Sign in With Your Burrp Id!

Username

Password

Or Sign in using
Register With Burrp!

Username

Password

Confirm password

Email Address

Gender

Date of Birth

SHARE THIS PAGE

Or Send Details Via SMS

+91

Indian mobileS or fixed wireless
numbers only

> > > > Pritam Da Dhaba

Pritam Da Dhaba

Dadar EastCentral Mumbai  

3.1

52 Reviews / 52 Ratings

Your rating

Gallery


Popular Event Searchs : New Year Party in Mumbai, Mumbai New Year Parties 2015, New Year Events in Mumbai, New Year Party 2015 Mumbai

Pritam Da Dhaba Reviews

1.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Please save your money

Guys really don't waste your money and time going here because its really waste of money instead of it you can enjoy your valuable time by going at karishma or any other.but please don't visit this place

Share:

2.6

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Worst dining experience ever

I went there last Sunday for a family dinner. I wanted to sit in the open area as it had quite a nice ambiance. I saw quite a lot of empty tables but we were told that they are all reserved and the waiter rudely told us that we will not get any table on the outside and we must sit inside. I approached the restaurant Manager (an old gentleman) who assured me give the first table to be free. He also assured me that he will give me a call and I should wait with my family outside the restaurant.

While we were waiting outside(around 45 min), I saw that one of the guests who arrived after us were given a seat. When I approached the Restaurant Manager, he told me that he has called out my name (i was just outside the restaurant and hence i could not have missed this). Very rudely he also told me that I am lying that I was outside the restaurant as otherwise I must have heard him. I wanted to leave the restaurant at the same moment but I just stayed there as I do not wanted the family dinner to get spoiled. We got a table after 15 more minutes( on the mercy of old gentleman as we were repeatedly begging for a table).

The food was similar to "Urban Tadka" in taste but the open seating area ambiance was good.

I have decided to boycott this restaurant in future given the pathetic service quality and indifferent behavior. I do not want to have a humiliating experience again on a lovely evening. :)

Share:

2.8

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Totally punjabi

Easily accessible (5 mins from dadar station) a restaurant cum dhaba serving amazing punjabi food. If you want the dhaba feel, you can choose to sit at the back of the restaurant which has the typical setup - glass bangles, cots etc. Else you can stick to the regular restaurant area (that's the a/c section).
What to order - anything in paneer is amazing. They have this special papad like roti which is huge and their speciality too. Its called Khasta roti - a must try. You should also try choora parontha (calorie conscious folks can skip this as it has loads of ghee!)
The restaurant is quite huge so you may not have a very long waiting period to get a table. However, the flip side to this is - it delays their serving time!

Share:

October 16, 2013response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, thank you for giving your review on Burrp, your review is important to us. We are glad you enjoyed the food and the ambiance of our restaurant. We make sure you get the feel of being in Punjab when it comes to our food and the designs of the restaurant and we are happy that you liked it. Apologies for keeping you waiting, on your next visit you will definitely not have any reason to complain. We look forward to seeing you again.

Amol Kolhe - Burrp User

Amol Kolhe

8 Reviews

September 29,2013

1.0

Food Review

Had dinner yesterday and the food was quite average, In fact food at other joints may be much tastier. Baingan ka Bharta which is supposed to be one of the staple Punjabi sabzi was not of the likes of real Baingan ka Bharta. Even the non veg was no where comparable to Lucky Food.

Share:

September 30, 2013response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, thank you for giving us your review on Burrp. We strive to cook a delicious meal for our guests, unfortunately you we're not to happy with what was served to you. But we are open to all your suggestions and we will definitely work on the things you did not like. The next time you come to Pritam Da Dhaba, we assure you that you will have no reason to complain.

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good Slow @ Leisure Pace

Statutory Warning: They take their own time to serve your order, so while placing the order for Starters, please order your Main Course as well. Else you need to have an extra 30 minutes in your schedule.

Now for the Good Part of this Restaurant, that has been a landmark of this locality for many many years now.

You have a choice of seating arrangement; a proper table and chair in air-conditioned environs with all the paraphernalia or the open air Dhaba style seating with Khatiya’s and Fans. I prefer the open air style.

Our Orders:
1. Jaljeera / Lassi
2. Bharwaan Tandoori Aloo – Nicely done
3. Murg Kali Mirch – Soft n Tender Meat, nicely marinated
4. Fish Tikka – Fresh Fish
5. Methi Mutter Malai / Yellow Dal – Amazing Dal and Good Methi veggie
6. Rogan Josh – Killer Taste & Soft Meat
7. Mewawali Kesar Kulfi – Kulfi was amazing

Starters arrive fast but Main Course takes time.

You can come here to enjoy a leisure and good time with your friends / family. Restrict your order to what they serve best; Punjabi Food.

Share:

April 22, 2013response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your positive response. We pride ourselves on food and hospitality which delighted you. Keep visiting us and we assure better service with each visit

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Great atmosphere!

I love the outdoor seating. It's very spacious and lively. I think the food is great. Been there three times each visit to India, no complaints. Making it a forth this year!

Share:

March 15, 2013response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your positive response. We pride ourselves on food and hospitality which delighted you. Keep visiting us and we assure better service with each visit.

3.4

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Average

Average food, great ambiance (if seated outside only), average service. Good for non-veg. Moderately expensive. Tip - don't sit inside and avoid veg.

Share:

February 1, 2013response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on food and hospitality but surely does not seem the case with your experience. We would request you to give us an opportunity to do good for the bad.

5.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

best experience dhabba style

The best part is the dhabba style interiors. Very near to dadar railway station. The waiters are very genuine and calm. The service is very slow. The rates are very high compared to other restos.
The average bill for 2 people is around 1000.

Share:

January 25, 2013response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your positive response. We pride ourselves on food and hospitality which delighted you. Keep visiting us and we assure better service with each visit.

aparna301 - Burrp User

aparna301

6 Reviews

December 27,2012

2.2

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Service too slow

This is a very old and a known place for punjabi food in dadar so thought of trying it out for lunch.
Visited this place during lunch hours in office but it took me almost 2 hours to finish with lunch since their service is very slow. The food did not compensate for the service. Request the management to improve service.

Share:

January 3, 2013response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, We pride ourselves on food and hospitality but surely does not seem the case with your experience. Would request you to give us an opportunity to do good for the bad.

Aditya Chv - Burrp User

Aditya Chv

61 Reviews

November 07,2012

4.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good place

A good place to have corporate dinner or a get together with friends.

The setting and the seating arrangement are a welcome change and actually give you a dhaba feel. The open air setting is also something which you rarely find in Mumbai.

The food esp the Punjabi items are yummy and the drinks are also good.

Only issue is the wait time for getting your order.

Share:

December 26, 2012response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your positive response. We pride ourselves on food and hospitality which delighted you. Keep visiting us and we assure the same service always.

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

An oasis of peace in Dadar :)

Picture Dadar..
- A place where you fear to drive as there are high chances that pedestrains will run over you.
- A place so crowded that it seems thare is a Visarjan happening everyday!
- A place where you can imagine only small (yet excellent) eatries like Prakash Upahar or Gypsy's..

But hang on!

There is indeed one restaurant where you can come with you friends and family and enjoy a dhaba like atmosphere or even watch a game on big screen, in Dadar!!


And the name of that place is Pritam's Bar and Restaurant (erstwhile Pritam da Dhaba).

I went there recently with my wife and three friends and the thing that instantly clicked with me is the open-air verandah with dhaba like setting (there's a big AC section as well), with khaats (traditional hand made beds) neatly clustered and a big screen showcasing the T20 match!

The food is a tab bit towards the expensive side (considering it's Dadar) and the service can also significantly improve. A pint of beer is Rs 200 plus taxes so that should also give you an idea.

Like every other table, we tried Karari Roti (bif spicy poppadum), some hara bhara kebabs, dilli aaloo chaat and galauti kebabs which all were good.

We were offered generous helpings of 'chakhna' which was well appreciated :)

For main course we had dal makhni (must have), paneer butter masala and roomali roti which were decently good.

All in all, above average food but the ambiance and comfortable seating make up for the food bill :)

Share:

October 29, 2012response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your positive response. We pride ourselves on food and hospitality which delighted you. Keep visiting us and we assure the same service always.

foodie1 - Burrp User

foodie1

9 Reviews

August 18,2012

4.4

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

satisfied yet again

Went to the Dhaba after a long time now. As usual the Food was great. The liquor prices have shot up but they have gone ballistic after may everywhere after the govt has imposed extra taxes. I was told its 50% more expensive now. What a downer. Tried their Galouti kebabs afetr a while. Excellent. The Chicken Tikka Hariali was really good. A new item from when i visited last time. My kids love the Karari Roti and so do my friends, goes well with drinks or just as a starter. I found i payed slightly less than the last time and was told that the taxes have now been included in the prices. This i like. Pay what you see, dont get knocked of by additional VAT etc etc. Also this place in one of the rare places which does not charge Service Charge, a new addition to new restaurants. When i visit a restaurant, I want to tip the staff on how they serve me, why should i be forced to pay for service thats bad? the only addition is the Service tax which comes to approx 4.1 %. Also i find the menu does not have anything (seafood) which is priced as APC. thats great because i want to know exactly what im paying for.

I like the wheat rotis that are brown here. Not made appealing and white by addition of Maida. Who the heck eats a Punjabi roti made of Maida? Try the Rabdi and Kulfi combination, its a killer. So is the Malai Phirni, not overtly sweet.

Am told they are revamping their menu to add new dishes. Gave them my email id and number to let me know when that comes around. Ill write another review then.

Cant wait to visit again.

Share:

October 29, 2012response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Keep visiting.

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Bad experience ...Too costly and slow service

This is the worst dhaba i ever seen in india. Too costly liquor,very very slow service. This is my last visit for this dhaba.

Share:

October 29, 2012response from management at Pritam Da Dhaba:

Dear Guest, We pride ourselves on food and hospitality but surely does not seem the case with your experience. Would request you to give us an opportunity to do good for the bad.

1.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

A Bad Experience

We had fun while gathering few friends down there, but as per the ambiance it was rubbish. Food came after half an hour after the order was placed, the threaded cot with pillow and bed liner were bad and there was no hygiene as such. They charged us an additional 450 rupees which was not mentioned on the menu card. We dont want to clamor much but their standard has gone bad.

Share:

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

An apt place for 'Khoda pahad nikali chuhiya'

While the ambiance of the a.c. hall was like any other restaurant in the busy city - cramped up with barely any space to walk, the ambiance of the outdoor seating was much better and spacious. But best enjoyed during cooler evenings.

Food was a downer. Starters were above average, but the quantity was well below average. For the main course, while the rotis were good, the vegetable curries were tasteless and very very ordinary.

Service, though not quick, was polite and warm. Overall, not recommended if the sole purpose is dining. Pay a visit once, just for a change.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

A True Dhaba

Pritam da dhaba promises to give an experience of a Dhaba and it fulfills so well. I have been visiting it for last 20 plus years and the food taste has only been improving so far.
The welcoming staff at the dhaba greet you an make u sit in a comfortably spaced out tables and khaats. The khaats may make you feel uncomfortable, but that is essential for that authenticity it provides. Food is also in line. Truly Dhaba style curries and gravies. If you are a very very spice food lover, ask them to prepare their double extra spicy chicken tikka. It will surely be one of India's spiciest tikkas. Seekh kebabs are a little disappointing. Butter chicken, rogan josh, lamb curry are good. Biryani is OK but pulao is better. Only disappointment will be their poor Punjabi Lassi.

A must go place for a punjabi dhaba lover.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

True dhaba experience

I like Pritam Da Dhaba for it's genuine Punjabi food and atmosphere. I have visited the place a couple of times and it has never disappointed me. Be it with friends, family or colleagues, the place always promises to be fun. The food is VFM, ambience is great and drinks (esp. the cocktails) are good. Service is quick and warm too.

Seating can get a bit uncomfortable, esp. for senior citizens, as they provide traditional 'khatiyas' and that should be the only factor to be looked into.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Dhaabaaa !!!!

The only place i can think of if i feel like eating typical dhaba style punjabi food. The starters, main course, biryani & desserts are all top notch. My office is nearby so we drop in quite a few times. Prices are not that high, worth every rupee one spends here.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Traditional Family Place

Well a very traditional family place and the dhaba seems like an interesting open air affair. Good Punjabi food but dont expect extraordinary.

Good quick service.

Please don't try much Fish here as it is over priced and just plain simple. There are better places to have them.

Desert is fine and so is veg food. Will go here again if in the vicinity, not out of choice.

Share:

3.2

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Nice

Had been here 4-5 time. Nice place to go with your family. The dhaba is awesome and the food is also not that bad
Punjabi food always rocks!!!

Share:

s4l1l - Burrp User

s4l1l

4 Reviews

March 19,2012

4.6

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Lip-smacking good food!

Been here a couple of time and the food is really good especially the non-veg food! Its an ideal place to have some food and some beer when along with a group of friends.
The ambiance and place though could do with bit of life added to it as its pretty dim and dark!

Share:

4.8

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

excellent.

I with my colleague went to this place on friday night. In starters we ordered Khatta Mittha Paneer which is really finger licking and in main course we ordered Dal Makhni with Laccha Parantha and food turns out to be excellent.
Good place to hang out and pass time.

Share:

4.2

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Delicious Food !!

One of my favourite joint. Being a north Indian, i love Punjabi food. The food for which you actually can not resist and ask waiter to bring it as soon as possible :) Delicious chicken tikkas and tandoori..

A beer in hand, open air sitting, cool breeze, D.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s Dal Makhani. Certainly recommendable for everyone who loves non-veg..!

Only one drawback - too many mosquitoes.. They need to do something for the same, and the "Kachua Chaap" doesnt work at all.

Though, one should visit for sure..!!

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Authentic Punjabi Dhaba...

Imagine yourself with a glass of Lassi in hand, reclining on a khaat under the night sky while a sumptuous meal is spread in front of you. Well no you are not in Punjab you are right here in Mumbai at Pritams Dadar. Authentic Punjabi food made with proper Punjabi masalas take your taste buds to the seventh heaven. Tikkas(veg,non-veg) are extremely good, for the vegetarian, the paneer butter masala and for the non vegetarian the kadhai chicken are exceptional dishes. Dal makhani is to die for.
Ambiance - 5/5
Food 4/5
Service 4/5
Overall 4/5
Price - Expensive

Share:

dhaaba type look

biggest drawbak is its non- Ac , the ambiance is well made.. with traditional khats , BIG GLASSES , N ITS FAMOUS PANIPURI KNOWN AS VODKA PURI , A MUST TRY...

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Very Good & moderate

Good atmosphere, good service & taste of punjab is evident. Near the Dadar station thus traceable to all commuters & eaters. Quantity of food is sufficient as per price. one could eat here atleast twice a month

Share:

ajlo18 - Burrp User

ajlo18

5 Reviews

March 19,2012

3.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Review for Pritam Da Dhaba

Good place for Punjabi food from any thing to everything.Rumali papad is to die for. One thing though the Alcohol does not hold good after one peg.

Share:

4.2

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Punjabi Nites

I have been to Pritam Da Dhaba on 2 occassions and believe me, it doesnt disappoint. If you crave Punjabi food like dal makhni, achaari murgh, fish tikka and paneer butter masala, kulchas and buttery naans, head to Pritams! It also has decent alcohol options.
The ambience with the charpais add to the dhaba feel making your experience complete. Inspite of not making a booking, we got a table without much delay.
I live in the western suburbs but I wouldn't think twice about heading to Dadar when the craving hits for some of Pritam's delicious food:-)

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Ok-ok'ish

One of the few good places in Dadar area.
Good punjabi food.

*Expensive though*

Share:

3.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Average food, exepensive..

If I would visit Pritam again it would only be for their "Nimbu Machlee".. The place has good variety of food but the preparations are not that great to talk about. However, the restaurant is huge and the backyard seating (dhaba) in the evening is their USP. The place is good if you want to enjoy a sumptuous meal and you wouldn't mind paying a little extra for food that would be 100 bucks lesser in other restaurants. If ambiance for you is over delicious food then Pritam is a good visit for you!!

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Pathetic Food, Arrogant Staff...

Had a pathetic experience at pritam da dhaba when we went here on Thursday afternoon.
Food - 1/5 - Ordered makai pakora which was too sweet and cold. Ordered for Veg kolhapuri thinkin of having something spicy but it had loads of garam masala added to some boiled vegetables which didn't taste fresh either.
Service - 2/5 - The person taking the order didn't know what the specialty of the place was. He would say "Menu mein jo diya hai woh hai". When we ask for something, he would ask his colleague if it was available in the kitchen. They were not at all courteous.
Ambiance - 3/5 - Decent ambiance
Price - 3/5 - Price slightly on the higher side
VFM - 0/5

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Rude Da Dhaba

Have been here a couple of times eons ago; but a recent trip just left a bad taste in my mouth.

Went with a friend on a Sunday 'famished' noon, with plans to dig in some butter chicken and roti. We occupied a place next to the entrance, only to be asked to vacate it and ushered inside and asked to sit in a cramped 'place for two' as it was compact and for two. We insisted on going back to the same place as we were seated there before and we were not okay with this new place.

We were flatly refused the option (which wasn't much of an option rather) by the rude, old manager and on insisting, we were asked to leave. So much for 'Customer being the King'

Never going to this rude and hopeless place again. Pritam Da Dhaba, you lost a fan. I wish this place to shut down, real soon.

Share:

4.4

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good n expensive...

Food is great.
Try ton of bricks, my favorite.
Have lot of good old memories with place.

Share:

nice food

Good non veg food and with beer it goes well bit expensive but nice ,will like to go again.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good for Team Lunch or Dinner

Went to this place today with my Colleagues. Had a great time there. We reached there around about 1.30 pm and got the place very easily.

In Veg starters we ordered - 2 Paneer Tikkas, 2 Khata Mitha Ghobhi, Waldorf Salad, Cheesy Mirchi, Masala Papad, 1 Tahdoori Dhingri(Mushroom), 1 Corn Pakora and 3 Karari Rotis and in nov-veg we ordered 1 Kalmi Kabab

In Main course we ordered - 1 Paneer Mussallem, 2 Paneer Methi Bahaar, 1 Murg Makhni, 3 Daal Makhni and had a variety of orders for Roti's which are like 1 Khasta Roti, 2 Tandoori Roti, 1 Butter Roti, 1 Rumali Roti, 1 Butter Kulcha, 2 Butter Naan, 1 Garlic Naan, 3 Avadhi Parantha, 3 Lachha parantha.

Had an awesome time there. Spend almost 2 hrs there for lunch and enjoyed it a lot. Next time will look for some other place for such a kind of team lunch.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

WHAT? WHY? HOW ?

If this is the epitome of a successful eatery then any outlet in mumbai can be a grand success!!! India is the land of cliched epithets and most people think they can take a random punjabi pet name and add "da dhaba" at the end of it and it automatically authenticates the claim of the place being a punjabi food extravaganza. Just in case your one of the "da dhaba" victims I shall save your evening.
Situated in the busy street adjoing the dadar station towards the east and the dadar tt junction towards the west just the location itself guarantess this place customers. From the outside the place looks quiet inviting and appealing till you step in to realize your in nothing more than an upscale beer bar with typical cheapos as waiters giving youu sidey looks and sneering at the women u enter with .
The place is always crowded so be prepared to wait to be attended to..where and when the waiter feels uve waited long enuff he comes up to you with the u have "2 minutes to order or to hell with you" attitude and waits on ur head till u mutter out ur order .Just for the enthusiast i ordered the tawa paneer the dhingri dhania a veg biryani and a chicken kolhapuri. The presentation of the food was shabby and the method of serving was haphazard from the outset this place was awful and that is the only adjective that i can think of that can be put up without being abusive.
Right onto the food then, we were served paneer in sweet ketchup with floating coriander and when we asked what the U.F.O. [unidentified food object] was, we were rudely retorted that it was just how Pritam "DA DHABA" made it. Next up was the dhingri mushroom and that is where my anger stems from. Because dhingris is a kind of mushroom, but we were in a rude shock to find cheap button mushrooms used instead. I informed the manager that he can change the dish or we would walk out. That is when he took us seriously and decided to do nothing, the next 2 dishes are not even worth a mention.
All in all i have realised that most restaurants in mumbai are doing well because mumbai is a busy city with a lot of professionals who dont have time to cook and pay out of their skin to eat at almost any eatery and till this trend continues, a lotta flimsy joints will continue to enjoy a clientele that includes the rich and the famous, till then for me and my compatriots pritam ka dhaba shud be nicknamed pritam ka DUBBA

Share:

amitpamnani - Burrp User

amitpamnani

29 Reviews

September 19,2010

2.6

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

more show than substance

We had heard a lot about this place, went there and were disappointed by no valet service, anyway found parking space under a bridge. We entered the dhaba arena, excellent ambience, a perfect punjabi dhaba that takes you straight to amritsar. We ordered a much favoured paneer gulgulla - a disappointment. We make better paneer balls at home. Prawns koliwada, they were stale with bad quantity. We then ordered the authentic sarson ka saag with makki di roti. It lacked seasoning, nothing close to punjabi food, then we ordered butter chicken with rotis and roomali rotis, again average, nothing to boast about but the only thing we liked very much was the karara roti - crispy roomali roti with dry spices, a chatpata snack - that was a clear cut hit. We ordered lassi, it came impressively in lota like glasses, it was good, but expensive, 115rs for a glass of lassi is not cheap. So overall, if you go for the ambiance, its really good, but if you are going to devour good food, i wouldnt recommend this place. Although if you want to spend plenty of time sitting on the khaats with a drink, then its an ideal place, but dont go there for food primarily alone

Share:

Good food.. need 2 improve on ambience.

Went to this lvly restaurant wid a frnd of mine.. for dinner.. v hd mde prior reservations so didn’t ve an issue of waiting. Lets begin my journey to this place:

Location: cm straight down frm dadar station towards Dadar TT & its located right at the end of d road! Dere is no issue in finding the place.. easy location!

Ambience: There are 2 sections of the rest… a/c & d dhaba style! V chose 4 an a/c one since its summer tym! The ambience is quite good with its typical yellow lighting & no music! U cn overhear fmly or beside table’s conversation… so privacy lacks.. seating is a bit uncomfortable too.. since they have hardly given good space to enter inside in d sofa section… but I luc d dhaba style seating on d 2nd part of d rest… ve been there earlier.. so I knw abt it.. damn good style.. wid pillows & charpayi’s at ur leisure! Overall, 3.5/5 rating for the ambience put together!

Food: I won’t disagree with the fact that Punjabi food is really fab here… the waiter helped us with our choices & d food came piping hot.. & u cud make out dat it was freshly made… unlike some places where it is re-cooked! Our order was subjective to main course only since v weren’t dat hungry! I loved their rice preparation & their dal! It was simply amazing! Their lassi is also too good.. served in authentic Punjabi style! I also luved their romali roti better than their kulcha! It was really soft n tender! Overall, food was 5/5.

Service: Very courteous staff & service was as per d customer’s need.. i.e. hurry up or make it at leisure for time to b spent in d rest types! We were greeted warmly while entering & exiting the place with thanks while exiting! Nice service.. waiter had d knowledge of d dishes on d menu & helped us with it. Rating: 5/5.

Price: D deciding factor: Its not CHEAP! Good food with good service does command some price.. our bill ran a l’l over a thousand for the two of us.. its an ok sort of pricing… not expensive but not cheap.. moderately priced!

Recommend: Yes, completely recommendable to every burrper!

Share:

4.4

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Worth a visit again..just for dessert.

Firstly let me clear something that was alien to meet to until my last visit. Pritam Da Dhabha is a separate restaurant and Pritam Restaurant is a separate restaurant, though belonging to the same people. The inside is the restaurant and the outside place (PDD) open only for dinner, is a different restaurant with another kitchen and uses only desi ghee as a cooking medium. The one inside is more Moghlai whereas the Dhaba is authentic Panjabi. This i was told by the manager.
Went there yet again a few days ago. Actually read the latest Uppercrust where they have rated the PDD butter chicken amongst the top 5 available in Bombay and was tempted to give it another shot. Rightfully so.
I would rate this amongst the most reasonably priced food available in the city as compared to similar restaurants.
Not to be mistaken for a similarly named, deceptive, dumpy place somewhere on the Bombay Delhi highway. That guy is using the name and goodwill of this restaurant and cashing in.

At PDD, the Chakori Kebab, or the Murg Hariyali malai tikka is superlative. Tried many new dishes this time; Shaan e Murg and the Mutton Galoti kababs are to die for. I have had black Dal everywhere but the one available here is amongst the best. Devoid of cream but full in flavour its just irresistible. The Paneer Tikkas are the softest i have ever eaten. Would love to mention two dishes which my parents still crave since their college days and i find them delicious too. The Palak and the Baingan Bharta. Eat them to believe it,The service is friendly and fast and the servers do so with a smile. This is one place which is always full, come what day. Dont think this kind of loyalty is built up only on goodwill food plays an integral part.. For those who find it expensive, try going to other similar Indian restaurants, they will find out what expensive is. Thankfully the food is not tuned in to the local gujju taste (sorry gujjus no offence meant) like most, The food here tastes like food and not dessert. Speaking of desserts there is a dessert display counter. They claim, of recent, they make their own breads, cakes and confectionery. The cheese cake (i had strawberry) was to die for. There are many inviting desserts to choose from. Will have to make another visit to try them. Full on recommended for a revisit. Will put a review of the desserts soon.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good Food

Went to this place for lunch with my colleagues. We sit in the AC section of the restaurant. In starters we ordered "Paneer ke Gulgule" and "Hara Bhara Kabab" and in non-veg we ordered "Chicken Kali Miri".

Both the Veg and Non-veg dishes were good and in Main course we ordered "Daal Makhani", "Punjabi Dum Aloo" and in Non-veg we ordered "Bhuna Gosht".

Food was really tasty and yummy. A must place to visit for all Punjabi food lovers.

Share:

mumbaifood - Burrp User

mumbaifood

1 Reviews

February 25,2010

5.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Beautiful Place

I dont think there is a better restaurant in Mumbai, that just takes you away from the city and transports you to another land. The restaurant is very unassuming at the entrance but as soon as you enter, you are transported to a village in north india.
I sat on this bed for my meal and was told that the best way to eat here is to remove your shoes and lie on the bed. Enjoy your drink and have a comfortable meal.

Now lets talk about the FOOD!!! Lovely North Indian food. The food is Spicy and full of flavours.

The must haves:
Karari roti at the beginning of your meal. This crispy roti is a prefect meal starter. The chakori kabab is to die for (never had a kabab like this one before)
I had a vegetarian friend with me who just loved the veg Galauti kabab and the paneer tikka masala.

The icing on the cake was the chura paratha. You just have to try this one.

Overall a perfect restaurant to a long meal that relaxes you out completely.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Whats the fuss?

The rating I want to give is 2.5-burrp team please take note :)

Seriously, whats the fuss? Ever since i shifted to Dadar i have been hearing all this hullaboo about pritam and even after visiting it 3 times i don't know whats the fuss? GRASS in Dadar west is a much better option for Indian food.

Just visited it last week (before the colleges were shut down due to swine flu) with friends and we ordered some parathas, daal fry, kashmiri pulao, a paneer gravy dish (don't remember the name, maybe paneer handi or something) and a mix veg gravy dish, also for starters we had some grilled veggie thing & paneer tikka and everything was ok. Nothing made any of us (we were a group of 6 people) go "wow!"- Infact we were pretty disappointed with the paneer gravy dish because we had specifically told the waiter we wanted it spicy and it was still made sweet and then we returned it and he brought us something which had too much oil and chillies in the dish. Apart from that everything was ok, nothing memorable.

Seriously is this place so popular only on goodwill? i would never make special plans to come here, if i m somewhere near Dadar station i might drop in but a big no for any special occasion. the ambiance is okay, we found it too noisy and full of chatty people, but then we were also making a lot of noise ourselves so.
All in all an ok place, nothing special.

Share:

hammeron - Burrp User

hammeron

1 Reviews

August 17,2009

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Pritam da "Dhaaba"?

I had gone to this place(big mistake) thinking since its called Pritam da dhaaba we'll be treated to some authentic (???) north indian food. The only thing authentic about this place was the discourteous staff. The food i would not say is bad but don't expect the dhaaba flavour here because its non existent. The starters were ok and the food (veg) is strictly ok. The ambiance is good but is very typical of a joint that is a bit upscale. such restaurants are found everywhere and one does not necessarily have to travel all the way to Dadar for this experience and in my opinion it isn't worth it at all. If you want to experience good authentic punjabi food and in authentic dhaaba style then visit Pratap's dhaaba in oshiwara. Highly recommended! Avoid Pritam da Dhaaba.

Share:

2.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good Food, Bad Service

Have been going to pritam for years. The food in the recent times has gone down a little but still very good. The best part of the meal is to sit in the outside section and see the kababs and tandoori made right in front of you.

They need to improve their service and the servers. Will definitely go back.

Share:

OMG !! The luckiest restaurant ever..

Lucky !! Cause OMG ! This place has not manage to shut down .....

Servers are so DEAD, they walk like Zombies.

Example of lathargic-ness (I hope that is a word), we wanted to order, after soup were done, the senior captain came and wanted to take our order, I asked him to get a few things for myself and others, but since we were around 9 of us, I asked him to get this order and ask the others what they want, (CAUSE I WAS NOT WORKING THERE), he said "no I will not go from here, till YOU give me everyone's order, cause then I will have to go n come back again n again. WTF ! isn't that his JOB Profile ?

He waited there for 30 minutes till all 9 of us were done with the order.

Specialties of this restaurant:
A must try: The ICE TEA which tasted like it had Masala TEA, for real, trust me they actually made real masala tea and cooled it with ICE. (on top of this, the server and manager would not agree that the ICE TEA they made is undrinkable) OMG SAVE me from these freaks !

Reservation Tips:
When I called up for a table booking for 9 of us, they said "we do not take any bookings for a table after 8:30, if you can manage please come within 10 mins - time was 8:20pm) I said ok WE WILL MANAGE.

Ya, maybe this restaurant is really full after 8:30pm. 8 tables around us were empty all throughout our dinner. It was a SAT Night !

What more you want to know.... hahaha i dont want to remember anything else hahaha..

Share:

1.6

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Pritam da Dubba!

A bunch of us from work decided that we could afford to do a long lunch, it being a Friday and everything. Us hungry souls were in the mood for Punju food so hit Pritam. We sat in the AC section (didn't know they had the open-air dhaba type section as well - do now from the other reviews) which was nothing fancy. Those typical tables, chairs and sofas that you may find at the AC section of a slightly fancy Udupi joint.

Ordered a lot of veg and non-veg stuff (there was 11 of us). Us vegetarians ordered the Paneer Ke Gulgule and the Bharwaan Alu Tandoori for starters. Both were quite good. The non-veggies enjoyed their fish (Machli Hara Masala) and chicken (Reshmi Kabab) starter as well. I also ordered a Salt Lassi which was terrible. It was just sour curd in a tall glass (I'm pretty sure no salt had even gone into it). Sent it back for a Masala Chaas which was nice.

As for the mains, we ordered Kaali Daal, Hari Makai and Sabz Kadhai. The Daal was nothing spectacular and the other two were absolutely uninspiring. I ordered a Pudina Paratha to go with the gravies and it tasted slightly burnt. Each bite proved to be more difficult than the one before and barely went down my throat (and this would've held true even if it wasn't slightly burnt). I gave up halfway and my friend who'd made the same choice didn't even get as far as me and called for a Tandoori Roti instead.

The damage was about Rs 440 per head! And for what!? Even 200 bucks would've pinched considering there wasn't much about the place to even waste time thinking about.

Service: Just normal... nothing to 'ooh' about.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Good Panju Food

If anybody dying to have panju food please visit this place. I with my colleague went to this place on friday night. In starters we ordered Khatta Mittha Paneer which is really finger licking and in main course we ordered Dal Makhni with Laccha Parantha and food turns out to be excellent.

Staff is very friendly and service is good.
Will definitely go to this place next time. A must visit for all the punjabi food lovers.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Expensive, very slow service

Though the food is fine, I didn't like the service, they take ages to serve!! Plus the prices are quite high! We tried butter chicken which was fine but not something to die for! the naans were also thin. Not the soft ones that one wants. Good to try once in a while. Wish they lower their prices

Share:

Sal  - Burrp User

Sal

224 Reviews

January 20,2008

5.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Fabulous Place

Don't judge a book by its cover is perfectly apt for this place. The outside and as you enter had me reconsidering but once I was in the dhaba it was fabulous.There was waiting even on a week day.

The ambiance is great with good music, hookas and authentic khatlas where you can sit or lie down comfortably.

Ordered a paneer starter, methi mutter malai and yellow dal. The methi mutter was fine but I loved the dal (which I generally never order when I go outside but was totally worth it).

Not sure of the cost since it was a treat but a hookah (Rs. 300), 1 starter, 1 veg, dal and rotis were within Rs 1000.

Of course with good company any place is enjoyable but this place is a must visit.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Dhaba food in Dhaba Style.

It seems that Mr. Santoshn restricted himself to the A/C restaurant @ Pritam and didn't venture into the Dhaba at the rear. The layout is as thematic as you would want it and god know why people call it expensive. It is as pricey as any other standard restaurant in Mumbai. Our bill for 3 with drinks and snacks (no desserts) came to Rs.1500/-

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

eat under the stars on a charpoi

The best thing is the chicken kebabs and tandoori stuff. whats better is that you sit on charpois out in the open under the stars. A charpoi is basically a bed without any mattress i.e. a wooden frame and jute ropes which has a slight bouncy feel to it. Very chilled out place. Good place to hang out and pass time. You can even lie down on the charpoi - they provide you pillows (cushions) too!

They even have a resident palmist in the evenings who is amazingly good. Food is good and the price is decent. gone there 3-4 times last year. will definitely go there again.

Great place for foreigners to sample a rustic indian flavor.

Share:

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Way 2 expensive, not worth at all!

Was here last friday with a friend couple of friends. First of all, it doesn't have a decor of a dhaba, which one would expect with the name.
The ambiance is looks very formal.
We ordered couple of drinks and snacks. No main course and ended up paying a bomb for it.

Will not advise this place, if u r looking for some fun and casual dinner.

Share: