Sign in With Your Burrp Id!

Username

Password

Or Sign in using
Register With Burrp!

Username

Password

Confirm password

Email Address

Gender

Date of Birth

SHARE THIS PAGE

Or Send Details Via SMS

+91

Indian mobileS or fixed wireless
numbers only

Home/mumbai/Shiro

Shiro

WorliSouth Mumbai  

3.9

59 Reviews / 61 Ratings

Your rating

Gallery


Sunday Brunch Jul 27 - Nov 16

  • It’s time to bring in the MasterChef kitchen closer to home as Shiro, partners with the world’s most famous culinary show - MasterChef Australia Season 6 on Star World, for an exclusive gastronomical experience. Patrons get the opportunity to savor the exhilarating flavors as the brand new season hits the screens once again!

    Shiro, the premium luxury resto-lounge, presents the all new Sunday Brunch menu in association with MasterChef Australia Season 6. Soak in the Zen-inspired ambience as you feast on the elaborate Pan-Asian spread with Thai Rice Noodle Salad, Tofu & Pak Choi in Ginger Soy Broth, Chicken & Shrimp Hanoi Rolls among others.
    Days: Every Sunday
    Time: 12:30pm to 4:30pm
    Price: Rs. 1850++ per person


Sushi Samba - Salsa Night with Latin Twist Oct 22

  • Come and move to the Latino beats with Latin Twist' by Mary & Derek! Put your hands in the air for DJs Mary & Ash spinning the best of music.

    Time: 10.30pm onwards


Sushi Samba - Salsa Night with Latin Twist Oct 29

  • Come and move to the Latino beats with Latin Twist' by Mary & Derek! Put your hands in the air for DJs Mary & Ash spinning the best of music.

    Time: 10.30pm onwards


Halloween Celebration Oct 31

  • Gourmet It Up in association with Shiro is co-hosting a freakishly awesome Halloween Celebration! It's time to dress up, let your hair down and let fright night fever take over your blood stream to the tunes of Video Gaga by DJ Bala. Costume Themed Party.

    Time: 10pm onwards

    Cover Charge: Rs. 1000 all inclusive for people who register through GourmetItUp. Gourmet It Up guests will be allowed to redeem three imfl beers/ wine/ cocktails from the bar for the event on the cover charge

    Registration: Please pre - book to be on the guest list. Reservations / Inquiries - concierge@gourmetitup.com / or call at 9619551387



Shiro Reviews

3.0

Price

Must-go-to-Shiro

The larger-than-life Zen Buddhist Statues are quite unique. The ambiance is set to soothe and calm your senses and rejuvenate you to new life. With a top floor as well, it seems to be quite large in length, breadth and height. The interiors will surely take your breath away. Overall, a beautiful place to be on a Saturday night. You must have the Chicken with Malaysian Sambal

Share:

March 5, 2014response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Shiro. We are glad to know you enjoyed the Food,Service and Ambiance, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards
Shiro Management

3.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Great Ambience

Located next to the Hard Rock Cafe, this place is very big in size. They have adopted a Egyptian Theme to decorate their Ambience which is worth the compliments. They have a separate bar section and a dance floor for group parties. The time I went here, it was very less crowded and very quiet. Had not ordered for any food as we had already had our dinner.

Share:

March 5, 2014response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to Shiro, and would love to have you back soon.Do try our Food on your next visit.

Warm Regards
Shiro Management

King-sized and happening.

I was here on a Saturday night.
The place is hulking and hence sets itself apart because being in Mumbai, we know how cramped clubs can get. .
The interiors and ambiance is breath taking. Very few places i have been in Mumbai can match shiro's when it comes to interiors.

A lavish area, two bars and a separate dining zone is what the place offers. The dance floor is pretty big and the dj played music with videos on the big screen. Music was mostly commercial and repeated. No new songs were played. The good thing about this place is that it strictly entertains couple entries only.

The dining zone is elevated and hence guests who just came to have a good dinner without having people dancing around them, are pampered with just what they wanted.

Drinks are expensive. Now i cannot really say if they were costly or cheap, but i found them expensive. Two pints of ultra costed us 800 bucks. However, given the location and the crowd that visits the place, one can say it is reasonable.

The food was piquant and rich. One of the waiters told me they imported spices from different places to get the appropriate taste.

Overall, a beautiful place to be on a Saturday night, but if you are a person who wouldn't wanna spend much lavishly, you really cannot expect much.

Share:

March 5, 2014response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Shiro. We are glad to know that you enjoy Saturday nights with us.We en devour to see you back soon, to enjoy our Ambiance,Food and Drink.

Warm Regards
Shiro Management

3.0

Love in Japan

Had been here with some Japanese delegates who were visiting us for some work. Firstly the choice of Shiro was suggested by them as they had searched on internet found this place close to their hometown food Tokyo..

We had the set menu lunch meal and it was indeed worth the money.

Loved the portions.

Desserts were also very good.

Sure gonna be back

Share:

March 5, 2014response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for taking the time to review your time spent at Shiro.We are happy to know that we could live upto your expected standard and would be glad to serve you better each time.Hope to see you back soon.

Warm Regards
Shiro Management

3.0

Food

Service

Ambiance

Price

Music

Best place to party

Had visited this place after my exams and really this place is perfect to party on saturdays...dj henry spills good music. sound quallity was ok they need to improve more on sound, this place though attracts good crowd, ambience is awesome. Drinks are moderately priced. Apple martini, mojitos are best. Food includes wide range of japnese , thai, korean cuisine.

Share:

March 5, 2014response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for spending time to review your recent visit to Shiro. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your time spent here.We do hope to see you back on Saturday's to follow.

Warm Regards
Shiro Management

Enjoy Asian Elegance at Shiro, Mumbai

True to its name which means a stone castle, Shiro, at Mumbai, has three gigantic stone statues, a very impressive high ceiling, stone clad walls and flowing water bodies. Two attentive bouncers and a smiling hostess let you in after a security check to a huge hall. You soak in the huge bar area with a DJ console next to it and smart use of the color, red. Space is not an issue at Shiro, with a lounge area, dance area near the bar, three party rooms and a private dining area, one level above. Stone imagery is abundant and so are beautifully dressed people.

What you get- The impressive drinks menu boasts of premium domestic and international liquors, wines, vodka and wine based cocktails, margaritas and signature drinks like Apple Martini, Fig mojito and more. As the crowd started trickling in, we settled back on the comfortable chairs, with mojitos in our hands, in the private dining area equipped with a bar and a live cooking station. Tangy and refreshing, the mojitos were well made with generous amount of mint leaves.

Shiro’s food menu includes a range of Japanese, Chinese, Korean and Thai cuisines. Relish a huge choice of dim sums, sushi, and stir fried delicacies for starters and variety of noodles and rice for the main course. We started with the must for every Japanese meal- Miso soup. The light and clear soup had silken tofu and thinly sliced mushrooms. For starters; we ordered the highly recommended Mahtani chicken. Named after one of the owners, it’s a melange of succulent chicken and select green vegetables in spicy Korean flavours. The main course consisting of was udon noodles, the thickest variety of noodles; stir fried with tofu and chicken in a spicy sauce was delectable. We tried Mississippi mud slide for dessert. The classic chocolate mud pie arrived generously topped with a rich chocolate sauce and was devoured almost instantly!

Verdict- Comparable to best night spots of the world, Shiro maintains its touch of Indian elegance in small details like use of bright organza fabric in the lounge beds, Indian curios and a lotus pond. Chinese, Japanese and Balinese elements intermingle to form a relaxed Asian feel. Vegetarians can relish a choice of over twenty vegetarian dishes. Friday nights are reserved for best of retro music and Saturday night the resident Dj spins hip hop, house and popular music. All in all, Shiro continues to spice up the Mumbai nightlife with its trendy and upscale menu, gigantic space and good music. Valet parking is available,

What you pay for a meal for two – Rs. 3000/-

Share:

March 5, 2014response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to Shiro with us. We are elated to learn that you enjoyed your overall visit.We hope to see you back soon and deliver the same standards, or even better each time.
Warm Regards
Shiro Management

Dance on!

Great place to dance the night away. It has the best vibe, great crowd, and always gets you in the mood. Love the music, and the bar serves up some mean cocktails! Never really tried the food here, because well, their alcohol keeps me going! Great place to head to,once Hard rock shuts.

Share:

July 2, 2013response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for visiting Shiro Mumbai.
We are delighted to know that you had a blast! Sure hope that you will pay us another visit pretty soon.
Warm regards,
Shiro Management

4.0

Thrilling Experience

The place is great so as the atmosphere and live energy.. the staff were so good to deal with and genuine or i would say helpful. we were there for our office party and had a mind blasting time there dancing, drinking, having fun around and living life to the fullest. if u really want to unwind urself you guys must go to shiro, a perfect place to be there on Weekends.. :)

Share:

April 3, 2013response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for choosing Shiro as your party venue.
We are extremely delighted to know that you a great time with us. We welcome you to visit us again soon.
Warm regards,
Shiro Management

No stags

They do good Sushi but wouldn't let me in yesterday and claimed they don't let stags in. I was profoundly disappointed and ended up eating onion rings and beer with the peasants at HRC. Note to the management: I do not wish to dine with women on my nights out, neither am I a predatory Indian male who is going to rape or harass your patrons, so how about you just serve me my damn Sushi next time?

Share:

February 11, 2013response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Turning away guests is unpleasant for us as well. But as much as we dislike doing it, the policy to strictly scan single male guests on weekends (Friday/Saturday) after 10: 30 pm is something we just have to follow.
We are extremely sorry that you could not try our Sushi on your last visit. We however, would love to have you with us. For single entry, you can join us on any day from Sunday through Thursday. You can also join us at lunch, where we have unlimited Sushi spread. We real

4.0

GIRLS NIGHT OUT

FRIDAY NIGHT WITH THE GIRLS CELEBRATING ONE OF US BIRTHDAY
GREAT MUSIC PLAYING,WE WERE SINGING ALONG,DRINKS WERE SUGGESTED AND BROUGHT ON TIME,HOWEVER FOOD WAS QUITE DISSAPOINTING AND DINT MUCH CARE FOR IT.BUT THE CROWD WAS AWESOME AND HAD OUR EYES POPPING OUTON THE WHOLE A PLEASANT EXPIERINCE .WANT TO GO AGAIN

Share:

January 5, 2013response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for choosing Shiro for your birthday celebration. While we are delighted to know that you had a great time with us, we are disappointed to know that the food did not please you as much. We will definitely strive to better the overall experience of all our customers.
However, as we said, it is heartening to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and we welcome you to visit us again.
Warm Regards,
Shiro Management

2.0

Great Decor but Service on a slow day....

Decided to celebrate an important birthday for a family member on a thursday night. The place was pretty empty this night, but the service was really quite slow. At one point we waited for close to 20 minutes for our second round of drinks. The appetizers (edamame took forever to arrive) The food came quite late and was luke warm to pretty much cold by the time it arrived. We ordered a wasabi chicken dish for one of the main courses, which tasted more of mayonnaise then it did wasabi and had no flavour. I've been to Shiro quite a few times and had a great experience. We had brought a cake along to cut, which the service staff very kindly served - but didn't provide utensils or plates, and only did once I asked for it. Finally, the music was extremely loud and obnoxious and didn't fit the mood of the evening for anyone there. Hope the service and food improves the next time round, which may be a long, long while.

Share:

December 20, 2012response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for being a loyal visitor at Shiro. We apologize for the unpleasant experience upon your last visit. We have shared your thoughts with our entire team. We hope you consider us again and give us another chance to serve you better. Warm Regards, Shiro Management

Awesome Ambiance, Great People.

We hit Shiro at around 12, this saturday after chilling out at Hard Rock for a few. The place is great, Its an all round riot, folks dancing on pedestials, tables and what not.
Great place to unwind on the weekend, Awesome crowd, food was pretty cheap as well. Will visit Again.

More power to ya Shiro!

Share:

October 19, 2012response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for a great review! We would love to have you dine with us again.
Regards,
Shiro Management

5.0

no comparision its No.1

simply i can say its best in mumbai........

great crowd..great ambience & music ...

Share:

October 19, 2012response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a great time with us.
Regards,
Shiro Management

5.0

exotic

excellent decor, no words for the bar display, must visit and watch it. furious shooters and slammers.

Share:

October 19, 2012response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for a great feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience at Shiro. We welcome you to visit us again.
Regards,
Shiro Management

Great place with a great ambience with super food

Had gone there with friends for lunch. Ambience is really nice. Food is also awesome. We had relatiovely lesser crowd in the noon but am sure the place becomes much more lively in the evening. Overall perfect place to hangout with both family as well as friends.

Had a bad experience with the Valet though. Inspite of telling the parking guy thrice that he should not disturb my seat settings, I find my seat reclined at almost 120 degrees. Hope the valet guy was not using my car to take his afternoon nap. When I registered a complaint with the manager over the phone I was told they would get back after looking into it. Still waiting for the phone call.

- Rajiv Chaudhari (9819933273)

Share:

Meeta  - Burrp User

Meeta

30 Reviews

March 25,2012

4.0

A restaurant with superlative ambience

Visiting Shiro was a wonderful experience. In hopes of getting authentic Thai food, we narrowed our restaurant option to Shiro. Entering the place you are completely taken by surprise by the sheer size of this place, given the fact that it is located in a city like Mumbai. The ambiance is by far the best I have experienced, and that's saying something.

As for the food, I was greatly satisfied by what we got. We ordered Chilli Lemon soup (mostly because they did not have Tom Yum soup), Vietnamese Rice Wraps and Thai Green curry with Garlic rice. The Soup was light and refreshing, while the the wraps were not bad themselves. I expected authentic Vietnamese dipping sauce but had to do with some sweet one instead. Thai Green curry was good too, enough that I could forgive the lack of pea aubergines and a surprising presence of asparagus and broccoli instead.

But the garlic rice were the highlight of out meal. We could have devoured bowlfuls of just that rice.

Verdict: Love this place! It's a wonderful place for a quite dining experience. The food is good, service is commendable. Ambiance is..well... the best. For an authentic experience at East Asian cuisine, this place is definitely close to the bulls-eye.

Share:

5.0

Memorable

We went here on 24th March 2012 on account of the Restaurant Week Promotion. We sat above near the Teppanyaki Table. The food, service & ambiance was excellent. Dishes worth having again were the Hibichi Rice, Yaki Udon Noodles, The Chicken Yakitori, Prawn with Kaffir Lime and Galangal & the Coconut and Pecan Tart. Also noteworthy was the staff, specially Sujay who took really good care of us without being too intrusive. All this while i was wondering why i never came here for food. Had come here just for drinks once post HRC. Now i will go there regularly. And get the Teppanyaki table experience! All in all, a great experience.

Share:

3.0

Service needs attention

I am from the service/retail industry so I tend to be a little more critical of the service establishments that I frequent. Having said that the food and ambience do not disappoint but the service leaves a lot to be desired. We frequent the place every once in a while mainly due to the dearth of good hangouts in south Mumbai... We were there last Friday and were seated on a table on the ground level . We were having a few drinks and after about 15 mins of sitting there we were asked to move as the table was reserved and the guests had arrived. We were there till the place shut down at 1:10am and as I suspected no one came there. The Reserved signs on all tables seem to be a convenient way of asking ppl to move around depending on what they order. I was planning to dine there on my wife's birthday this week ,but now I won't. Just for the principle of it. It loses 1star only for this reason in my review.

Share:

Awesome

This might be the spoiler review but make sure you visit this place after you read my review. The ambience, service and food is Top class. Excellent is also the right word

I chose Shiro after a pretty bad day at work and to my surprise, all the stress & negative effects vanished . So, I try to go there more often but thanks to prices I frequent it less often but its all worth it. I tend to love it even more
There is ample space to move around. This lounge is truly a class apart coz the music is pretty groovy and I had a good time to myself.
I rate it a five on five. If the price is not a factor then you, yes YOU, gotta go :D

Share:

1.0

Awfull!!!!!

Must say that i had heard grt things abt the place the ambience the food....but last month when i visited shiro's it was just awful.....the food was plain cold.....the staff even aftr requesting them to replace the order did not oblige.....and infact even argyed.....dnt want to ever visit again and will never recommend it to anyone

Share:

baezgrace - Burrp User

baezgrace

1 Reviews

October 16,2011

1.0

Pathetic Service

Having come from AER bar, where the ambience and service was absolutely fantastic, we went to Shiros tonight, 16th Oct, 2011. We were 2 persons and were seated at the teppanyaki table even though another table was empty. It was reserved apparently and was nt occupied even after we finished our food. The staff had a very high handed attitude when we requested another table. They were inattentive and we had to request water a couple of times. Finally our bills took over 30 min to clear. I am definitely not going here again.

Share:

December 15, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Dear baezgrace,

We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience with us! Do let us know when you plan to go there next and we will ensure you take back happy moments from here :)

Cheers,
Shiro

5.0

Love this place

I can not fault this place. Have been 3 times for lunch and the food and service has always been spot on.
Great sushi, great noodles, great stir fry. And price is good too for such a nice place.

Share:

October 11, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Dear Aussie Traveller,
Thank you for the wonderful review! We cannot wait to see you again.
Thank you,
Shiro Management

Good, classy experience

Shiro's is awesome. The first thing that hits you is the sheer sense of space - in a way, it's even better than Global Fusion, which might be larger, because of the beautiful way they've used the giant statues, plants, and water.
The food is very, very good, the drinks excellent, the music decent (we went on a monday night so it was very soft, subtle ambient stuff, but I've heard good stuff about it on other days as well) and overall, and excellent ambience / experience.
Service was ok - a bit slow, but gives you enough time to appreciate the experience.
Yes, it is premium - but it's very worth it.
The AC could do with being a bit less siberian, but considering we were only one of 2 groups that evening, I guess it's understandable. Carry a jacket.

Share:

October 11, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Dear Ashish,
Thank you for the great review!
Warm Regards,
Shiro Management

Anon2000 - Burrp User

Anon2000

2 Reviews

August 26,2011

1.0

Awful Service

I am a regular here but have to say I was really shocked by how badly our group was treated on a recent night out. My friend had booked a table for 4 for dinner at 9pm on a Friday night. When we went in I realised right away that we were sitting right under an AC unit that was set to Siberian. Through the night we must have asked 4-5 times for the temperature to be put up but we were totally ignored. When I say it was cold it was absolutely unbearably freezing. I then had to swap seats with another person in our group due to the cold, but then realised the AC unit was dripping dirty water on me, another of our group and on the table. Again mention to the waiters was totally ignored.

Then at 10pm (we hadn't even been served our main courses) the manager came to our table to say we needed to leave the restaurant by 10.15 that our table had been booked by another party. My friend hadn't been told this when he booked the table, many days previously, and when we looked around we could see another 4 tables for 4 which were unoccupied where a new party of 4 coming in could easily have been seated. The manager was very insistant but my friend held his ground and we stayed. At no point later in the night did this person come back to apologise or offer any explanation. The party who came in were of course accomodated at one of the other free tables.

On top of all that the order for one of my friends was mixed up, it was cooked in the wrong sauce, and the waiter didn't seem bothered at all. He told her the hot plate was closed and basically if she didn't eat it she would have nothing else to eat.

At the end of the night we were then each presented with Feedback forms by the grinning waiting staff who didn't seem to think there was any problem all night. This is a complete joke. No discount was offered and even after one of my friends wrote down all that happened during the night on the feedback form did anyone come over to our table to apologise or anything. For the prices we paid I thought that was the least we deserved.

Shiro you need to get your Customer Service up to scratch, what we experienced that night was disgraceful.

Share:

August 29, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

We deeply regret the less than satisfactory service you received at Shiro. May we request you to kindly share your contact information and give us an opportunity to make up for the evening.
Warm Regards,
Shiro Management

August 29, 2011response from management at Anon2000:

I don't want to post my contact details on here, please provide me with an email address and I can email you my contact details.

August 29, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Completely understandable. Kindly send an email to andrea@jsmcorp.in

Thank you.

September 22, 2011response from management at Anon2000:

We were invited back to Shiro last week to make up for the disastrous night we had some weeks ago. I have to say the whole evening was incredible, we were treated like Kings. We were given the most amazing tasting food and drink, until we were unable to eat anymore! All of this was given to us for free. To be honest, we couldn't have been better treated, so much so that I would delete the review above but I don't seem to be able to do that. Thank you Carlton and the team, we will definitely be back for some more incredible food, drink and this

4.0

Amazing

Had a perfect evening!!

Share:

December 15, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Dear Vikrant,

Absolutely delighted to hear that! When do we see you again? :)

Cheers,
Shiro

Excellent flavours; good service

Dont miss the veg spicy california sushi, the cheese rolls, and korean chili potato. Highly recommend this restaurant. Extremely crowded on the weekends so if you want to try the food with good service, go on a weekday or early on the weekends.

Share:

August 29, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Thank you for the great recommendation. If you love our veg items, you must try our Crispy Spicy Avocado roll. It's delectable!

great music, great ambiance

Shiros has always been an enjoyable affair.
Great music,awesome ambiance.eegant interiors.not so great finicky entry rules.
really good food,expensive alcohol.. but overall for a Saturday night its worth it.

Share:

December 15, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Dear Lagna,

Thank you for such lovely and kind words. We are absolutely delighted and would love to have you again, soon :)

Cheers,
Shiro

Good Sushi and Sashimi.

Went for afternoon brunch. Found the apetizers to be quite nice, especially the sushi and the sashimi. The abience is just plain brilliant. Loved the high ceiling and the stone walls. Oh yes and they have this large staircase with an awsome hand railing which doubled up as a slide for my two year old nephew. The place is definitely kid friendly with all the waiters being more than helpful. Had a good time. Keep it up guys.

Share:

December 15, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Dear Jiten1S,

Thank you for such lovely and kind words. We are absolutely delighted and would love to have you again, soon :)

Cheers,
Shiro

March 25, 2012response from management at Jiten1S:

Dear bhavna, was a pleasure hearing back.. Will drop in soon...hope to find you there... Cheers... Jiten

Shiro physically assaults its guests

I have been a regular at Shiro ever since it opened but their pathetic way of dealing with customers was brought to my attention last night. I would like to share one of the most humiliating experiences I have had in my life: I was at Shiro on Wednesday, 2nd February 2011 along with my sister and a bunch of friends for the Wednesday night Latino night. Four of us (2 guys + 2 girls including my sister) were sitting outside smoking. Two bouncers from Shiro approached us even though we were about 25 meters from the entrance of their property. They saw my sister rolling a tobacco cigarette and immediately jumped to the conclusion that we were involved in some form of drugs. Before we could even explain to them what happened, they started threatening my sister. Please realize, this is all OUTSIDE their property. I demanded that we speak to the manager. The manager, a Mr. Victor, arrived on the scene but could definitely not keep the two aggressive bouncers under control. I had stepped back inside to collect my bag and close my tab before leaving. As I was standing at the bar waiting to clear my tab, both those bouncers returned and started manhandling me INSIDE the restaurant. At this point, all my friends collected around the bouncers and demanded a reason for manhandling me. The manager, Mr. Victor, again cited that "I had never told them anything." Are the bouncers at Shiro given a free reign to do anything they please? Are they allowed to physically assault a guest without so much as a notification from the manager? I have written to the manager and the company that runs Shiro. Lets hope that something positive comes off it.

Share:

4.0

nice place

i have been to shiro about 4 times and everytime i have not been dissapointed.the ambience/drinks/music/crowd is good.it is a good backup place if you cannot go the place you had decided.

Share:

December 15, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Dear pacmangs1,

Thank you for such lovely and kind words. We are absolutely delighted and would love to have you again, soon :)

Cheers,
Shiro

tapanbagwe - Burrp User

tapanbagwe

3 Reviews

December 16,2010

4.0

Amazing Oriental Food

Sushi's are worth experincing. Ambeince and decor is awesome. Well stocked bar, quick and friendly service makes it a experince...

Share:

December 15, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Dear tapanbagwe,

Thank you for such lovely and kind words. We are absolutely delighted and would love to have you again, soon :)

Cheers,
Shiro

4.0

Excellent Ambience, Satisfactory Food

Our group of three reached Bombay Dyeing Mills at 7:30. The gate only has a sign of Hard Rock Cafe. The Shiro sign is snuggily hidden on one of the compound's side walls. Through the three hours spent on the Saturday evening, the place was nearly empty with only about 3 tables occupied.

The high bamboo ceiling, huge Asian sculptures and oriental architecture is beautiful with soothing lights and low music, albeit the DJ could play something better. The staff is polite and helpful.

We ordered a Martini (Rs455), a vodka cocktail named "Shanghai Sunset" (Rs450) which seemed low on alcohol and an apple juice (Rs95). That was followed by smoked salmon sushi (Rs475) which was excellent. Appetizers included Chicken Yakitori (Rs345) which is Korean bbq style chicken and Mahtani Chicken (Rs375) which was probably the best dish. Main course was a spicy Thai style chicken (Rs395) and garlic fried rice (Rs245), which due to its small portion had to be repeated. Total damage was Rs3874 w/o tips.

I wasn't amazed by the cocktails and the portions are small. But the USP of the place is the soothing ambiance in contrast to Hard Rock Cafe next door. The staff said it gets noisier after 11. Try it if you are tired of the Dome and Aer and need air conditioning while sipping on tried and tested drinks.

Share:

December 15, 2011response from management at CPKBKC:

Dear cerealKiller,

Thank you for such lovely and kind words. We are absolutely delighted and would love to have you again, soon :)

Cheers,
Shiro

4.0

Aamcha Buddha Bar!

Relaxed, oriental experience. The staff is good (very well informed) and you can trust what they recommend.

I don't like low-seating. As a matter of fact (my brother pointed out) it's such an irony for a place with ultra-high ceiling to have ultra-low sitting! I guess it works for most of people, not for me, though.

Food is well-presented, well-served. Portions can get better - they're just about okay for 2 people. Go there for the Sushi, especially vegetarian one.

Music is just about perfect and you "can" talk. Can improve by revamping the menu a bit, working on the seating arrangement and adding more pep.

Share:

4.0

Oriental Delight

As soon as you enter this you know you are in for a treat, the decor and the ambiance of the place is outstanding. The food is really good, though a little over priced, the sushi and the tempura cant be missed. The drinks are a little pricey but wont blame them for doing so at such a place.
The place turns into a lounge after 10 playing good music, they have a retro night which is fun. The MOS nights at shiros can get a very crowded.
All in all this place has awesome oriental food and is also a good place to party.

Share:

4.0

Sushi Lovers!

Sushi lovers must go.. especially if you wish to have some good 'vegetarian sushi.' Though it is a little over-priced, but the ambiance and music make up for it!

Share:

Trendy Yet Disappointing

With the first look Shiro astounds the guest with it's breath taking 20 foot statue and the large ceiling and ultra suave ambience.Upon staying there though one realizes it's not very different from the rest of the (less expensive) places in Mumbai. The service is about average, the music was good but the DJ could have done a better job and the food presentation is not half as exquisite as one would expect. Exploring the bar however is an interesting pursuit with very interesting cocktails on the menu it's a great place to enjoy your drink.But one place where Shiro fails badly is the planning of the entire place. The wash rooms for instance are at one end of the floor and one has to go through the excruciatingly crowded dance floor, not a very pretty scenario for someone who has one too many a drink .All in all though it's a good place to visit but you might want to consider carrying a lot of extra cash 'coz this place is mighty expensive

Share:

Trash

Attitude problem, over priced, rude bouncers, sub-standard food.

Ambiance is quite good though - if you just want to go grab a couple of beers, go ahead. But don't go expecting good service - unless you're some VIP of some kind.

Share:

simply ultimate !!

once again here ...... i say it !!!!

truly an ulimate place for great ambience, food, crowd and everydammn stuff !!

.
.. now justing planning over to head for a sunday brunch.

Share:

3.0

Nice Place

Definitely the best ambience in Mumbai. I love the look and feel of the high ceilings and the upstairs VIP area is a nice place to spend an evening. Food is nothing great but i guess this is not really a restaurant per se. Definite must visit for the ambience.

Share:

dfd dfdf - Burrp User

dfd dfdf

1 Reviews

February 13,2010

4.0

the ulimate ..

truly an ulimate place for great ambience, food, crowd and everydammn stuff !!

.
.. now justing planning over to head for a sunday brunch.

Share:

shubham23 - Burrp User

shubham23

2 Reviews

December 14,2009

3.0

This virtual tour thingy is awesome

The virtual tour thingy is awesome.
It gives a perfect overview of the place and gets some tangiubility into the reviews and explainations...Same for infinity mall.

Share:

prashantg - Burrp User

prashantg

1 Reviews

December 08,2009

4.0

Wonderful Virtual Tour

Virtual tour for Shiro is wonderful. I am impressed with the virtual tour. It would be great if we get tours for all such places.

Share:

3.0

Watched the virtual tour , now feel like going

Read some great reviews about this place. Saw the virtual tour as well, now i am definitely going to visit Shiro. Could not really guess whether the place is well decorated, spaced out etc , the virtual tour made matters clear .

Watch out Shiro--- Here i come

Share:

5.0

wohoooooo

Been here.. the 2nd time.. when MOS played. The Ambience and music and crowd was gr8..drinks n food are expensive..not sure how is it on days other than when MOS plays

Share:

AWESOME MUSIC

First Timer to SHIRO, BLOWN AWAY mate... Just really awesome music. Had DJ Ivan playing along with DJ Richard Murray, My feet were on fire, the music was just crazily good. It a was bit too crowded, maybe they knew that DJ richard was playing. And to think that I wasn't ready to come here.

Share:

slurppp - Burrp User

slurppp

1 Reviews

October 17,2009

4.0

Amazing ambience

This place is too good for some special occasions though not for regular hangout..
The service is prompt and the feel of the place gives u a great feeling. However this place is going to be quite heavy on pocket and unless u r ready to spend quite some amount u shudnt be even thinkin bout it..

Share:

2.0

"Great Venue, Overly Crowded"

Coming from Dubai and seeing really good places This venue is great, ambience is really soothing although it shuts at 1am, Arrgh... For people who travel a distance to get there it's a bit of a let down! Especially for the out of towners! Havn't tried the food, the drinks are fairly priced as per other bar/pub standards..
The only thing that I including friends really loathed was that the place was over crowded = health & safety hazzard!!!
I could feel people walking over my feet the entire night! Not to forget the lovelorn kissing and butt pushing while dancing regardless of the fact that there are other people dumbstruck with disgust! Atleast get a damn room people! coming form another country & although being an Indian, most indian aren;t very courteous and that's a really bad rep! The bar is too small for the amount of crowd that is inside and the bar service is OK. I would want to go there again but def not on a weekend, wouldn't want to get my feet trampled on again!

Again, this is subjective, for people who have lived in Mumbai all their life and havent actually experienced international standard night life, this place is decent....but Definately NOT for NRI's!

Share:

5.0

A Sunday Brunch before you die.

Not being a night bird, I can't vouch for the dinners at Shiro but having experienced its gastronomic brunch, I would definitely recommend this place to all Oriental food lovers especially on a wet, rainy Sunday with a whole afternoon to devote to an eat all you can meal.

Our lazy Sunday start was hastened up by the restaurant calling us half an hour before our booking to check whether we were really going to show up or not.

At the dot of one, we pushed open this huge gigantic door at Shiro and entered a dark room. The hostess ushering us asked us to mind our step which was just as well because I was staring ahead at the enormous statue standing serenely ahead of me. Getting used to the soft lighting, I realised that there was a lily pond in the centre of the restaurant which had a stone statue staring out in each direction. I can't quite remember whether the statue was of the Buddha or of some goddess, but I remember feeling a sense of awe, much like I do in a temple.

We were led to a quiet secluded spot with really low chairs and a sofa, more suited to a lounge rather than a serious eating place. I was a bit miffed but ultimately, I realised that this was the best because we couldn't tell that there were 60 other tables which were filled up! So also, the chairs came in handy when after 4 cocktails and the starters, we could sit back and relax before we attacked the main course.

After checking out the buffet counter, we gave our oder for the sushi rolls ( crab and chicken and veg asparagus maki) and the prawn and chicken dimsum which we had with our first cocktail - a sweet ciroc concoction.

Husband loved the Mezzo soup which the rest of us gave a miss only to keep place for the gargantuan meal to follow but couldn't resist the salads . While hubby dear loaded up on the veg California salad, the rest of us had the Teriyake Chicken salad and the Red Snapper Salad which was particularly unique : the nutty taste of arugula doused with a honey mustard dressing that provided the perfect foil to the fish.

Between us we gorged on the Veg thai curry, tofu in hot bean sauce, mixed vegetable in black bean sauce , sichuan style green beans ( amazing !!!) stir fried vegetables, Prawn Thai curry, fish in coconut and basil, chicken spicy laksa, chicken Thai curry, beef in coconut and fried beef in a basket all accompanied with yaki udan noodles and hibachi rice.

So, though this place is definitely expensive ( Rs. 1800 per head with tax), I would do this at least once in a lifetime if not once a year : Shiro's waiters are attentive without being obtrusive or rude and they are knowledgeable about what they serve. Also once you get used to the Zen-like atmosphere with trance music playing in the back ground, you begin to appreciate the high bamboo lined ceilings, the stone clad walls with carved panels, the subtle lighting, and the comfortable cozy seating arrangements, ( of course the generously flowing cocktails and wine do help! )


p.s. the only other reason I would not do this more often is because I really can't eat that much

Share:

Awful!Awful!Awful

i take exception to restaurants who refuse to server indian beers. Shiro's goes a step further by mentioning Kingfisher in their menu but proudly informing you that they server only "imported' beer.
Not only will i never visit Siro's again but i will make sure that i prevail on anyone who wants to visit Shiros to go elsewhere

Share:

4.0

Go only to hang out with friends

Don't go here expecting great food. Just don't. Order anything, it tastes the same. Take some soya sauce, combine with muscovado sugar. Cube, cut anything, just anything. Fry it vigorously on high heat. Combine with the sauce. Now you will know what anything you order is going to taste like.

I like the atmosphere here though. Go early, get a booth at the far end and hang out with friends, bashing bosses and old schoolmates alike.

With the onset of global recession, we have had to move our hangout venue to cheaper places, tho'. Shiro's only for deep pockets.

Share:

sydchick - Burrp User

sydchick

6 Reviews

August 26,2008

1.0

Dinner with the rats

The first time I dined at Shiro's the food was great but one of my colleague's told us he saw a rat on the stairs halfway through our meal. We chose to believe he was joking.

Tonight we went back with another colleague who hadn't been there before. The food was very ordinary and this time all of us saw a huge rat run across the floor. When we told the staff they didn't seem at all surprised. We then asked for the bill straight away - they seemed surprised by this but had no problem adding 15% service charge. For the prices this place charges I don't expect to have to share the restaurant with rats.

Share:

3.0

Left much to be desired

Had heard a lot about this place from my friends in Bombay so visited it last December (2007). The music played was extremely retro (billy joel, abba, madonna, very polyesthers-like) while the ambience of the place itself was begging for some lounge/house beats to be played! the decor was above average, with the buddah statues et al.

the drinks were ok, no complaints there. the place though was packed to the core with people elbowing u around everytime you wanted to move around to get drinks/visit the restrooms etc. the average time to get drinks was quite long too.

i failed to see the fascination for this place, strictly average place, nothing here really WOW-ed me. i would give it a 2.5 on 5 if this site would let me....


Pros: decor, drinks, parking
Cons: music, too crowded

Share:

NA

Share:

booring

Ended up at Shiro as the wait at Hard Rock was over an hour. So we ended up using Shiro as our waiting room. As much as i like the whole Zen/Japanese/Thai thing the space could have been way better designed.

The people were mostly over 40, garishly dressed and balding (not that there is anything wrong with it) we ended up spending an hour and then moved on.

The service was quick, the space interesting but the crowd and music was fairly lame.

Damage for 8 drinks and 2 starters was 4000

Share:

5.0

seems like heaven.....on earth

Shiros.....what can i say about this place that hasn't been said or written before!! A place that lived up to its hype & how!
awesome oriental ambience, relaxing "our generation" music, interesting cocktails & innovative presentation of food.......altogether a different yet relaxing night out.........my fav place to be in.

Share:

Cool Scene & Awesome Pan Asian Food

I love Shiro and have been back more times than I can remember ;-)

Its a very different scene on different nights: usually quiet on weekdays and heaving on the weekends. What is particularly impressive is the food - almost every dish I have tried has been good or superb, something I didn't expect to find in a lounge/bar type venue. All credit to S&J, the duo behind Shiro and HRC next door.

Share:

3.0

average nightlife experience

The one thing you have to hand Shiro is full marks for their decor. Massive standing buddha-like statues greet you on your way in and surround this sushi joint-cum-lounge at night. The lighting above the bar, appearing as if there were a thousand floating candles, is impressive. Beyond that, the vibe here was just missing. It didn't appear as if people were having fun - rather, it appeared as if people were there because they had to be seen at Shiro, at least once! The techno/house beats were soulful, but people didn't really know how to appreciate it. Crowd was a bit pretentious, and most people wanted to show off their goods, whether they had them or not. It's hard to knock a place for the vibes and the crowd's intentions, but I just can't find anyone else to blame. Some ways to improve Shiro might be to give it a dedicated dance floor; teach the service staff to smile; have the DJ speak to the audience a little more.

If you need to pretend to be someone else for one night, this is your place. Otherwise, for more real, energetic, and good 'ole fashioned fun, head to Hard Rock just down around the corner.

Share:

Absolutely Fabulous, Darling

You walk into Shiro through a 15 foot high door (no exageration) and into what looks like a oriental meditation garden. The walls are stone, the high ceiling bamboo and the central area is dominated by a huge statue of a Japenese Princess whose vase trickles water into a pond full of lillies below. It certainly had that immediate wow factor.
We were shown quickly to our table and provided with menus, well two menus for a table of six. Anyway we ordered drinks and starters and whilst the drinks were rather slow coming (considering there are at least three bars) they were good when they arrived (cosmopolitans, bloody mary) and the starters where not far behind.
We shared prawn tempura served with a hot and sweet broth, chicken manchurian, chilli potatoes and tofo and shitake tempura in a creamy spicy sauce. All were very good, of more than adequate size and served in very pretty dishes. Chilli was a main ingredient of each ( but it always is in Indian/Oriental food) but they each managed to maintain their individual flavours. Only complaint was that we had to ask for our portion of prawn tempura three times and then the waiter blamed us for the mix up!
Main courses were prawns in hot bean, a lovely dry, sauce free dish that left the prawns crisp and tasty; prawn red thai curry which was gorgeous, packed with fresh lime leaves and just the right amount of spice; chicken with mushrooms which was a rich and succulent dish; tofu caserole which I was assured was very good and glass noodle salad which was the only dissapointment - too much vinegar.
Too full for dessert we took our drinks and stood by the large bar area, checking out the "beautiful people" who had by this time filled the place to capacity.
While perhaps expensive by Mumbai standards (5 people for food and alcohol was 8000) certainly the atmosphere and food was well worth it, and certainly much less than you would pay in somewhere like the Taj or Henry Jones. The attention to asthetic detail was good, the glasses gorgeous and the vegetable flowers on each dish very pretty.
Sharpen up a somewhat niave service strategy and this place would have got 5/5. We will be back.

Share:

Shakeel  - Burrp User

Shakeel

16 Reviews

February 28,2007

2.0

Big Fart No Shit!

Went to this place for the first time a few months ago and was pretty much blown away by the ambience. Walking in and seeing the space and decor you'd think you had walked into some swanky joint in NYC's Warehouse District.

Have been back a few times since that 1st experience and have been dissapointed to say the least.

The place is super expensive (think 3 drinks for more than 2,000) and the food is just adequate. For the amount you are paying you'd expect it to be MUCH better.

Also the service is shoddy. We were asked to move tables 2-3 times one night because we had inadvertently sat down in a section for "guests" - I'm not exactly sure what we qualified as.

Definitely would not be on the top of my list of places to visit in town.

Share: