of discomfort is the smoke that emanates from the live grill.. I felt that the overhead exhaust needed some work in ensuring that the dining experience could be complete.

I would recommend having some of the green tea in the middle of your dining experience that will aid digestion and enable to chomp more...

Generally, the starters take up 98 per cent of the meal experience, but I would advise keeping some space for the buffet that is spread out.. The biriyani is top class with spices in the right places. The buffet is a spread of Indian and Chinese...The combination goes very well and the curies are equally appealing.

The desert spread is another story... Steaming Gulab jamuns that are feather soft and juicy along with cold ice cream will get you going for seconds... there is a variety of other deserts including brownies and fruit. I didnt have any space to go there though..

There is a F &B manager, Mr. Karthik who keeps himself busy tending to guests and was very helpful in adding to the delight of our dinner experience..

Overall, Al Arab is a fine restaurant that offers good food, hospitality and good ambiance.

Cheers.

Share:

1.0

Warning!!! dont wast your time and energy!

Well to start with..i had made a reservation and despite that i was not given a table..mind you it was a reservation for 2 not 12!!...abhijeet the manager had taken the reservation himself(so no trainee excuse).. unprofessional as they are once i reached.. they kept on saying 5 min..but this lasted 15min...again pepl why would one make a reservation and wait..u are not doing customers a favour..in fact they are by still visiting al arab.. so obviously i left after all the false promises and waiting in vain for 15-20 min..
now pradep sarkar..i am writing this reply in response to your reply to vandana..YOU DID NOT OFFER US A TABLE in 10 MIN!!
the meaning of a reservation is that you save the table for the guest who made the reservation and not give it to anyone who walks in and then give an excuse that you could not vacate them since it was a sunday and was full!!Why did u give us a reservation then???? shocking reply i must say!!..also if you were giving a table to someone else before doing so.. it is the duty of the restaurant to call the guest who has made a reservation and confirm if they are coming or will they be late FYI!! well all i can tell people is they are far better places in chennai where you will be treated with respect and served better.. so please dont waste your time in al arab..even if you manage to get a table ..i think you should read rashmi's review..only people who have genuinely had a very bad experience will take the time to write such a review to warn other people.I dont think such incidents occur rarely in al arab..it's more part of their SERVICE DESIGN! One more thing pradeep sarkar.. if you cared about your customers you would call them ..and not ask them to call u..remember you have OUR CONTACT DETAILS!! reservation we made!!

Share:

December 9, 2011response from management at mouthful123:

Dear Ms. Vandana / Unbiastreviews,

I did immediately try to reach you on your mobile number '9840485772' which you had given to Abhijeet at the time you reserved a table. I have been trying to reach you since Sunday but this mobile number is not reachable. That is the only reason why I requested you to call back. If this number is wrong, then Please update me of your number and I will call you immediately. I am really sorry for the inconvenience that you had at the time you arrived.

Regards.

rajonburrp - Burrp User

rajonburrp

1 Reviews

December 09,2011

5.0

I am now AL ARABOHOLIC!!

I am a frequent visitor at al arab. I just love all their food especially their starters and desserts. This restaurant serves unlimited food (Soups, Starters, Main food, desserts) all unlimited at a price of Rs. 596 for non veg. I think the veg spread is a little less priced than the non Veg. The unlimited BBQ starters includes, Prawn, Fish, Mutton & Chicken, Shorma & Grilled Chicken. The meal is a great deal for protein lOvers like me...especially after gym workouts. - alarabaholic!

Share:

rashmi172 - Burrp User

rashmi172

3 Reviews

December 08,2011

1.0

To Mr. Pradeep Sarkar, Business Manager.

Mr. Sarkar, I suggest you spend time at this restaurant more often before you state that "such incidents occur rarely". It seems to be happening more often than you might like.

Share:

December 8, 2011response from management at mouthful123:

Dear Miss.Rashmi,
Would be Glad if u Could Provide me your contact details.
Which would help me to resolve this issue in a better way.
Pls feel free to update me @ 9500128077.

Regards,
Pradeep Sarkar.

rashmi172 - Burrp User

rashmi172

3 Reviews

December 08,2011

1.0

UTTER DISASTER!!

My experience in Al-Arab has by far been my worst dining experience in Chennai. The place is dirty (we were made to move from table to table 3 times!!!), food was cold (really cold!!), the food we ordered for never arrived, incompetent waiting staff, no cutlery set on the table after telling them repetitively, waiters trying to serve tea with no glasses set (where were they intending to pour it, our heads?) and to top it all a restaurant manager with a terrible attitude. Every time we signalled to him to come to the table he'd send someone else even after we let him know that he was the one we wanted to speak to. The waiting staff were never around for us to order. It took them 20 min to bring a glass of water to the table. And they have the bloody nerve to ask us to fill a feedback form that they rip when we turn our backs!! (do they think we're blind??)

They standards have dropped unbelievably since it started! I'm utterly disgusted with the service and incompetence of the staff there! Like I mentioned in the feedback card that was torn and thrown away, I've been to road-side dhabas with better service. I will NEVER visit the place again and would suggest as a well-wisher to other burrp-ers to avoid that place if they don't want a nightmarish experience!

Share:

csvandana - Burrp User

csvandana

2 Reviews

December 05,2011

1.0

Ridiculously Pathetic Service!

Now this review is not about the food, since we didn't even get a table even after making a reservation an one hour in advance with the restaurant manager Abhijeet.
Its about the Horrible Service. Made a reservation for 8.45pm and we reached at 8.55pm, the duty manager says we need to wait for another five mins, which itself was Disappointing, but we patiently wait... and after 15 mins, when v loose our patience, he's still convening us to wait for another 5 min. Which is very RIDICULOUS! I mean why the hell should i take the pain of calling just dial, getting the restaurant's number and making a reservation and then getting embarrassed in front of my friends and finally walking out in hunger. I wonder what kind of service are you providing to customer who has actually come to give you some business.
The whole evening got spoiled, Nightmare. Thanks Al Arab!

Share:

December 5, 2011response from management at mouthful123:

Dear Ms. Vandana, Greetings from Mouthful team.

We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you at your arrival at Al Arab. We understand that you had arrived after making a reservation at our Restaurant. As it was a Sunday Night, the restaurant was packed and the first session guests were still dining in the restaurant. We were not able to vacate them immediately & so we were not able to give you a table immediately at the promised time. However, we did offer you a table within 10 minutes of your arrival which you felt inconveni

December 5, 2011response from management at mouthful123:

My mobile number is +91 95001 28077.

kiankhan - Burrp User

kiankhan

2 Reviews

November 27,2011

5.0

GREAT PLACE FOR BBQ LOVERS

Went to Al Arab for Saturday Night Dinner. They serve unlimited chicken, prawns, fish, mutton kebabs with shawarma and Grilled Chicken along with almost 8-10 variety of veg kebabs & starters. The best of all was their shawarma, Grilled Chicken & Fried Potatoes.

Though the main course spread is elaborate, I recommend sweet lovers to skip it and to go for the Desserts. Their Brownie & Fried Noodles (Darshan) with Ice Cream is a must try.

Not to forget all just for a price of Rs.590/-

I recommend this restaurant for all BBQ lovers..

Share:

December 5, 2011response from management at mouthful123:

Thank you very much Sir for patronizing us!!

irtawz - Burrp User

irtawz

1 Reviews

November 20,2011

2.0

A horrilbe experience

We had been trying to go to al arab for quite a while, once we got appointment, but reached 15 minutes later, and that guy said flat on our face that we cannot make it in for you since you r late. We had been to BBQ Nation so many times without booking, and they had been able to chip us in.So that's one difference.Finally we manged to get a 8:30 pm booking one day because we had nowher else to go around.As we entered the restaurant, we saw waiters who looked exhausted,there uniforms looked untidy. The restaurant was reeking of burned bbq. We were given a table on which used sauces and dressing were placed. The guy cleaned it up in 10 min, in another 10 min, he started bringing the bbqs. all the starters looked like a rip off of bbq nation's bbqs. They did not have so many items, they did not have chicken skewers which could've been served so easily.They served fish, which we don't eat. The only option now that tasted fine too was prawns, but then they were all same flavoured unlike BBQnation which serve normal,spicy and ginger flavours. We eventually got bored of it. They stopped bringing the skewers after sometime,and we knew that these 1200 for two people were going to be a waste. We decided to go off to the main course. I usually like having salads after/with bbqs. But there weren't a lot of options there like BBQ Nation. They had one sad peanut pineapple salad, and cut salad,thats all. The main course had cold food,which was tasteless. Our last hope was desserts, where pastrys were as if every piece of britannia fruit cake had been cut into 3 pieces each. The brownies tasted like mud. There were pineapple wantons which reeked of oil. We somehow had icecream and mud brownies, and paid the bill. They gave us a feedback form which we were supposed to fill and return downstairs. It was written on it that return it and get a gift. We reached downstairs, they gave us a small round packet. We thought atleast, thats gonna be a chocolate. When we opened it, it was like marie biscuits covered in watery chocolate sauce. This is how this experience was and i felt like everyone should know, n they shouldnt even take it as an alternate to bbqnation

Share:

jesunoel - Burrp User

jesunoel

2 Reviews

October 01,2011

5.0

We loved it

We 15 ppl went for dinner. Dinner for so enjoyable.
1. Good ambiance
2. Taste of starter - good.
3. Qty of starter (barbeque)- too heavy. They provide no stop. we ate for 45 min. then stomach was full.
4. Quality of buffet: Taste was good. But we could not eat soo much because of starter.
5. Snacks: Provided Panipoori.

6. Variety: Too many non veg.
7. Best for Non-Veg,

Share:

Sick and Numb Place

I had a torrid experience of visiting this place with my family and ended up succumbing to bed and bathroom for the next two days suffering from the worst stomach ache of my life because of the awful decayed prawns i tasted , People - The food is absolute crap filled with scraps of viruses and can never ever be compared to the likes of Barbecue Nation. Please don't ever think of visiting this place even in your wildest dreams and if you really want to - visit a doctor and get a course for stomach ache before you move on :(

Share:

Can't get worse

Visited this place for dinner with family once. Food was okie and service was fine. So suggested for our team lunch for 25 folks since we could not get booking in BBQ Nation. Live charcoal grill is not at all hot. Actually kababs were cold even when placed in the grill. Service was pathetic. Did not get kababs even after multiple request. Did not get to taste much of fish. Asked them to serve the complimentary welcome drink (pepsi) 3-4 times and got it when we are about to leave. Chicken was not at all cooked and was very raw. Gulab jamoon was cold. Even needed to wait for 15-20 minutes to just get a bowl for icecream.

Overall disappointing outing for the team. :( Never choose this just because you want to try live grill and did not get booking in BBQ.

Share:

1.0

Worst place

Worst place i have ever been. we were are forced to vacate the table before we finish the dinner. manners less idiots those managers . they didn even bother to apologize. food worse than their hospitality. don ever consider this as alternative to BBQ nation.

Share:

What were they thinking?!

This has to be what they call daylight robbery.
I went to Al Arab because my friend was treating us there.
Honestly, we all were fooled by the Adverts this place had publicised.
Authentic arabian food? MY FOOT!
From the ambiance to the food , everything, everything was disappointing.

We go there and see nepalis wearing the traditional arab costume serving us. Can't help but I couldn't stop myself from laughing.
Then came pretty ordinary starters. (FFS we all have been to BBQ Nation which serves us much better stuff).
The main course was a buffet. I didn't go check that out cause I was already full. but from the looks on friends faces, they weren't impressed much.
And the most disastrous section was their dessert section.
An eatable tart? No. they serve us Lemon tart which is bitter to the core.
Then there was Peanut butter Pastry. (Dear Chef, What were you thinking?) This was not consumable even by the ones who see the bottom of two to three bottles of peanut butter.
Sad.

Wanna hear worse? While we are eating "Authentic Arabian Food" the grills on our table were getting very smoky and the whole place was like it had a cloud in the room. And some device kept on buzzing like the pest control devices. It just never stopped! ANNOYING to the core it was. Only after the meal, when we were leaving did we reallize that there was music playing but sadly couldn't hear anything thanks to whatever that device was.

Never in my life will I step into this place again.

The only positive to the place was the comfortable couch in the waiting area.
People thinking of going to this place, change your mind and go to BBQ nation. Its the same thing but just a hundred times better.

Share:

1.0

Absolute Nightmare

Date of Visit: 21/05/2011

This had to be one of my worst experiences I’ve had in the recent past. Al Arab, Chennai…gosh the food was terrible except for the plain steamed rice :( …I mean my six month old daughter can cook that. Starters were disappointing and the service was horrible. I don’t think they understood what we were asking them…they kept providing us we didn’t ask for. Ok, they tried to impress us with their pampering stuff but when it gets over the limit, it starts to get a wee bit annoying.

If you still wish to go there, please stop just with the starters. Don’t even think about the main course as they were either uninteresting or bland. Go straight from starters to desserts. Not to mention the starters were pretty ordinary too…For 500Rs they could have offered us a bit more…Instead I would have happily visited McDonalds in City Centre nearby…Absolute Nightmare.

Please consider Barbeque Nation in T.Nagar…they are a million times better than these lot.

Share:

3.0

BBQ Nation wannabe

I visited this place with family and friends for a weekend dinner. And I must tell you that I was very excited after reading all the reviews on this site. But that was it. This place so reminds of you BBQ Nation (even the booking slots are similar) in type of food served. Just that the place is small and with the grill generating significant heat it can become discomforting especially if you are tagging kids along. Coming to the much hyped starters except for the falafel there is nothing discerningly arabic on the menu. I was excepting some nice arabic kebabs. There was no sherbet served even the mutton kebabs had to be asked for. But the quality of food served is really good. The main course is equally delectable and the biryani is a must. Overall a decent place but with the booze also missing it will always a remain a BBQ nation wannabe.

Share:

sugu88 - Burrp User

sugu88

2 Reviews

January 29,2011

4.0

I loved this place!!

I felt like I was in Dubai, I enjoyed the BBQ and the desserts, though there are not many elaborate main courses.

The service was good and overall its worth every penny

Share:

eatitout - Burrp User

eatitout

1 Reviews

January 23,2011

5.0

Overwhelming!!

Wat's common? - Getting to have dinner in an alternate restaurant when the one you like is crowded on a New Year's Eve.
Wat's annoying? - The same restaurant turning you away after cancelling your lunch booking giving power failure as a reason just 2 days after the first common incident.
Wat's OVERWHELMING? - The MD offering you a free lunch to compensate for the first 2 heart breaks and making it up handsomely scoring a 10/10.
I don't wanna compare this restaurant with any other as its unique in its own way. The food was exactly as I would like to have it. The Moroccan Grilled Chicken and the Mutton Shish Kabab made me go for them as my finishing dishes even after the desert.
The concept of on the table charcoal grill is well executed and the menu was good to keep me occupied for more than an hour with a fight between my hands and mouth aided by my taste buds.
Moroccan Grilled Chicken, Lemon Chicken tikka, Mutton Shish Kabab, Grilled Prawns, Grilled Fish, Lebanese Chicken Shawarma, Grilled mixed fruits, grilled baby potato, tandoori paneer, spicy rice balls, grilled mushrooms...all of them unlimited...
If there is really something which I would want them to improve is their main course (which I know many people don't even mind tasting after the starter feast)
keep it up Al Arab !!!
I will go there quite often...See you there soon :)

Share:

4.0

100 times better than BBQ nation

Worth every penny for the food and ambiance they provide... A must try for all BBQ lovers... Though the Desserts was pretty dissapointing

Share:

4.0

Follow suit....Exited

I followed here after learning, these are the guys who run Wild Amazon.... Amazing this grill food was! Only missing the booze here, man you gotta have the booze here! least beer!

Whew, came here another day with friends, and had a ball of a time, every grill was above expectation. They were fast, they were cool, they were courteous, they were rockin the sho!!

Food keeps me happy, good food, merry!

Share:

Awesome Food...

The Cool interiors welcome you with warmth....!
Smells good the minute you step in. I was not in any intention to try their Grills till the moment I entered, but the flavorful smell made my mind, and did not let me down!!

Just like BBq Nation, but this is pretty decent than their's. BBq nation is a let down the minute you are made to wait for an hour or so! Here the welcome is good, and the food smells and tastes wonderful.

Shawarma was superb. Friends who came with me enjoyed it to the core. Deserts can get better, look into this guys!

Overall, a bit expensive but food made up to it.!!
2 Cheers!! thumbs up....

Share:

parveen.sss - Burrp User

parveen.sss

3 Reviews

November 04,2010

4.0

BETTER THAN BBQ NATION

the grilled stuff here is better than bbq nation . here they dont pre grill too much like in bbq nation . i m also happy that it is halal for sure . it is better for families cos no alchohol.
the buffet is ok . nothing great.

Share:

Not Arab, Not Good!

The name is a hoax. This is a restaurant claiming to be Arab, serves so-called grilled meat but lamb is absent. All we get are poorly marinated prawn, fish and chicken. The hummus is too thick and flavorless (I make better hummus at home following internet recipes). The buffet is is a cheat. No middle-eastern or Mediterranean dishes. The label reads Dal Makhni, but its yellow dal. The naans were ok, but seriously, if that's what I wanted to eat, why would I go to a restaurant called El Arab. Stop cheating people. And if you can't do that, at least serve food with some taste. Get your act together or shut down. Stop wasting the space you are occupying. Let a real restaurant take a shot.

Share:

gudolfudee - Burrp User

gudolfudee

8 Reviews

September 02,2010

3.0

need microscope

Nice Contemporary interiors.

Buffet similar to bbq nation, tiny, cook yourself/pre-cooked kebabs which need a microscope to find, especially the baby aloo was literally in the size of a Pea!

The shawarma was good, main course was decent but not great. Desserts... nothing to comment, except I al most lost my front tooth trying to bite the rubbery/elastic donut.

The manager said who welcomed us said "For the 1st time in India, we are introducing a Full rotisserie chicken!" (like sun tv movie ads...) sadly, we never got it, until my friend reminded of it when we were having desert, we still asked, then they brought like 2 to 3 cut pieces while we were eagerly waiting for a FULL chicken, (we were told Full chicken! hmmm)

I had to wait for 15 mins for my breads...
Seriously guys, theres a lot of room for improvement in service and the quantity of Starters for the Whopping price of Rs525 plus tax for your buffets

Share:

3.0

MUST BE HALAL

i have been to wild amazon .the food was decent.
i am quite sure that al arab and wild amazon are halal restaurants because i know it is owned by a pious muslim

Share:

momisms - Burrp User

momisms

1 Reviews

August 28,2010

1.0

Halal food not served

As I come from Muslim community, I seriously search for a restaurant serving Halal foods in the city. Unfortunately Al Arab fails in this aspect. They do not serve Halal foods. I came to know this when I contacted them on phone. I suggest if restaurants in the city come forward to truly serve Halal foods, both the restaurant and the community will benefit out of it. Hope people in concern will consider. And the restaurant which serves Halal foods should come out with Halal Tag in their ads so as to enable this community to track them.

Share:

Kushal  - Burrp User

Kushal

3 Reviews

August 28,2010

2.0

long way to go...

I went into Al Arab today expecting an amazing lunch and i couldn't have been more wrong :(

first the positives: the staff here are very very friendly and make sure that you are totally comfortable and are always at hand to help u with anything u need...
and of course the ambiance. of course, when ur paying abt 500 bucks per head for a lunch buffet, the ambiance better be good...
and this is where the positives end.

the only thing Arabic abt this place were the clothes the waiters were wearing...

Al Arab has got a LLLLLLLOOOOONNNNGGGGG way to go in terms of food which was ordinary, extremely ordinary. not something u wud expect after paying this kind of money. The charcoal grill placed on the table reminded me of another barbecue restaurant in T.Nagar.. The grilled meats tasted exactly the same.. they were precooked and brought to the table to be placed on the grill, and invariably they ended up getting burnt. The prawns were more like shrimps and u'll need a pair of glasses to spot them cos they're sooo tiny. But i should say that the chicken was very soft and tender.

In an arabic restaurant, the two best things u wud expect to eat are the grilled chicken and a shawarma.. sadly these 2 were the biggest disappointments at Al Arab; the grilled chicken had absolutely no flavour and the shawarma was bitter. Sea Shell in nungambakkam is abt a thousand times better and a lot cheaper. Seriously, i have not tasted anything better than the grilled chicken at seashell. The Kaboos here was more of a pappad than a kaboos.

There was a wide spread of dishes as part of the buffet, and i tried out the Lucknowi gosht biryani and the ambur gosht biryani, and as expected these two tasted more or less similar, with the ambur biryani having a little bit more flavour than the former.

Oh and curd rice was available as a part of the buffet and was placed on the buffet table. Whoever heard of curd rice being arabic???!!!!

The desserts were a lot better than the actual meal (though this may have had something to do with my love of all things sweet)
the donuts were too good, and i hogged on them. There was also benarasi kheer (=O) as part of the dessert and it was actually very very good. The usual suspects of any dessert table like ice cream, gulab jamuns, cake, brownies, etc were present as well.

Overall, Al Arab has GOT TO improve on its food. It was a huge huge disappointment, and if you are planning on going there for lunch, don't keep your expectations too high.

Share:

Close X