Sign in With Your Burrp Id!

Username

Password

Or Sign in using
Register With Burrp!

Username

Password

Confirm password

Email Address

Gender

Date of Birth

SHARE THIS PAGE

Or Send Details Via SMS

+91

Indian mobileS or fixed wireless
numbers only

Home/mumbai/One Above On Toes

One Above On Toes

Linking Road  

  • 02226425411, 02226425412
  • V.N. Spehere, Junction of Turner & Linking Road, Linking Road, Bandra West, Mumbai
  • Lebanese, Italian, Indian, Chinese
  • Meal for 2 - 1800
2.6

27 Reviews / 27 Ratings

Your rating

Menu

Gallery



One Above On Toes Reviews

3.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Family dining at linking road!

A great place for multi cuisine at Bandra!
It has some great Indian food, and black daal and paneer that could rival copper chimney!
A good place to go with the family for the kids to start with the cheese garlic naan is a hit!
For non vegetarians the On toes special kheema is a must try,
average meal for 2 is 1800 rupees

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

On Your Toes

Hi.

Its a good restaurant, good food, excellent interior work, Must try the LOCHA NAAN.

Share:

J S - Burrp User

J S, BD

12 Reviews

September 02,2013

4.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Great food even at midnight!!

A lot of people are not aware that next to its pub is a fine dining restaurant by the same name. The place has a nice ambiance, very courteous staff (even at 11:45 p.m), good seating and above all toes ;) its great food. Being a Punjabi myself, no one knows my dal makhni and chickens better than me and this place was a welcome surprise. Highly recommended for the ones looking for yummylicious Mughlai/Indian cuisine who don't paying a little extra for the taste too.

Share:

1.0

Horrible & Rude Staff

Absolutely disgusting staff especially the two people at the reception, do not have any manners to talk with the customer

Share:

1.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Place Sucks

The entrance smells , the floring is dirty with food all over , the sitting area is dirty and old. The cloth on table had stains. Once pointed out , we moved to a different table - just to find mosquitoes. We walked out. It is a street joint and not a fine dine. Dont go ever.

Share:

chaitanya11 - Burrp User

chaitanya11

2 Reviews

December 19,2012

4.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

awsm cocktails

must try ARROWHEAD ...
AWSMEST cocktail ever had..
beer is litl costly.. 900rs for a pitcher..
but 50% discunt on all alcohols till 23rd decembr :)

so hurry up...

Share:

4.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Tipple Perfect

This one is perfect for catching up with friends over drinks. The laccha paratha and spiced okra make for fun companions to a couple of drinks even on a weekday.

While there are a number of signs saying no dancing, there is always a great line up of retro 80's inspired music playing. Sing along and tap your toes.. we're sure no one will mind. Alcohol is moderately priced while food is a tad pricey.

Split the bill between four people and it really doesn't burn too big a hole in your pocket.

Share:

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Obsolete Pub

Unbeievable: This club plays all time hits of 90's on a Saturday night. Food is good & portion is generous, though.

Share:

4.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Amazing ambiance

This place is decked up at a fine corner(on the 1st level though) at Linking road.
It has a restaurant as well as a pub. The place is promising. Food awesome.Service excellent.

Share:

4.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Not One above On Toes, more on similar lines!

We were here to celebrate a friends birthday. It was an impromptu decision, and we were pleasantly surprised. Being a weekday, the place was not crowded, so we got to choose our table (which was right next to the bar with a huge LCD screen). Must say the bar looks fancy! The decor was not the usual, they had pictures of African women adorning one wall; something that I haven't seen before.

Since it was a birthday celebration, the emphasis was on drinks rather than food. Apart from hard drinks, we called for 2 mocktails - Blush on Ice and Iced Tea, both of which I rate a 8/10. Drinks are a little expensive though.

They serve Indian, Chinese and Italian dishes. For starters, there was a dish with a very amusing name and we decided to try it - Locha Naan. Isn't the name funny! To our surprise we found ourselves relishing the dish and ended up ordering 3 of it. Veg Finger schezwan was just about okay. The bill was Rs 5200 (1540 - Food and rest was drinks) for 5 of us.

The ambiance was vibrant, dim-blue lighting, good tracks by the dj, service was good. However the place is a little cramped-up with tables very closely placed. Other than that we enjoyed ourselves to the fullest.

There was a tiny board that said 'no dancing allowed', but if its a birthday who cares! We did manage to do our little gig ;-)

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Not so bad

Good ambience, good food, Average service.
Enjoyed a multi-cuisine dining experience with friends.

Share:

itsaurabh17 - Burrp User

itsaurabh17

1 Reviews

November 13,2011

1.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Does not deserve the name - One above on toes

After having relished the food at One Toes we made an obvious mistake of assuming that on toes bandra would be equally good if not better. We were celebrating a farewell party of a colleague and went in  group of 10 (5 veg and 5 non veg)...we started with drinks and veg / non beg starters. After the first round of ordering 4 veg starters and 4 non veg starters we realized that there was something seriously wrong with the cook, as the food was either too oily or contained too much salt...on complaining to the manager we were assured improvements in the second order...we gave the chef another chance nd ordered 2 veg starters Nd 2 non veg starters and were shocked to observe that they were worse than our first order...our party mood spoilt by the bad food we decided to  have the main course at some other restaurant....the management was unapologetic and dint seem to care....I had written a complaint which I doubt would have reached the right hands...disgusted we left, levying our celebrations 
Mid way....would never recommend this place to anyone ever....a complete letdown.

Share:

puneet16 - Burrp User

puneet16

2 Reviews

August 08,2011

1.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Super Rude Staff

Dammm rude staff.....never seen such ill mannered staff in any of the restaurant. Staff here, esp the guy named Vishal, just doesn't have manners to talk to customers.

Pls avoid if you dont wana risk your evening.

Share:

An Overall Good experience

Went here on tuesday night around 9pm with a group of 12...seating was good..place has a good ambience..indian starters were definitely good ordered afghan kebabs which were amazing, and chicken tikka was regular good..had chinese as main course hunan chicken, burnt garlic fried rice (chicken) were cooked very well and very tasty, chicken haka noodles were regular good..quantity was ok-good for the price..however i feel since their menu is soo vast with indian, chinese, italian, (there was barely any lebanese), they should have their in house specials marked on the menu or suggest something more about the dishes to help the customers read and understand the menu better..overall a good experience..food was good, definitely slightly overpriced but still good quality, good taste, good portion..no complaints as such just the one suggesiton for the management...definitely promote the different cuisines u have to ensure ur quality and name as a multi-cuisine can stay and shine...thank u..

Share:

November 24, 2010response from management at DBINDAL:

Thank you Sahirk,for the valuable feedback that you have given us, we will surely incorporate the same. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next visit. Try the Locha naan its our signature dish a must try !!

tapan31 - Burrp User

tapan31

5 Reviews

September 20,2010

3.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good Place

We visited the place again..I am still wondering what on earth stops them from taking table reservation at 5.30 pm for 8.00 pm slot on sunday but then subsequently give the booking at 7.00pm. This is the second time i have faced similar situation. Mystery??????

Anyways the food as always has been good though I was not impressed with their bruschetta...it was just plain and some tomatoes over it..very sad (supposed to be one of their best dishes....)..the subz keema masala was very good and so were the rotis..the tulsi subzi with exotic vegetable was highly ok...could not find some of the exotic vegetables in the dish that the waiters told us it would consist.
all in all was a good experience..

Share:

janhvi - Burrp User

janhvi

1 Reviews

August 13,2010

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

too little for too much.

i went to above on toes last friday with a friend, we decided we'd rather chill at the bar instead of the restraunt as the service would be the same. the bar was dim lit and had strange african women paintings adorned on the walls which dint go with the rest of the decor. the waiter wearing an flashy satin shirt took our order, we asked for one chicked pepper dish which wasnt too bad,a glass of wine a long island ice tea and a chicken momos. the wine was dry , the ice tea was dilute and the momos were terrible. to make things worse the music just got extremely loud towards the end of hour meal even though the place wasnt quite filled up. our bill was a whopping 2000 ruppees which is ridiculous for 2 starters and 2 drinks. i say trash it.

Share:

1.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

RUDE Actually SUPER RUDE STAFF

We (me and my husband) went on one of the days. We wanted to sit in the pub and hence we proceeded. None of us drink so we just ordered mocktails & some starters. We were told to get up and go if we do not drink. I mean this was pathetic. I felt horrible. They cud have said the same thing in a better way. The food here may be good BUT if they don't have the sense to treat customers I dont think it's going to work.
Customer is the king finally. Earlier also we had been to the resturant 3-4 times. But after this aweful incident We have never entered this place however good the food might be. They lost loyal customers.

Share:

1.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Bad Service, Fake reviewers

Dear Sir,
I would not launch into a tirade explaining the one star (which i have given forcibly), but my issues are with unhelpful and rude waiters in general. I left in 5 mins as I do not suffer fools.

The main issue here, and I hope Burrp takes notice, is the two fake reviewers foodie 2010 and rmane who have only reviewed both on toes outlets and given it five stars. C'mon buddy, credit us with some intelligence.

We have decided to take the crusade to you. For every fake review we will come back to on toes, and get crappy service for 5 mins (which is assured) and post a one star review.

Quick, log in as rmane and foodie 2010 and review some more places! LOL

Foot Note: Miss Tolani / Lucifer Sam: Its worth writing a review just to get a rise out of the sarcastic CEO responding!!

Share:

5.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Great Place, Good Food !!!

The place is very well made, Great interiors. The menu is very different from other Indian restaurants even Different from its other branches. They have some very unusually different stuff, like the Tulsi Subzi , the kassori aloo. The Black Dal is out of the world !!

Did not try the Italian there, have to go back for that, The Mocktails were great. The staff is very friendly and courteous.

Share:

4.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good Food

Been to 1 above on toes the other nite with 10 people. The food was very good. The staff was co-operative and were ready to make anything for jain in main course. The portions were good we needed 2 portions of a vegetable between 10 ppl. The breads were also nice. Like the fried bheendi on table for munching.
We called for on toes special kheema masala and kastoori paneer and in starters the babycorn with salt and pepper was very good.
Slightly overpriced i guess by approx 20 - 30 rupees.
A big shockers was when we ordered for kulfi. Who on earth charges Rs 175/- for a kulfi?? My mistake that i did not check the menu price before ordering. But then I guess no one would imagine being charged that kind of money for a simple malai kulfi.. I guess the management need to reprice the item on considerably lower side.
The beer is also steeply priced at above Rs 400 for carona..

On the whole it was a good dinner but would suggest them to look at their pricing strategy. Little lower prices will definitely help them get volumnes..

Share:

Attn: Mr. Bindal

Buddy, if the lady - Ms. Tolani says that your staff was rude when they told her she can't take the table in question - just apologise! if you are known for your hospitality and guest relations, you need to be able to admit that sometimes there are slip-ups and just apologise for it. Your patronising reply to her just reflects your inability to admit a mistake. Obv you hv no clue about guest relations!

And FYI - if customers are treated badly by the staff - it aint worth shit if your food and drinks are equal to the quality of Zodiac Grill or even Nobu.

Share:

June 4, 2010response from management at DBINDAL:

Dear Sir,

We value your inputs on customer service. Thank you for helping us improve.

June 4, 2010response from management at lucifer_sam:

Yea.... sarcasm is the way to go! Well done!

5.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

awsome!!!

im a regular at ontoes linking rd....n trust me guys the food keeps on getting better..please try the afternoon buffets.....i assure u that u will eat till u r overfilled...i generally dnt go to rstrnts which r situated in a mall or a shopping centre...however ontoes is an exception...please keep up the good work guys....cheers!!

Share:

June 4, 2010response from management at DBINDAL:

Dear Dr. Ankit,

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again!

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Is there anybody out there?

Went to One Above On Toes for the first time on News Years Day about 9 pm. The two of us were the only ones there till a couple of college kids wanting to drink Juice and a Bacardi turned up. To be fair it was New Years day hence one can understand that people are spent, exhausted or nursing hangovers.

Then got lots of fliers in the morning papers offering discounts, schemes and other general "Jugaad". All classic signs of economic stress, cash flow et al.

Went again last week about 9 ish. Dead as a Dodo.

Probably the wild animals you see on the walls there eat punters who turn up.

No people, no vibe no good.

Share:

June 4, 2010response from management at DBINDAL:

Dear Ma'am/Sir,

Thank you for your interpretation of our advertising strategy. Did you visit us over a weekday or a weekend? You saw wild animals on the walls? Does that mean you had a really good time? We were wondering where you saw the wild animals, because all that our walls have are pictures of some really beautiful african ladies.

June 7, 2010response from management at stonethrower:

Dear Mr Bindal,
Methinks you have a problem and you need to look at that rather than scoring brownie points.
For the record, I went there on a weekday, Thursday.
Look at the reviews carefully. You have 10 reviews. 2 look fake.
2 [Lucifer Sam and Odin 2004] have not commented on the restaurant but on your attitude.
5 reviews say the place is empty. That is a huge huge margin my friend!!
The Beautiful African Ladies don't seem to attract punters.
Save the sarcasm.

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Crappy, crappy, crappy!

I stand by what Chandni said. I came here too and had a similar experience. We were asked if we wanted to be seated in the resto or bar and we chose bar. After narrowing upon a cozy corner, the guy there walks up to us and rudely asks us to shift tables because there were a few of us and it would get crowded later! You cannot ask a bunch of few people to sit somewhere else in the most crass manner and expect to get away with it! You wanna refuse us a table for six because we are 4, you just refuse the right to serve us in the beginning! I'm not interested in going back there at all. Besides, it's not even located suitably. Why go there when there's a cozy Pronto or a Candies only nearby? That be all.

Share:

June 4, 2010response from management at DBINDAL:

Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

We apologize on behalf of the servers who spoke to you rudely. Although asking a group of four to shift to a table a for four is a common practice at any place that expects to get crowded as the evening progresses, we understand it should come as a request to the guest and by any means should not be crass or rude.

We thank you for the candid review, it will help us improve our service quality. We do hope you will change your mind and re-visit us.

June 4, 2010response from management at Krypton15:

Well, okay, but the place was empty. You didn't have to make us shift tables when there wasn't anyone around!

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Slap Them!

I'm giving them 1 star only cause there is no option for a minus! so I went here on a friday evening and the place was empty. And by empty I mean EMPTY not even 1 table occupied. We found an interesting table that was for 6 in the corner of the lounge and we went and sat there. Immediately, a rude waiter, manager or whoever he was came and asked us how many of us were there. We said we were four. He started making faces and really indecently asked us to get up from there and take another table. When we told him the entire place was empty anyway, he started acting all irritated and rude. We obviously just walked out of there. Nobody should go to this place. Not until they change their staff and offer an apology. One above on toes, YOU SUCK!

Share:

May 29, 2010response from management at DBINDAL:

Dear Miss Chandni Tolani,
You were there early hence it was empty, The table that you wanted to sit on was reserved for a larger group that was to come later, We regret that the request to sit you some where else sounded rude. On Toes is known for its hospitality and guest relations and its unfortunate that not getting a particular table irked you so much that you dint have any thing to drink or eat. We would appreciate that you try the food , Drinks and experience to form a judgement of the place.


May 29, 2010response from management at chandnitolani:

Mr Dibyendu Bindal,
I have no issues with being asked to shift from where we were sitting.... I am only saying that the person who asked us to shift was misbehaved, ill-mannered and had absolutely no sense of talking to women. That is the politest way I can put it in. And not getting the table hasn't irked me at all, but the service and management has.
Thanks.

June 4, 2010response from management at DBINDAL:

Dear Miss Tolani,

We apologize for the experience you had at One Above On Toes. We regret that the bitter service and management experience drove you out of the restaurant without trying out the food and drinks. Your candid review will help us improve. We do hope that you'll drop in again and we will try and make your experience at One Above On Toes a memorable one!

RMANE - Burrp User

RMANE

2 Reviews

April 12,2010

5.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

One above the 5 stars EXCELLENT !!!!

I have been to their malad branch quite often, and have always been delighted, so decided to try out the bandra outlet. I called and made reservations, the table was ready when we reached. It was a Sunday night. The place was full, but service was excellent, the captain who took our order gave us honest suggestions about what to eat, we ordered the kasoori aloo, the tulsi paneer tikka, both were excellent, different from what i have eaten any where a must try for any one going there. We ordered the Tulsi Subzi and on toes keema along with desi chicken in non veg, the main course was even better than the starters.. We had tiramisu and chocolate bomb for desserts. The quality , quantity , presentation , staff and ambiance is all One up !!!! great experience

Share:

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Average food, rude managers

The uninterested valets didn't bother us. We assumed they were just not interested in their jobs, and wouldn't get a tip. The relatively empty restaurant didn't bother us either. We thought it made it easier for us to chat.

And then, we met the manager. We were 9 of us, celebrating a birthday. So, when we saw a private booth, we asked, politely, if we could use it instead of a regular table. It's a birthday, we said, and your restaurant is empty. He refused, point-blank. "It's only for those who guarantee a billing of Rs 10,000," he said, rudely. We didn't reply, even though we thought it was a silly policy for a weekday. Understandable on a weekend, but on a Tuesday evening with just two occupied tables?

The rest of the evening was average. The food was average, from the starters to our main course. The Veg Kheema Masala was the only thing out of the ordinary, but the waiter didn't know what we were talking about until he checked without two others on the staff and confirmed he could get it for us.

Eventually, a second manager came to us and asked, politely, if we would like the private booth. Yes, we said. So, he checked, then came back and told us it wasn't possible. We were used to this stupidity by the management by now, but at least he was more polite.

Eventually, what restaurants have to understand is, food and location are all very well, but when confronted with a hundred options, a diner will go to a place he or she likes spending time at. Being polite goes a LONG way, especially in Bandra, when one rude manager can put us off a restaurant forever. We have other choices, you know? A LOT of other choices.

So, sorry One Above On Toes (am I the only one who finds that name ridiculous, btw), we're NEVER coming back :) Look on the bright side — you can all admire that unused private booth every quiet evening.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Dinner Calls

If the restroom of a place was anything to go by, we would never revisit One Above On Toes. Like true burrpers, however, we decided to give a chance to the food and service. And were not disappointed.

One Above On Toes is situated on the first level of a building still under renovation. Worry not; the place is as prettily done up as its better known cousin at Fort. This one is split into two sections - a pub and a restaurant with an attached bar. The pub is quite small and dimly lit with modern decor and animal-print sofas! Standing like an empty nest on Saturday night, it is yet to find the buzz which the restaurant has already picked up. The decor of the restaurant is a confused mix of ethnic and contemporary, but that doesn't take away from the comfort quotient. It is brightly lit up with large, comfortable furniture and special seating arrangements for large groups.

The food menu covers North Indian, Italian and Chinese cuisines. Each section boasts of some unusual dishes. Try Italian starters like macaroni and mozarella patties and jalapeno salsa. Fried chilli chicken and chilli paneer are chef-recommended. The Indian fare is delicious to the last bite; try dahi wale kebabs and chicken tikka. The thin-crust pizzas, though seemingly have the right ingredients, fail to impress. The bar menu is insanely overpriced... we're talking cocktails at Rs.400, Corona and Heineken at Rs.400 and ice-tea at Rs.200. With drinks, damages for two would be Rs. 1800.

But the food is delicious and the waiters are always 'on toes'... The restaurant seems to have a promising future on Bandra's family-dining scene.

Share: