Sign in With Your Burrp Id!

Username

Password

Or Sign in using
Register With Burrp!

Username

Password

Confirm password

Email Address

Gender

Date of Birth

SHARE THIS PAGE

Or Send Details Via SMS

+91

Indian mobileS or fixed wireless
numbers only

Home/mumbai/Bungalow 9

Bungalow 9

Bandra WestWestern Suburbs  

3.9

103 Reviews / 96 Ratings

Your rating

Menu

Gallery



Bungalow 9 Reviews

Food

Music

Service

Ambience

Price

GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY

It is premium price but the food and service lives upto the expectation. All the servings were awesome. The same goes for their live oven baked thin crust pizza in the maincourse. The ambiance is also good. .I would definitely like to visit again. Thanks

Share:

September 10, 2014response from the bungalow91:

Thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to hosting you soon :)

Food

Music

Service

Ambience

Price

Great Ambience!

Had been there on Valentine's Day this year,The Place is posh cool and looks great,Good is not bad but quantity is less,A bit on the expensive side but a great place to enjoy with friends or a DATE.

Share:

September 10, 2014response from the bungalow91:

Dear Abhishekj1985, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to inform you that we have refreshed our menu & now have a variety of gourmet food at a suitable prices. Do visit again!

Food

Music

Service

Ambience

Price

Mixed Bag

We had a six course meal here. Three of the courses were very good. The soup, appetizer- Amus Bouche was different with an open tart filled with potato tossed in a tangy sauce topped with some fine fried noodles for garnishing. The lemon soup was excellent. Falafel sliders and dim sums were the saving grace. The Gnocchi was decent as was the Thai curry. The desserts though were a complete let down. The chocolate Fondant was not hot enough with a center that was not gooey. The Baileys ice cream was sticky and seemed like it had gone bad. The service was very poor at first with the server being bored and so tired that he almost did not want us there. A subtle word to the manager to get better waiting staff who can please us. The ice-cream was sticky and bad in taste figuratively and literally! Ambiance was great outdoors but warm for this season. The indoor seating was a little dreary and a tad too noisy. A good place having potential to be great only if they undergo some revamping! Chef Ramsay Gordon are you listening?...they can use your help here.

Share:

September 10, 2014response from the bungalow91:

Dear Rudreshfoodie, Thank you for your feedback. Regret your experience was not per expectation.
We wish to inform you that we have refreshed our menu. Do visit again & give us an opportunity to serve you better.

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

fine dine

It is premium price but the food and service lives upto the expectation.We had ordered fish, prawns and their signature salad, along with soup and drinks. All the servings delighted us. Likewiseis the case for their live oven baked thin crust pizza in the maincourse. And while this visit was devoid of deserts, my experience from previous experience was quite pleasant.I would definitely like to visit again. Thanks

Share:

September 10, 2014response from the bungalow91:

Dear closetcouture, Thank you for the positive feedback. We would be thrilled to host you again; do come by to try our refreshed menu with friends & family.

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Expensive with poor Service

Had been here few months back with friends..... ambiance is quite romantic and good for Date,,,, but poor service, expensive food and top of that they don't have variety on their menu... good for one time visit only because of the elegance of this place.....

Share:

September 10, 2014response from the bungalow91:

Dear Piyu16916, we regret your experience was not per expectation. We wish to inform you that we have refreshed our menu so do come by & give us an opportunity to serve you again.

Sonam Bajaj - Burrp User

Sonam Bajaj

1 Reviews

February 16,2014

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

worst service ever

Worst dining experience ever..came on valentine's day... had booked a table and reached around 10:20pm..ordered food around 10 35pm...was made to wait for 1 and a half hour and then got ONLY SOUP at 11.55pm..at 12am I was given main course directly...starters were not served and the main course order was WRONG...........ruined my day and night and then the manager did not even apologise... I finally walked out at 12:10am...will NEVER ever come to your restaurant again...terrible experience....worst worst experience EVER

Share:

September 10, 2014response from the bungalow91:

Dear Pranks7, the entire team of Bungalow 9 sincerely apologizes for having displeased you. Please give us another opportunity to make it up to you.

shal24 - Burrp User

shal24

2 Reviews

February 06,2014

3.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Great Ambience

Been to this place for number of times and always enjoyed. Good place for some fun evening with friends. I quite like the ambience and staff is also polite. They have vivid range of cocktails, not necessarily all will suit one's palate but still worth giving a shot. Menu is not very elaborate but really liked their pizzas. Pricing is on the higher side with nominal portions. I would definitely like to visit again. Thanks

Share:

September 10, 2014response from the bungalow91:

Dear shal24, Thank you for the feedback. We wish to inform you that we have refreshed our menu so do come by with family & friends

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

"Oonchi dukan feeke pakwaan" = NO Value for Money

No quantity.. No quality... No standard... No ambience... Just big numbers on the menu for petite portions.
This place is a total NO NO for people with real craving for unique ambience or just authentic / tasty food.
Also, if you are a ICICI card holder, they will not give you the 15% discount mentioned on the ICICI website.

Share:

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

annoyed

Had a real bad experience with bungalow9 some months ago. Would blame the management of this restaurant who did a wrong transaction of sum Rs. 2500 bucks. So much so when inquired regarding the same, they turned a deaf ear. Guys strongly recommended how soever good the experience must be.. fooling the customers with the money is a big crime on ur part!!

Share:

January 30, 2014response from the bungalow91:

Dear supriya_mongra,
Regret we do not have any record of this incident. Request you to please contact our General Manager Joe Sequeira (9769899938 / joe@bungalow9.in) so he may look into this matter & resolve it immediately.
Warm Regards,
Team Bungalow 9

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Great pizzas!

I have been to bungalow 9 a couple of times. I like the pizzas here.
It is a good place to chill with your friends. Its dark and provides good ambiance for candle light dinners. So good place to go for a romantic evening as well.
All the food is generally good and the staff is friendly.

Share:

January 24, 2014response from the bungalow91:

Dear Arty_Murarka,
Thank you for the review. You have written positively about your experiences at Bungalow 9 & have complimented the ambience, yet you have given us 2 stars (Poor rating) Any particular reason as to why your rating isn't consistent with your comments? We would love to hear from you. Please do us the honour of writing back with your feedback / comments on manager@bungalow9.in

Thank you for your valuable time.

Warm Regards,
Team Bungalow 9

January 30, 2014response from the Arty_Murarka:

Hello,
I had rated this 3 stars actually.
An average rating more because of personal food preferences than what was there to offer.
I cannot edit my review any longer however if I could I would rate it three stars.

5.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

nice

basic food.. nyc place.. good for couples .. good ambience.. delicious food.. nyc fondue.. a bit dull place.. need to lighten up d place... basic food.. nyc place.. good for couples .. good ambience.. delicious food.. nyc fondue.. a bit dull place.. need to lighten up d place... basic food.. nyc place.. good for couples .. good ambience.. delicious food.. nyc fondue.. a bit dull place.. need to lighten up d place...

Share:

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Lunch

Visited the place for lunch last year.Not many options for a vegeterian.Good food but very pricey though.

Share:

3.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Lovely place, bit pricey though.

Really good food and ambiance, shame its so expensive though.
The wood-fired pizzas are delicious as are the appetizers.
On recommendation of the server, we also tried the lovely Sangria which set the mood for the evening. :)
The staff is warm and attentive. What strikes you most about this place though is the ambiance. Its the perfect setting for a romantic date if your pockets are deep enough. ;)

Share:

Leena Shoor - Burrp User

Leena Shoor

1 Reviews

November 17,2013

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good food, not so good drinks !

Went on Friday to entertain some visiting colleagues. Ordered a pitcher of white wine Sangria. Was terribly sweet and syrupy, all juice no wine. Will never order it again.
Prawn risotto was good, chorizo pasta was too salty, tomatoes. Dim sums were decent.
Service very ordinary.

Share:

4.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Amazing Continental Food

I have been to this twice & the food always leave me salivating. The restaurant is built in a bungalow hidden in one of the lazy by-lanes of bandra. The restaurant boasts of a wood fired oven which prepares some of the most lovely pizzas. There is an option of indoor / outdoor seating, indoor is preferable due to the heat. The menu boast of some really yummy food such as salmon, lamb, etc, however the price does match the quality.

Service is good

Share:

November 12, 2013response from the bungalow91:

Dear Boomtangboy,

Your comments put a smile on our face :) As a sign of appreciation, we would like to offer you a complimentary appetizer and beverage on your third visit to Bungalow 9.
Please write to joe@bungalow9.in with your contact details.

Warm Regards,
Team Bungalow 9

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Perfect place for a date

If you are looking to take your special someone on a classy and intimate date, then bungalow 9 is a place to go. A perfect ambiance with light music and ample of space for each table.
The food is good and adds to the place's plus points. The choco bomb is a must-try!!
Totally recommended for all people looking for a nice and classy dating location :)

Share:

November 12, 2013response from the bungalow91:

Dear Harshit,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to have made your experience at Bungalow 9 special.
The next time you bring your special someone to Bungalow 9, we would like to offer you a complimentary welcome drink.
Warm Regards,
Team Bungalow 9

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Romantic dinner for two!!!

Reminded me of few restaurants of Goa.. the outside is nice and pleasant giving you the experience of enjoying your food in the woods.. candle light, water fall. Though mumbai temperature may hinder your pleasant experience ..
The inside is more of a drawing room of a bungalow converted into a restaurant.. i would personally prefer the out side as there is more privacy..

The food is simply Great.. Try the tacos and the thin crust pizza.. great taste and good service.. the staff is warm and friendly and you need not wait long for your food to come on the table.

Share:

August 28, 2013response from the bungalow91:

Dear vkvasudev,
We are glad you had an enjoyable time at Bungalow 9 & do hope to see you again. Stay tuned with all our updates on www.facebook.com/pages/Bungalow-9/160957307420927
Warm Regards,
Team Bungalow 9

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

naaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh

went here with a lot of expectations...the place made with nice taste...very good interiors and ambiance but very average food and service and way tooo expensive...would not want to go again...

Share:

4.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

A great experience

The ambience of the restaurant is brilliant and vibrant. The food is equally good with the italian cuisine being spectacular. I'm hardly ever disappointed while visiting and usually head home with a smile on my face.

Share:

One of the best restaurant

This place serves great food accompanied with a great ambiance.I went there twice in a period of 1 month, and won't hesitate to go again. The service was excellent, and the recommendations for first timers was very good.

Share:

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Below avg. food & expensive

Very avag. Food.
They gave a table on 1st floor and the crowed was also bad
Totally no no

Share:

3.0

home dine

My favorite resto but a quite expensive this place is so quite and amazing. you will feel like you are in heaven. Amazing service and the quality of food is really well maintained. This bungalow shape resto will really impress you.

Share:

Bungalow 9

The risotto was excellent, Khow Suey was rich with flavours and was outstanding. loved the stuffed chicken wings and the Lamb peattentive.It’s a quiet place with no musicri peri. Ambience -feels like its an old bungalow Service -staff is very courteous

Share:

5.0

Bunglow 9 - A Must Visit

I recently visited bunglow 9, my friends have been raving about it since a very long time. There is a wide range of alcohol available. The food was brilliant, a special mention of the risotto which was just right, the tiramisu is a must have and so are the varieties of cheese cakes. the weather has been superb lately which added to the amazing ambiance at bunglow 9. It is a couples delight to enjoy a romantic meal at this place. And finally last but not the least the people at bunglow 9 were very warm and welcoming.

Share:

parodb1 - Burrp User

parodb1

1 Reviews

February 08,2013

5.0

A Splendid Experience

I visited Bungalow 9 with my husband a few months ago and was left enthralled by the service at this home away from home! It was my first outing after marriage and very special in its own little way! The staff was so welcoming and warm...they recommended some starters which we tried and liked. Infact, we also called for the chef and complimented him on how delicious the food was! Bungalow 9 has the most well-mannered staff ever!! Thank you for the excellent service guys you made it a day to remember for me and my spouse!

Share:

csfun123 - Burrp User

csfun123

1 Reviews

February 08,2013

5.0

Ambience is class

I loooooooooved this place! Bungalow 9 has never failed to impress! The food is brilliant and so are the cocktails! I loved the Sangria...and the starters were soooo juicy and succulent! I love the variety in desserts. I will keep going back to this place! ultimately what one wants and needs is good service and a complete experience. This is exactly what i got at Bungalow 9. I was all smiles from the time i entered the place right until i left!

Share:

5.0

A Splendid Experience!

Bungalow 9 has got to be one of the most satisfying experiences i have ever had with regard to the food, ambiance, staff and to some extent, even the pricing!

From the time i entered the place, I was treated so well The staff is so pleasant and welcoming! I was there with my family and we go out rarely. We ordered for some Khousuey among other food items. I totally fell in love with the Khousuey as it happens to be one of my favourite foods. I also loved the stuffed chicken wings and the thin crust pizza. The variety of desserts is also commendable and i would like to make a mention of the cheese cake and the brownie! A.W.E.S.O.M.E!

When i called for the cheque, i expected to see an exorbitant amount as we got carried away with the service and the amazing flavours and kept asking for more! But, the bill amount was worth every penny and I felt happy that i made the right choice of venue for a quiet family dinner!

All-in-all, I love this place and will recommend it to anyone that loves some peace and quiet coupled with smiling faces, good service and ultimately, amazing food!

Share:

davjo59 - Burrp User

davjo59

1 Reviews

February 02,2013

1.0

Terrible food and bad service

I went looking for international food and made the mistake of the entering this place on Feb1, my wedding aniiversary !!!!!.
I had ordered Lamb peri peri - yes it is a hot dish, but in bungalow, they made it like a lamb masala, yes the lamb pieces were chopped into one inch cube.The overpowering aroma of the Indian spices was unmistakable. When I asked the chef, why he put indian masala in this portugese dish ( I had first eaten this in Lisboa), he had no answer. The waiters very apologetic and offered me some water and a scoop of vanilla ice cream (the cheapest) to cool my tongue.
Terrible place and best avoided.

Share:

moonrover - Burrp User

moonrover

1 Reviews

February 01,2013

1.0

Food Quality = Average; Portions = Microscopic

Having a meal/drink at this place leaves you feeling totally cheated.

My review is based on 6-7 visits; out of which just the 1st one was out of my own choice. The rest were office outings; where most people voted for this place ONLY because it was closest to their homes out of the options.

You enter the place thinking - Well, this looks nice! And then its all downhill..

The service is horribly slow and waiters make you feel like they're doing you a favour for everything. The quality of food is definitely NOT upto the standard and prices you're paying - it is average at best! The portions are minuscule to say the least. The chef is totally NOT ready for any constructive criticism whatsoever! There's not much depth in any particular cuisine offered.

I am definitely NEVER going back anymore.

The word of mouth has had its impact already.. Almost all my friends/relatives and their friends have heard the same things and are all not going there EVER!

Share:

5.0

Best if your looking for something International

Best if your looking for something International if your near bandra bandstand or bandra reclamation road, many variety of juices and food such as pizzas,meat and alcohol to be munched on ,if lucky you will spot on many celebs hanging around here during weekends.i managed to see many such as ranbir kapoor ,sonam kapoor ,lara dutta and boman irani

Share:

December 26, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Dear Delmer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the fact that you have tried a number of our meal courses & cocktails and in doing so your are another one of our treasured patrons. Thank you for coming back to dine with us.We take a great deal of effort to ensure that we maintain a certain standard. We firmly believe that its not just about a meal but more about the overall experience at Bungalow 9. We promise to maintain the same quality in the future as well. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

5.0

Lovely food!

I should tell you that I am flattered by the food at Bungalow 9. The risotto was excellent, but the Khow Suey was simply outstanding! But what blew me away was their Salted Chocolate Ice Cream! I ended up having another serving of this!! Love the place and love the service too! :)

Share:

December 19, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Dear Santoshri,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you an a pleasant dining experience with us at Bungalow 9. We take a great deal of effort to ensure that we maintain a certain standard. We firmly believe that its not just about a meal but more about the overall experience at Bungalow 9. Bee it the drinks & cocktails, the service and simply the food, We promise to maintain the same quality in the future as well. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Regards,

Team Bungalow9

ajeeta19 - Burrp User

ajeeta19

7 Reviews

September 24,2012

5.0

One of new Favorites

Just as you enter the place you are staggered by the amount of space the restaurant has, in the middle of Bandra! Agree with some reviews that sitting inside can be given a miss - while the decor is inspired by old (army) bungalows, but i think it has been left half baked, looking too sparse and cold. The seating outside is very intimate and in this weather a true pleasure.
The food - Oh the food!! Had the goat's cheese risotto which was out of this world. Amazingly smooth and creamy. Also had the baked ricotta and tomato stuffed manicotti -the polenta and pomodoro sauce it was served with was really really yummy.
The dessert menu is pretty large and the description of the homemade icecreams is too tempting. Had the madagascar chocolate one and it was truly decadent. Also had the pannacotta and it was the best i have tasted in Mumbai.
Overall, amazing food. And by the way, the chef actually comes out of the kitchen and helps patrons with suggestions on what to order etc. Nice touch.

Share:

December 19, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Dear Ajeeta,
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you had a good dining experience with us. Being a Fine Dine, we strive hard to maintain a high standard that ensures our esteemed customers are well taken care off even it means our executive chef coming out to personally suggest items to our patrons. We firmly believe that its not just about a meal but more about the overall experience at Bungalow 9. We promise to maintain the same quality in the future as well. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Team Bun

A S - Burrp User

A S

49 Reviews

September 22,2012

5.0

Wow, wow..love the place !!

Bungalow 9 is one of the most talked about place which we had not been able to try for last 2 years...what should I say :

1) Drinks - out of the world. Mojito toooo good. Has a very small wine selection but has Ca Bianca Gavi - day was made.

2) Food - tasty, tangy, soothing and healthy. Tried tofu and asparagus stuffed starters to garlic breads, margarita pizza (awesome) to pasta..everything mouth watering

3) Service - Omkar was good. very receptive and customer friendly. Prompt service.

4) Ambience - outside soaks you. Siting inside avoidable - decor more like some shaadi hall,

Above all, tooo good place,

Share:

December 19, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Dear Amit,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good dining experience with us. Being a Fine Dine, we strive hard to maintain a high standard that ensures our esteemed customers are well taken care off. We firmly believe that its not just about a meal but more about the overall experience. We promise to maintain the same quality in the future as well. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Team Bungalow9

luxurious dinning place

hi friends ...

I have been there on 26th august 2012. my fried treated us.The ambiance is too cool and luxurious and feels like its an old bungalow but they have made it so well. each room is utilized to its best......the upper floor room is buffey and has simply lovely music......the place is good and the service is too good and ya the food is continental. you do get jain dishes but they are very expensive ...but friends do visit it once.Its worth making a hole in your pocket...i had best time music,food and dance .
go wid ur spl once to feel her/he best....

Share:

September 3, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Dear Meeta,
Thank you for the kind words, we are glad that you liked us. We promise to maintain same quality in future as well. Looking forward to serve you again.

Regards,
Team Bungalow9

Nice Place

Had been there on a Sunday evening and was extremely pleased with the ambience.The food was amazing although I prefer the outer seating service was quick and the manager is helpful in a making the right selection

Share:

August 16, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Dear Savir,
Thanks for writing the review, we are glad to know that you liked us. Looking forward to serve you again.
Regards,
Team Bungalow9

Great Ambiance but Average Food...

The Rating Stands @ 6.5/10
Food: 7/10

Ambiance: 8/10

Value for Money: 6/10

Service: 5/10

Booking:
We honestly can’t figure out why aren’t restaurants responding to email reservations? Once again we had to write to multiple email id’s. First, as usual the website asked us to drop an email on reservations@bungalow9.in, with no response for hours we finally had to call the restaurant and now we are asked to drop the same email on manager@bungalow9.in, really weird that this is happening with practically most “High End” restaurants (Quattro Ristorante did the same thing).

Look & Feel:
Sadly the 1st floor area is only reserved for parties, so we were seated at the “Alfresco” area which actually means to dine in the open air also the word “Bungalow” gives you a semblance of a place where you would relax and unwind, sadly the chairs here dint resemble that at all, half the time you keep slipping and sliding.

On the brighter side it’s a quiet place and you won’t be bothered by blaring horns, indeed a couple’s delight!

The Food:


For all the reviews we read, the food was really average. We started with a lemon broth soup which did help my sour throat. Next up was a mocktail called “Innocent Passion” basically soda water with passion fruit plus a dash of cranberry & lemon juice which was neither good nor bad ( I could only take a sip, I hate Sour Throat )

Anyways, moving on to the main course, we first ordered Sushi and Raksha loved it, but somehow I felt it was just because she had it for the first time. I found it too very bland even for a sushi. We then decide to have lasagna, now this really saved the night for us. The creamy layer of cheese with a lot of vegetable stuffing managed to satiate our appetite.

Lovenallthat Verdict:
Visit the place with the thought of an experience rather than an eating joint and you won’t be disappointed.

Out of Pocket:
A meal for 2 would cost around Rs.2500 excluding alcohol.

Something New:
Every day is a new day at Bungalow no9, checkout the pictures of daily specials. Also the men’s urinal has ice cubes in it, gross? Well, we did find it weird.

Reaching the place:
Should be fairly easy for mumbaikars, from Bandra reclamation reach Leelavati, take a left from MET College and enter the lane to your left which is bang opposite the old Barista, within 200 meters you would find the restaurant on your left.

Share:

July 13, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Dear Raksha Karan,
Thank you for the descriptive review. We are glad that you took out time for writing the review. We strive to create a memorable experience for our guests. We apologize and regret that it wasn't upto your expectations. Also, in the future, you can make reservations through our Facebook page or via our Twitter handle @bungalow9bandra.

Regards,
Team Bungalow9

July 15, 2012response from the lovenallthat:

It would be great if the same information is also put up on your website, just makes life a little more easier.

Regards,
Raksha & Karan
lovenallthat

July 18, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Dear Raksha Karan,
Thank you for the suggestion, we will incorporate the same on our website.
Regards,
Team Bungalow9

3.0

Just Good Food !!!

We had been to Bunglow 9 on my husband's birthday last week. The food was awesome but for the quantity on the plate is very highly priced. We had a confirmed reservation for a table at 10 PM but when we reached there, we were informed that the seating is not given at 10. So had to wait outside for almost half an hour to forty minutes after which we were led to the seating inside the restaurant which was very noisy with guests talking and NO MUSIC... Just barren room with 5 large tables. All said and done, Just the food was great.

Share:

June 28, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Hi Yas501a, Thank You for your Feedback about Bungalow 9. We strive to create a wonderful experience for all our guests.We are sorry to have disappointed you but we assure you that it wasn't deliberate. We will make sure that such kind of behaviour is not repeated. Hope to see you again at Bungalow 9.
Regards,
Team Bungalow9

5.0

one of my most memorable & romantic experiences!

Just been to Bungalow 9 yesterday on my wife's birthday (after reading several positive reviews on Burrp.) I had booked a table (in the open area) in advance and asked them to get a flower bouquet and some candles for my wife...

Our experience was truly magical... The ambiance is very romantic. It's a perfect setting to dine with your beloved and have some lovely conversations.

The staff is very courteous and attentive.

The food is simply awesome... Enough options for vegetarians... Even the presentation is really nice...

Though expensive, the experience was totally worth it...

Highly recommend this place to all couples!

Share:

June 21, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Hi Anks7711, We are glad that you had a great time with your wife at Bungalow9. We strive on creating a wonderful experience for our guests and hope that we manage to achieve that. Thank you for your kind words, we promise to maintain the same quality in the future too.

Regards,
Team Bungalow9

amazzzzziiiinnnnnnnggg

words cant explain how awesome bungalow 9 is...............super stuff

Share:

June 21, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Hi Kerpi, We are glad you liked us!Looking forward to serve you again.

Regards,
Team Bungalow9

Review by a poor vegetarian!!

The most awesome place i have been to in the recent past...yesterday was the second time and i am in love. Ambiance, food , service all are excellent. Tried the Dimsum, FLT wrap, Tomato soup and ravioli till date. Special mention for IBRAHIM who willl guide you on what to order..just tell your taste. and GOPAL is the most polite Steward who always serves you with a smile.

Bottom line a must vist and worth every penny.

Cheers to the management!!

Share:

July 4, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Dear Krishnan,
We are glad you liked us and had great time. Thank you for your kind words, we promise to maintain the same quality in the future too. Looking forward to serve you again.
Regards,
Team Bungalow9

A gastronomique experience

Truly gastronomique.........
Had a privilage to gorge on exquisite "USDA Prime" Wagyu beef rib eye steak- amazing, was glazed with a beautiful Jack Daniels whisky glaze, done a perfect medium and served with buttery Parmesan mash. Incidental only about four percent of American beef is graded as "Prime" beef. Also had a perfectly grilled "Black snapper fillet which tasted very fresh even though it comes from the Pacific ocean, and will never regret it which was served incidentally with an unctuous rich lobster essence- heavenly. The khao suey was rich and full of the flavours of curry and coconut milk with an assortment of toppings- well done. I also did have the opportunity to try their baby back "Dutch spare ribs" which the very experienced chef had braised in their own home made barbeque sauce that was a far call from the ready made barbeque suaces available elsewhere, the meat was falling off the bone-literally-superb again. They have a very talented kitchen brigade who know what they are doing and I guess it is one of the best places to go to in Mumbai, if you really love exquisite food, know what good international food is all about ( don't confuse it with overtly spiced and rich Indian food which comes in copious quantities which you share with your fellow diners) Please go with an open mind and understand the food, which I think is very good. I can say this with some faith, as I have traveled around the world in the capacity of a chef and worked with a lot of expatriate chefs some of them from world class hotels.

Share:

July 4, 2012response from the bungalow91:

Hi Indraneel,
Thank you for your kind words and we truly appreciate your effort of writing such a wonderful review. We attempt on achieving highest quality of food standard and strive to create international dining experience for our guests. Looking forward to serve you again.
Regards,
Team Bungalow9

woodyallen - Burrp User

woodyallen

2 Reviews

February 27,2012

5.0

Dripping atmosphere

This place will go places.

Top marks for food, service and ambiance.

Ideal not to go in a group larger than six. The tables outside can seat max six and this place is really all about the outside!

The fresh portobello mushrooms were a delight and the pizza are excellent.

The real standout though, was the madagascar chocolate ice-cream with olive oil and rosemary. Must have.

The service was attentive but unobtrusive. Perfect.

Ask for a table away from the road if you don't want to hear honking.

Share:

4.0

Fabulous!!! but watch your pocket . . . !!!

This place is very tastefully done, very uncluttered and that gives you a sense of space (thats a luxury in Mumbai). The seating style is very comfortable, the lighting is elegant and the place immediately helps you relax and gives you a sense of a pleasant evening ahead. Food is good, starters could be better, service is prompt. You should definitely try their pizzas. But, overall heavy on the wallet. If you are looking for a place that will allow you a quiet evening and lots of conversations with your partner of friends, then this is an ideal place.

Share:

Expensive but beautiful!

To me fine dining is not just about the ambience, service, presentation and prices. If the food (quantity & quality) is not good, it beats the purpose of eating out entirely. I was invited to try Bungalow 9 with a friend and here’s what I thought of it.

Food- Bungalow 9 is known for their Italian, Continental and Asian food and after seeing the mixed reviews on Burrp, I decided that the best way to find out is by calling for my favourite dish- pizza! We called for a classic cheese pizza with sundried tomatoes, goat cheese and American corn as the toppings. It was perfectly cooked in the wood fire oven and tasted amazing! I did want to have ketchup (out of habit) with it even though not needed but resisted the urge to do so. Then we tried the Grilled vegetable Lasagna which my friend didn’t like at all but I thought it was ok. The cheesy part on top was good but too many vegetables made it a little boring. We called for two fresh lime sodas which were good. For dessert, I was dying to try their Grand Marnier Chocolate volcano (Freshly baked cake crust with gooey chocolate inside and a scoop of ice cream on the side) which was just superb! Eating that is an experience in itself and something you just can’t miss! So, in terms of food, the presentation is perfect, the quality and quantity is excellent! We were super full by the end of it.

Ambiance- Located at Bandra west, near Lilavati hospital, Bungalow 9 is actually a bungalow in the middle of several others. The moment you enter, you’ll find yourself ‘wow’ing a lot. While making the reservation itself, I had chosen to sit in the outside section and I was glad I did so! With dim lights, a rustic yet classy look, comfortable seating, lovely plants and chic furniture, Bungalow 9 looks beautiful! I’d totally recommend it for a romantic date or a classy dinner with someone special. I wouldn’t say the same about the inside section though. It reminds me of a club where families can sit together and eat.

Service- Efficient and prompt would describe the service in two words at Bungalow 9. They took good care of us.

Prices- Bungalow 9 is all about the experience and for that, there is a price to pay. Yes it is expensive and not a place you can go to for a regular dinner unless your credit cards give you that liberty. The pizzas start at Rs. 525, the Lasagna is for Rs. 575, Chocolate Volcano is for Rs. 575 excluding taxes. So you’d end up spending a minimum of Rs. 1000 per head without alcohol.

Verdict- If you’re thinking of where to go with someone special for a cosy and romantic dinner, Bunaglow 9 is the place for you! Try it atleast once for the experience even if it means having just a pizza or one dish from the menu.

Share:

a_neha81 - Burrp User

a_neha81

3 Reviews

January 06,2012

4.0

Excellent but Exorbitant!

Love the ambiance, food & hospitality but too exorbitantly priced!

Share:

4.0

Just the Right Place!!

Awesome place to celebrate the most auspicious occasions of your life!!!
Great Food, Mesmerizing Ambiance, Cordial Service and all that you need to make your evening perfect...

Share:

4.0

An old-world charm in the heart of modernism.

Bungalow 9: What drew me to this restaurant is the name. Where do we find bungalows in mumbai. I loved the homely feel and settled down immediately. The pots on the shelves reminded me of my Granny's place in Bihar,where these were used to make Pickles then kept in the sun to be preserved for a year at least...my mouth is watering at the thought. Being a photography enthusiast i was delighted to find old photos of Ban-Ganga Tank, Bombay Club, Eros Theater, Elphinstone College, general post office, Crawford market, raja bai tower, bombay railway, bori bunder station all looking magnificent and almost wished i was born in the 1940's and soak in the architectural as well as natural beauty that Bombay had to offer.The service is friendly and although the food is in small portions, is tasty. They don't allow you to do 1/2 of your soup. Oh well it's an experience not to be missed.

Share:

4.0

Good Experience

Excellent food, very good menu, very tastefully done up place, worth the price but very slow service

Share:

4.0

Super Food

Good food, super service and what a beautiful place! it was much better than what i expected.

Share:

Rip Off!!!

Yeah.... "What is Rip-off" - This phrase came to mind once we saw the quantity, and tasted, every dish that came to the table ....

Nice Ambiance... I really liked the idea of bungalow being converted into a restaurant....Even the outdoor seating decor was nice

The service was prompt & attentive... even obliging, if I may add...

I liked the alcohol menu... A long list of Single Malts... Superbly expensive, though... I've seen way cheaper rates at similar places..

Given the rather steep prices, miserable quantity and STRICTLY LOW quality, I give it 3 Stars, and wouldn't recommend it...

Share:

November 3, 2011response from the bungalow9:

Dear Guest,

Thank You for your Feedback about Bungalow 9. We strive on creating a wonderful experience for all our guests and are glad to know that you liked our Ambience, Service and the Alcohol menu.
We would like to mention that at Bungalow 9 we attempt on achieving highest quality of food standard. We use the most fresh and high quality ingredients to prepare our food and want our guests to experience the international way of dining.
We are sorry to have disappointed you but we assure you that it wasn’t deliberate. Hope to

Pandora83 - Burrp User

Pandora83

1 Reviews

October 16,2011

1.0

An expensive way to ruin your evening

We went to Bungalow 9 expecting to have good food in a great ambiance and generally have a lovely evening. Did that happen? No! While the ambiance is nice, the dining experience peaks there and then nose dives till your evening is left in tatters. The management claims the food is "fine dining", which only goes to prove that neither the management nor the chef has ever eaten in a good restaurant and clearly considers Shiv Sagar to be the benchmark of food standard. They also use this "reason" to justify their portion sizes, which are only enough if you plan to go somewhere else to eat your meal (which we had to, despite ordering a staggering 16 dishes between 9 people). You'd think that if you ever ran a restaurant and a customer pointed this situation out to you, you'd have the shame and decency to do something about it. No such luck! The management has their heads so far up their you-know-what, they not only refused to even acknowledge this problem, but were ridiculously arrogant and rude to us. The pedestrian quality of the food gives an unprecedented meaning to the term "fine dining" and I suppose if Bungalow 9 can call their food that, the Chinese thelewala could also call his triple schezwan that.

And the best part, after all this (which included the pleasure of dealing with wrong orders being sent to us, dealing with incompetent waiting staff and explaining our problems to two managers and the "chef"), they had the gall to charge us 10% service charge on the bill!

I've been to plenty of Michelin starred restaurants in my life (which serve real fine dining food) and have had more quantity served to me there. I'm not sure who they have based their "individual" portioning on, but it was certainly not human.. maybe a chihuahua on a diet?

All in all, terrible experience. You have been warned: if you still want to go to Bungalow 9, kill your taste buds and make arrangements to eat a meal before or after your visit.

Share:

November 3, 2011response from the bungalow9:

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking so much time and effort to write about your experience at Bungalow 9.But we would like to inform you that statements made by you stands untrue.

We would like to remind you of few simple facts that it was a table of 13 and not 9, though the cumulative dishes ordered were 16. We would like to mention the break up of it, which were 10 appetizers and ONLY 6 main courses. Our food is individually portioned and we always suggest that it should not be shared.
Since you have already dined at Michel

varsht32 - Burrp User

varsht32

1 Reviews

October 12,2011

4.0

Loved the foood, ambience, everything...

Awesome food, international standards, amazing plating and tastes awesome...just little bit heavy on the pocket so you can probably visit when you are in a mood to have a lavish and a royal dinner.

Truly an international experience... A must go to Bungalow 9

Share:

manipp19 - Burrp User

manipp19

1 Reviews

August 24,2011

2.0

no no for foodies.....

Ambiance is just amazing, the whole idea of converting a massive bungalow into a restaurant is great specially because they have retained the rooms inside..!

But that's about it....very limited menu and some of the things from the menu were also not available or discontinued...i guess people go for elaborate dinners on Saturday evenings but guess the waiters were in rush and just wanted to shoo us off.....Also food was nothing great, very very small portions (compared to our regular indian portions) and the taste was just about okay... pad thai noodles were really sad....Not worth the money....!!!!!!!!!

Share:

September 7, 2011response from the bungalow9:

Dear Sir,
Very sorry that we were short of your expectations,

1- Since we are a multicuisine restaurant we have variety of food from all around the world not just concentrate on one cuisine or one particular type of preparation (right from Vietnamese, Thai, Japanese to Continental & Mediterranean) but our menu does have a vast selection of varied items.
2- Since it’s a rainy season lot of seafood is not available or is of SUBSTANDARD QUALITY which we don’t want to serve in a Restaurant of our caliber.
3- As the guest righ

Great time spent

I visited this place with a group of college friends. It was just 7 30 pm and the ambiance was so great. We took our table on the outside where there are tables for 6. We spent a very relaxed time while catching up with each other. Me and my friends got some cocktails and juices, I must say there are some interesting variety of drinks offered here. We were stuffed and so did not indulge in to eating much but we still got ourselves a Thai Curry with Rice and some Thai noodles. Both were great. Though this place a very expensive it will be worth a visit.

Share:

2.0

Visit to watch Models not food

Management of Bungalow surely dont know that skimpily clad women dont drive a restaurant but food does ......Work on the food and not women wearing revealing clothes who know nothing about restaurant....

Share:

4.0

SUPERB

Bungalow 9 ! WOW !!!!!
A stunning time spent by us !! That too in such a heavy down pour……. A few choicest drinks enjoyed by the rains.. and a right mix of food that we wouldn’t have expected !! Seldom anyone can find in Mumbai….. DIVINE !!!

Share:

3.0

not for your taste buds

bungalow no 9 to begin with has got a great ambiance , a very nice outdoor and indoor seating and a atmosphere splendid enough to take your special one for a fine dine.

But sadly that ends just there , the service offered is just average and waiters are not well versed with the items on the menu. Adding to which the items on the menu are not in the layman terms and there is no notes as well as to the contents of the dishes . We ordered a bottle of wine and a veg starter ( curried feta fatyner with rosemano ) ...besides the curried feta i could not understand anything but on the waiters recommendation ordered it . as exotic the dish sounded it was just as average , it was like a normal veg potato puff which we get at any bakery and with no taste of feta at all. as the food was so overpriced for such average quality we decided not to let it go and called for the chef. the chef offered his explanation that the filling was feta and potato was mashed together and blah blah , we decide to let go the dish and decided to give the main course a try. we ordered a veg fettuccine and grilled vegetable chicken breast , both of which was very average.
for the the food that is so overpriced and for a high end restaurant , the food leaves a lot to be desired.

Share:

Gud place to hang around..

Good food + excellent ambiance + good music to Rock..

Share:

So much potential but falls flat...

Bungalow 9 has all the ingredients for a great restaurant. It has a great location in Bandra, the old bungalow that it is located in gives it a great atmosphere, the large space can accommodate large groups, the outdoor seating is pleasant when the weather is nice.

The big problem is that everything else is a complete tragedy at this restaurant. The food quality is poor and not authentic at all. The pad thai we ordered resembled hakka noodles with some sort of weird red sauce. The pizza was OK but not worth the prices they are charging. The service is generally lost most of the time and not helpful at all with recommendations on the dishes.

Overall, I was extremely disappointed in the two times that I have visited this restaurant. The owners and management clearly do not understand how to run a high end restaurant but they are charging prices as if they were one. It's a shame because the space has so much potential, but unless something dramatic happens I cannot see myself ever returning.

Share:

Ambiance is secondary - food is more important

Well to start with the ambiance - look and feel of the place is amazing, the concept and the set up is also good, But food is big let down, I found menu very limited and very weird (could not read names of most of the dishes – it is good to be different but at least keep options for regular food items too), We ordered some soup and it was yuck, pizza was strictly ok. And the bill as expected was overpriced. It spoiled the dinner dinner fun (actually my 6th month marriage anniversary celebration) and after spending so much our tummies were still growling and making weird noises, we actually had to satisfy them with some road side Sandwich.

I have a suggestion for the owner, dear sir since you have such an amazing place and location why don’t you make a bit changes in menu, if you feed people with good food they will keep coming else it will be just one time show. Hope you take it seriously.

Share:

Perfect for a lazy Sunday lunch.

The ambience is great: the renovated bungalow looks gorgeous and feels huge. There are overhead fans outside so it's not that hot, even in summer.
The food is excellent, nothing to complain about, the portions are nice and large.
Service was exemplary, not too intrusive but perfectly concerned. They have a bar that's open from 11 am to 12.30, and looks very promising... in the winter, the rooftop seating is going to be very cool. It makes a nice change from Salt Water Cafe just down the road.

Share:

Very Good Experience

Great food ... great ambiance ... went there twice in a period of 1 month, and won't hesitate to go again. The service was excellent, and the recommendations for first timers was very good.

Share:

Superb...Life Time Memorable Experience

i had been to bungalow 9 recently with my friends to watch the India-Pakistan Semi final's world cup match.We were 6 of us. I had the most wonderful time there. Superb place, amazing ambiance, very good service, good arrangement. All in all it was a perfect deal to strike. We got drunk by the end of the day. Friendly staff I must say . it is worth all the money and time….Let me not forget to mention my buddies Ankit Rungta, Ankit Hirawat, Kushal, Himanshu, Advait and of course me myself….

Share:

Great food and ambiance, average service

Excellent food, very good menu, very tastefully done up place, worth the price but very slow service

Share:

tyrune - Burrp User

tyrune

2 Reviews

April 05,2011

1.0

expensive and not worth it at all

I have visited a lot of places , and I writing a review the first time , reason being Bungalow 9 , I think I was expecting a lot as when I entered first the place looked really nice , the place was big,tables spread apart , really good furniture , once at the bar they have a good selection of wines and really nice wine glasses , this is about the best the place could offer , it was all down hill from here , the staff were not helpful or attentive , the food was not good at all , between 3 people we ordered a range of products I would say one worse than the other , the salad leaves looked dead , the risotto looked and tasted like gravy with rice and the steak was extra cooked , overall experience not a good one , and the most disappointing was the bill which way beyond even 5 star hotels , really disappointing !

Share:

An average experience

The good thing about this place is that it has a nice ambience especially the outside seating area.However thats about it.The service is average.The drinks and food are strictly average.For the prices they charge i was expecting more.Disappointment!

Share:

5.0

nice place, decent service

had been to this restaurant sometime back, finally got time to write about it. had been here with my husband. awesome ambiance, the place lights up my mood. the server Collin approaches me with a nice smile and presents me the menu, asks for my preference of water. We order our drinks, appetizers and main course together. drinks arrive and are appreciable. our appetizers arrive in other 10 mins or so... fried calamari is worth a choice, chicken kafta is awesome. then comes our main course. the khowsuey as suggested by the server is good. the vietname chicken is also good. then come the dessert as suggested by the server.... the chocolate volcano. takes a bit of time to come but is worth the wait. absolutely delectable. a great experience, the server was very polite and suggested the best, thanks Collin..... hope to visit soon.

Share:

1.0

AWFUL PLACE.... did not meet expectations

here i go to this place... bungalow 9... as i enter the ambience looks good... i get a table in the outer area. which is very difficult to get with much prior reservation. the staff at the desk seems to be a lot confused themselves; now to continue... i have a seat at my table. for the next 5 mins no one approaches me. when i ask for the menu. the server presents me menu n asks for water. i order a drink which takes another 10 mins to be served. for the price that they charge, the cocktail blackberry margarita fails to keep up to its reputation. i order my food which is again a disappointment coz it takes long to come, n then when i order my main course it takes another half an hour... presented very well but has only eye appeal, no taste appeal... overall an expensive place, charges almost the same as a 5 star deluxe hotel but is nowhere near to the standard. AWFUL EXPERIENCE

Share:

2.0

New cocktail in town: Old monk in glenmorangie!!!

So this is how it happened! I was having an old monk with Pepsi(i hate Pepsi with my old monk, but they only serve Pepsi :( ) and my friend was having a large Glenmorangie (400rs for a small). my drink gets over and I ask for another old monk. First the waiter takes forever to get my drink and then very sweetly he pours the old Monk in my friends drink. That too without asking!!! So here we discover the new cocktail!!!

The service overall is pathetic. Tooooo slow n messy!!! The food is Good but fails to make up for the level of service.

Our mistake, the bill came and we paid it without checking. Just when we are about to leave I go through the bill and my my... the guys had added the cocktail drink in our bill...

In total, the entire dinner which could have been done in 2 hours took some 3 hours...

If you looking for a nice open place and service does not bother you then its a decent place but for the rest.

Share:

2.0

Overpriced for quality of food

The menu throws you off - for the reputation and the price of the restaurant one would expect more focus and specialization in cuisine. There's a bit of Japanese, a bit of Burmese, a bit of grills, a bit of everything... They taste alright - nothing to write home about. The sea bass was definitely not worth the 1600 bucks we paid for it. It was bland and came with a dry piece of crab claw. What this restaurant has going in its favour is the outdoor seating, something we crave for in Bombay. Not sure that is reason enough to go back and pay exorbitant prices for though.

Share:

real good treat..

I was bound struck by all the aspects of this place. the supreme ambiance..the more than just attentive service and decent enough food...just gave me perfect reasons to have a good celebration...thank you so much. Special mention for sandeep and their managers amay and nikhil..thank you so much..

Share:

wonderful experience

i had no clue about this place..but its just too good..food is very nice, ambiance is amazing..its definitely worth a visit..you cant imagine a place like this in bandra..overall a 9/10 experience..

Share:

snm1981 - Burrp User

snm1981

69 Reviews

February 21,2011

2.0

let down

First the good things, the ambiance is gorgeous and they have not skimped , outside seating has the mosquitoes buzzing at your heels , but not much can they do about it.

Alcohol - sounded so great on the menu and so disappointing , they looked sad and tasted so so so average ... had the bellini.

- Thin crust pizza was average,again have had better ones at Celini and Don Giovanni since they charge about the same i would expect them to match the quality.

- Seafood pasta, three mussels, three prawns , a little squid and two scallops ... the mussels very delicately cooked , but the pasta was overcooked and drowned in a milk and saffron sauce .... very disappointing

Somewhere along the location , the decor, the service they missed the plot. the food is like an after thought. They need to up their game, Even mia cucina at a fraction of the price serves better food.

Share:

lagna.das - Burrp User

lagna.das

120 Reviews

February 18,2011

3.0

boring

This place absolutely charmed me in terms of its ambiance and service. they were impeccable.the attendants are super attentive .
then came the big dissapointment- the food.
it was plain ,bland,too little to fill one person's appetite, expensive and blah.
called for pitcher of sangria,thin crust pizzas,thai curries and couple of pastas.
sangria-awesome,thin crust pizzas- well prepared. thai curries- bad,pastas- too bland!
damages- 6k excluding taxes.i suggest hop off to lilavati lane (quench,chez moi) or near lilvati- thai ban or mia cucina.

Share:

4.0

Amazing place with good food

Good chinese food. Comfortable and good seating. seating divided in 3 different area . though not easy to get to the place. Overall I have had a good experience here.

Share:

jayghelani - Burrp User

jayghelani

8 Reviews

February 14,2011

2.0

Get your act together !!

Called them to reserve a table for Saturday night...they told me 10.30 pm is the earliest table and I might still have to wait a bit.Fair enough!
They called back at 7 to confirm that I will be getting the table at 10.30 and gave some jazz(that every new place likes to do) about not holding on to the table for more than 10 minutes, dress code etc.Fine again!!

Reached at 10.30 sharp only to be told that my reservation was like on hold and that I am on the waiting list..hello??? Argued a bit and was assured that i will get a table soon...still got one post 11pm.

Food again did not redeem the place...both the chicken items( some starter and the viatnamese chicken breast) were chewy and not cooked well...veg food was not bad but nothing great.Definitely not worth the price though!!

The only saving grace was the ambiance with outdoor seating, a bar area and an indoor eating place. Well done interiors and comfortable seating.

Overall was put off quite a bit due to the service...or else might have had a much better time..

Share:

nikkik - Burrp User

nikkik

45 Reviews

February 14,2011

1.0

lousy service

I have been here a couple of times already and couldn't fault the service, but after last night I have to change my mind and renege on my previous review. It was appalling. First they dint have my reservation which I made earlier yesterday , spoke to Anuradha, confirmed the time and my phone number, but I suppose she couldnt be bothered to jot down any details. Then the incompetent little chinese chick ( north eastern Indian girl) couldn't place me and in fact had to wait endlessly for a manager to show up, whose attitude , (the less said the better about it ) was totally wrong... finally got a table inside when i specifically asked for an outside table when I called but you already know that went for a toss.. then no menus for atleast 10 mins during which we repeatedly reminded them for menus....no bread for 20 mins atleast...anyway things got a little better when we made a little fuss... I ordered a strawberry margarita with less ice and the guy brings me a glass quarter full, when i asked whats the story " why such am empty glass ( I am one of those who sees a glass half full but not in this case)" he replies that since you dint want ice this is the quantity I get,, that is just absurd, never have i heard something so preposterous in all my life and travels and meals at fine establishments...so I complain and he then half fills the glass...
I could go on and on but I think you get the point....
oh and they shamelessly have a 10 % service charge which I strongly object...Dont think they will be seeing me any time soon... an absolute disaster of an evening....

Share:

machete - Burrp User

machete

20 Reviews

February 07,2011

4.0

Bungalow 69

Before you think or say anything, blame my friend for calling it Bungalow 69 all the way till we got there, its only when i called just-dial and heard a smirk on the other line did i realize it didn't have a 6 to it.
Bungalow 9, took me by surprise, i was expecting it to be a burger and pizza joint. But the look of the whole place blew my breathe away. The Ambiance was very much European/ French. I'm always a lover for wooden interiors, so this was an ideal place for me. Perfect place to host a party and very out-house feel with a modern touch .. Since we were a bunch of of we tried a lot of food and i thought maybe its better i list them down.

But first the disappointing experience we had when we arrived at 7pm we were told that the place was booked out, the place however was empty at that time and we were the only ones there .. on being a bit persistent we were told that the place has reservations from 930 onwards. Considering that we would have left by then, i thought it was very stupid of them in trying to send us away. I'm sorry to say but the receptionist was being quite a blonde but in the end she understood, showed us a table which we occupied way past 9:30 and no one had come yet to claim their reservations.

Starting with cocktails: the Bar menu was surprisingly interesting. We order the Jalapeño Martini which was an instant hit on our table, the blue berry martini was so-so, and the sun burn cocktail which looked interesting and had mixed opinions. The drinks are reasonably priced and there are a lot more options to try.

For starters: Red pepper soup, is a recommend. The crab cakes were well made but i think the chef could do better. The chicken satay is awesome, but few of us thought it was a bit to spicy for a satay. Garlic mash was a a disappointed, the texture was all wrong and it lacked taste. The fried prawns scored top points along with the goat cheese ravioli which was simply beautiful to taste.

Mains: My friend says that the best way to tell if the pizza's of a place is good; one should call the pepperoni pizza's. So ofcourse we called for it and it did not disappoint ;-) and so was the bacon poached ham pizza, divine. The penne chk ragout, beef tenderloin and once more dish which i cant remember was cooked to perfection.

Desserts: The Bellini cheese cake again had mixed feelings :) i think the issue was with the cheese cake texture ... the creme brule can be skipped but the homemade chocolate ice cream is worth the money.

Overall the place is worth the while but its expensive. Hope they maintain the standard of food in the months to come.

Share:

Hemant1969 - Burrp User

Hemant1969

4 Reviews

February 02,2011

4.0

Classy and worth another Visit.

Tastefully done , comfortable seating ,warm welcome is the usp's of this lovely restaurant. Asked them to make something off the Menu and was delighted have the same . Surely, a must visit...

Share:

3.0

Good Ambiance but Bad Food

Beautifully done up place but unfortunately that's not the only thing for which you would like to go to a restaurant and spend money. The menu has too many things to order from but no specialty.

We ordered some chicken dish and to add to my bad experience there was a long hair entwined in the chicken. The food is very very average!

Share:

4.0

super romantic ambiance

totally love the ambiance of this place. great for romantic dinners. food and drinks is tad expensive though delicious. they should allow people to sit in the open space on level 1.

Share:

2.0

Just another place

It probably scores above average in decor (what's with the mosquitoes?!), and menu selection but apart from those two aspects, for which to achieve all it takes is someone who gets food and an interior architect, it's an ordinary restaurant.

We ordered a some chicken with mustard, and some ravioli, and they could have been prepared in any of the dozen of restaurants in the city. What was jarring was the chicken plate -- the flavours of the sauce, the potato (too sweet) and the vegetables didn't blend. The chicken itself was uninteresting...

I needed to check it out since it's in my neighborhood but I'm not sure I will return. I might have considered going there for drinks but the mosquitoes put me off.

Share:

nikkik - Burrp User

nikkik

45 Reviews

January 24,2011

5.0

Awesome!!!!

excellent service, food and ambiance..everything was perfect!!! Will be back over and over again... my new favorite...

Share:

4.0

real good stuff...

guys visited the place the second time..you always tend to live upto the hype you have created. everybody is gaga with the ambiance but the real treat has been the food and the service. ordered very few stuff..but all suggestions and recommendations...thumbs up guys.would definitely be back for some more good memories and time.thanksss

Share:

5.0

Bunglow 9 rocks

went there yesterday.A cool place, great ambiance and excellent service. superb cocktails cant believe they are so cheap.

Share:

Rude & Uneducated

I called this place up after a few suggestions from a friend.

They refused to give me a table saying they were booked from 7 pm until 1 am. On prodding further, their manager took over who was rather curt and refused to budge. She even refused to put me on wait list.

After much humiliation, I gave up and moved on.

It may be a very cute looking place and have some good reviews but they need staff who can communicate well or else they're just going to fail like those zillion other restaurants around the block!

Share:

Kirtika - Burrp User

Kirtika

4 Reviews

January 14,2011

4.0

LOVE the Ambiance

Absolutely loved the ambiance! Bombay was thirsty for something exactly like this, and im extremely glad that it came to Bandra!

Food was average. I found the portions on the lesser side, but taste wise, was absolutely fine. Nothing Out of the world, but definitely not worth complaining about!

One thing i found horrible was i found a rat running around in the outdoor area, where i was dining, so that was a bit upsetting.

But yup definitely a place im going back to!

Share:

aas8187 - Burrp User

aas8187

2 Reviews

January 08,2011

1.0

Very rude..!!!

i had booked a table for 15 for my birthday with them... when i called to increase it to 20 they say you need to give us a minimum bill of 25000 then only can i book it for you... when i said i will pay you for watever i order the manager says sorry that will not work... whereas no private section was to be offered for it...

cant comment on the food as they themselves dint give the chance to come and eat...

Share:

sweet16 - Burrp User

sweet16

1 Reviews

January 05,2011

5.0

Amazing

I have been there thrice and I must say the ambiance, food and service is fabulous. I had the pizza and it was just what i wanted with a thin crust. And my kid enjoyed the chocolate cake too. It was heaven.

On our second visit we had Srilankan prawn curry with rice and wow its taste was too good.

On our third visit my kid wanted to eat their pasta with tomato sauce. She just loves it.

Having read all the reviews I personally believe for any new restaurant who is in their soft launch, give them a break and let them know what they need to improve upon rather than criticizing.

Kuddos to all you guys at Bungalow 9. It definitely rocks.

Share:

5.0

Simply Amazing!!!

I was recommended by a friend to go check out Bungalow 9, which he had recently visited. So me and 5 of my office buddies thought of checking it out.
It had been a long day at the office but the time i entered Bungalow 9, i forgot i was in the city....the most beautiful and serene place in Bandra!
We chose to sit in the courtyard which was very pleasant with the cool weather and surrounded with greenery. We sat just next to the water body and our minds were truly relaxed by the time we ordered!
A nice blend of cuisines in the menu...it made us a bit confused on what to order. We started off with their famous brick oven pizzas which were very crisp and light (went very well with our drinks).
Though me and my male colleagues were having whiskeys...the ladies were enjoying the cocktails as they ordered them throughout the night!
At the end we decided to go with both the Malaysian and Sri-Lankan thai curries with Jasmine rice which smelled and tasted simply mouth-watering.
It's a bit expensive but it's all worth it. You wouldn't find a place like this anywhere in the city or around. We didn't believe when we came to know the restaurant had just opened doors!
I have been to Olive, Indigo and even overly hyped Pali Village Cafe...The food, ambience and even the service is nothing compared to that of Bungalow 9.
I am surely bringing my clients to this place!

Share:

jazz75 - Burrp User

jazz75

1 Reviews

January 02,2011

5.0

AN OUT OF THE WORLD EXPERIENCE !!!

Wow Wow Wow.....where do I begin to sing the praises of Bungalow 9 !!!!!! Had the good fortune of dining at this exquisite new experience with a group of friends - and trust me - from the moment you enter the place - till you leave this magical world of B9 - you are simply floored ........right from the exquisite ambiance, to the food, to the cocktails, to the service, to the friendly staff.

We deliberately chose to dine in the outdoor area and were awestruck by the greenery/privacy/comfort that left us spellbound. For starters we ordered the prawn dim-sums, crispy fried calamari and the teriyaki chicken skewers - and it was delicious and well presented. Our main course was the New Zealand Lamb chops - and a definite highly recommended would be the Bassa Fillet with Craw claw - which is par excellence !!!
Dont ever move out - without trying their vast range of cocktails/mocktails - excellent and indeed very innovative - I have still to come across any bar across the city - with such a varied twist of cocktails.
A word of advice though - the proof of the pudding is in the eating..................dont miss out on the yummy desserts - the Chocolate Volcano is indeed sinful and will leave you sinning for more !!!!
Keep it up Bungalow 9 - your place indeed rocks...............

Share:

What a waste!

7 of us went there for a friends bday dinner.. our eyes lit up when we entered the beautiful restaurant,, and it just went downhill from there.
we ordered the cottage cheese, barbeque chicken and chicken kebab starters which were like tiny pieces of bird food with almost no flavor. and the prices were about 350-400 each.
Then they boasted of a brick oven so we ordered the pizzas..pepperoni and crispy bacon n ham - which turned out to be flat cold slightly soggy pieces of dough with tomato paste and mozarella cheese on it.. by then even the lovely effects of the 'take me home' cocktail were wearing off with the pathetic food.
finally.. we ordered a cheesecake.. which their 'chef' has probably never tasted. because it was just a chunk of whipped cream on a biscuit.(do they think their customers are fools?)
the only saving grace was their basil icecream which is probably the only thing that tasted as good as its flowery description.
A note to the owners - You may have great taste in interiors, but people are not coming to look at the walls and pay you. You gotta make the food edible too.I feel robbed! Our total bill was over 10,000, and we left feeling disgusted and cheated.

Share:

Not worth it, great interiors though.

Going to Bungalow 9 is like dealing with a used car salesman. He takes you into his A/C Cabin, gives you his best chai, possibly handpicked from his personal Assam Tea Estate. Then sells you a lemon without wheels which you have to pay exorbitant amounts for. Its like buying a Tata Nano at Mercedes prices.

The ambiance was lovely, it robs you of all your senses. Until you order their pizza, which has a special hard stale crust "fresh from the oven". Some of the chicken dishes had some lovely sauces but sadly the chicken was stringy. The paneer starter was super tiny cubes of raw paneer on a stick. The Lasagna was laughable.

We did not enjoy anything, save the overpriced cocktails. Their desserts were odd. We left with extremely light pockets and empty stomachs. We would have gotten more bang for our buck if we had burned the money we spent here, atleast we'd have been warm.
Avoid like the plague, unless you want to take your boss or relatives out of town to show them swanky quaint interiors.
I'll take my chances with the plague, its tastier and absolutely free.

Share:

nishankshah - Burrp User

nishankshah

1 Reviews

December 31,2010

2.0

Great place, average food

the restaurant is very pretty. however the food comes up short in matching the ambiance. we had a pizza, a soup and continental starter and found all three things disappointing.

Share:

5.0

Heaven on Earth....

We went to this place for dinner...The place is excellent...The place looks like a very very vintage structure...
You experience pure Nirvana as soon as you enter the place...
Its calm and peaceful as if you have come to a spa and not to a restaurant.
The place looks beautiful at night and is very peaceful....I can go on and on....
This place is really magical.

Abt the food: -

We checked out the menu and decided to order pizza's as they have a wood fired set up here....

We ordered 2 pizza's(10")....

The pizza's were good....not excellent but ya they were good....as we have had pizza's at cafe mangii i dont like pizza's elsewhere....but here the pizza's were good not the best though....(i dislike the 1 with goat cheese as it was 2 sweet)...

We ordered a drink(some strawberry punch) it was very natural and the best that we have ever had.

We had no place left in our stomach to try anything else...next time we are going to try their chinese/thai food.

The only negative about the place are the taxes(our total bill was 1100 approx and in that the tax was 10% service tax and vat 12.5% it amounted around 150 approximately)...

The best part about this place is their hospitality,food and ambiance....
what else do we need....

Just go to this place and experience Heaven on Earth.
We loved it!!!!

Share:

5.0

rocking ! !

we went to bungalow 9 on Saturday , its awesome . olive and indigo better get their act in place as this place is going to kill both of them , its definitely going to be the new celebrity hang out. the food is fantastic and so are the drinks plus an ambiance that is impossible to find in Mumbai , for a while you forget you are in this city .

Share: